We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Staff and the hotel!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved the Staff and the hotel!!!”
Reviewed 12 May 2008

Well I booked the Shamrock Lodge Hotel because every other Hotel in Athlone was booked out, It was my sisters Hen Party and there were 30 of us booked into the Shamrock Lodge, All i can say is the Hotel is brilliant, the Staff amazing, we had the best night ever here we went into town for a meal and drinks and when we arrived back at 3 in the morning we all headed for the residents bar were we stayed till the very early hours of the morning, the bedrooms were spotless and Comfortable and we didnt have one problem, the breakfast was included in the price and it was gorgeous great for my hangover!!! All in All this hotel May not be a amazingly Beautifull , But we all loved it the Staff were Brilliant and we had so much fun if im ever in Athlone again there is only one hotel i will be staying in and if you havent Guessed it Its the Shamrock Lodge.

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Disliked — Not a Thing
  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Galway_Eyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    144
    63
    24
    29
See reviews for
127
176
6
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Calder, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2007

Even although this hotel took a deposit from us, they overbooked our room. They telephone around the town for another hotel, and put us in a B&B, who told us that this happens regularly from this hotel. During the 20 minutes it took this hotel to find us another hotel, another two guests arrived to check-in to find out that their rooms has also been overbooked.

Although this hotel looks nice from the outside, I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShamrockLodge, Marketing at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review, 17 November 2009
D Fitzc5848:
We now have a booking agent along with our reservations here at the hotel, so this is no longer a problem

We hope to see you at the Shamrock Lodge Hotel again soon

Deirdre Keegan
Shamrock Lodge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballinasloe, Ireland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2007

The lodge is now basically two hotels in one. There is a very inexpesnive but very rundown section which is where you get the bad reviews and a modern, just recently built section thats as expensive as the other new hotels in town. For the money the new side of the hotel is just alright, although it is new and nice. Just stayed there
a few weeks ago and its nice enough. The pub downstairs is a wonderful place to sit back and absorb the locals chatting away in the corners. As for the old rooms, well the are old and cheap. Not much more to say there. Avoid the food if you can help it as its all made by untrained eastern Europeans and isn't very good as a result.
I would also suggest no matter what room you get in this establishment that you avoid the king sized beds. They are really just two standard beds pushed together and you will roll right into the seam and be uncomfortable. If your gonna spend the money for the king sized room I would be more inclined ot suggest the Raddison downtown.

  • Liked — The pub downstais
  • Disliked — The king size beds made out of two singles pushed together.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Ballinasloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louth
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2007

The has to be the worst hotel in the country. The food was terrible and the rooms dirty. The water was not warm and the service reminded us all of Fawlty Towers. I couldn't recommend this hotel to anybody

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank PBMLouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2007

Having previously posted an excellent review for this hotel, I am now in the unfortunate position of having to contradict myself.

During a recent visit to my hometown I thought - where better to stay with my SO than the Lodge?? Being a bank holiday weekend we had to pay well over the odds, but again, due to past experiences I had no problem with this.

I do have a problem with the fact that there was no hot water available in our apartment, and I do have a problem with the fact that after I notified reception of this problem is was NOT corrected, and I do have a problem with the fact that when I complained at check-out the Manager said "Oh, I didn't know..." and I left without any sort of apology or even being offered a discount against my next stay.

So the next stay will be in another hotel. I firmly believe that true quality is what happens when things go wrong.

  • Liked — Location, previous experience
  • Disliked — no running hot water
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sean.casaidhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2007

I'd recommend this hotel to anyone going to Athlone. Excellent staff always willing to help. The rooms are decorated very modern and stylish. The beds are so comfy its a challenge to get out! Its only about a 10 minute walk from the centre of town, so you're never far from the pubs! And the food is great. The bar meals are great value and the breakfast is very well done.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Bose82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2007

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights recently, while in Athlone on business. To say I was unimpressed is putting it very politely. The bedroom was lovely but everything else was incredibly inefficient and the food left a lot to be desired. If I were to describe everything that was wrong I'd be writing an essay.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
Thank Clare41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShamrockLodge, Marketing at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review, 17 November 2009
Clare 41:
Thank you for your review .
Your comments will be passed on to the management. I'm sorry that you feel there was a problem with your stay at the Shamrock Lodge Hotel.
We take all of our complaints seriously and deal with each one directly and individually.

Since your stay we have replaced our che f and the standard of food is upgraded, much to our satisfaction.

Deirdre Keegan
Shamrock Lodge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,848 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
0.5 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
904 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,017 reviews
2.4 mi away
Creggan Court
Creggan Court
#8 of 9 in Athlone
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone

Property: Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Address: Clonown Road, Athlone 0000, Ireland (Formerly Shamrock Lodge Country House Hotel & Conference Centre)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Ireland in the historic town of Athlone Co Westmeath. Set on its own private grounds and gardens with ample FREE car parking. 5 minute walk from the town centre.75 minutes from Dublin.40 Bedrooms and 12 Two Bedroom Suites/Apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shamrock Hotel Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing