We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

I recently attended a wedding in this hotel and one word to describe my experience was amazing. From the decor of the hotel, rooms, food and most importantly the staff. I have never experienced the service and genuine politeness of staff in any other hotel. I will most definitely go to this hotel again and would highly recommend. Can't wait for my next trip!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeeFDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (535)
There are newer reviews for Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

356 - 362 of 535 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

I won this break on on my local radio station, south east radio, it was for 2adults for 2 nights b&b and evening meals on both evenings. This is a beautiful hotel, which I couldn't fault anything. The staff were by far the friendliest I have ever come across. And were so helpful. One chap in particular helped me search for my phone, when I mislaid it. The bedroom was beautiful, and the food was second to none. Even the manager sitting in the bar looking at the tv, was all smiles. And it makes such a difference. A smile costs nothing, but brightness up everyone's day. Lookin forward to returning with my mother, and this time four friends in November. Hats off to the shamrock lodge hotel. 11 out of 10:-)
'

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pauline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Superb hotel from second we arrived to second we left... absolutely beautiful room lookin out onto the beautiful gardens that surround the hotel.. ideal location 5 mins walk to athlone castle shoppin centre main town.. lady on reception desk was so so nice perfect example of top class staff... only negative wud b d main bar cud do wit a more modern approach but this doesn't affect my overall impression of the hotel.. we'll defo return in the near future thanks to all :-)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ciarac24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

We stay here for the weekend just gone , hotel looks ok at check in but heads downhill from there. The room was ok but we had been given a smoking room with a smell of stale smoke throughout, the bed was so small, poor quality bedding & very uncomfortable. Shower was dirty, rusty shower rail, lime built up on shower head & the kind of shower you would feel dirtier leaving than entering. The toilet has a loose toilet seat, the toilet paper was not nice to use, the shower gel is screwed to the wall, the windows didn't open right, only half the lights worked in the room. Then breakfast was very poor, carvey style where you hand in your breakfast card, would not recommend bothering with the breakfast, it really is one of the poorest I have had for some time.
If back in Arhlone I will try another hotel as this really isn't good enough & the staff didn't care that I found the shower dirty or the breakfast in edible .

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClareWithTheHairCom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

I had to attend a meeting in Athlone late one evening and instead of travelling further I chose to stay in Athlone. I did a hotel search and this hotel attracted my attention due to the price quoted. The hotel itself is not the easiest to find only but the grounds and car parking are well maintained, The receptionist was superb, friendly, helpful and attentive. The room was comfortable and clean, as I arrived late the lady at reception organised a sandwich for me and this is the point where the hotel becomes average,
The sandwich was adequate but the receptionist was limited by what she could offer as the kitchen didn't operate past 9pm and yet it was only 8.50pm when I asked for the sandwich. The bar was not clean even though the reception and foyer were spotless, the chairs were dirty, the tables were a stranger to a cleaning cloth and floor was sticky.
Security in the rooms is an issue, the windows have broken locks and the fire escapes were always open as was the rear delivery gate thereby giving easy access to nefarious people.
This hotel is one management step away from being a good hotel and a simple attention to detail by the management would bring rewards. I would describe it overall as a good effort but the lack of attention to security in the rooms and grime in the bar reduced it to average.

Room Tip: Go for a room on an upper floor purely for security reasons.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Hi, we were due to stay in this hotel early July , when we were outside the hotel getting our bags to check in they rang us to tell us the room was damaged & they had no more rooms available, they had already arranged for us to stay in a hotel in the centre of the town instead....this hotel is very central in the town but due to its location also very noisy as it has a late license and a very late finishing time. My husband who was down competing in Athlone for the weekend obviously was very tired after the race & we were hoping to get an early and peaceful sleep. This was not the case as we were put in a room beside a Hen party and had a very bad sleep. I completely understand this is not the hotels fault as we were lucky to get a room but we specifically choose the Shamrock lodge as it is in a quiet location. When we got back home the day after the hotel emailed us asking how was our stay ! We replied saying the same as above and we have had no reply which I think is bad manners.....I personally think the hotel over booked this weekend as its one of the biggest weekends in Athlone , I am more annoyed now at this stage that they couldn't acknowledge our reply!! I couldn't possibly comment on the hotel as we didn't get through the doors!!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SaGaDonegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Hello SaGa
Fristly i would like to apoligise for the lack of correspondace from us.
We are extremly sorry that we had problems with the room you had booked and we had to book you in elsewhere. I can assure you that this was a genuine situation that we had with our room and booking you out was unavoidable.
We would really like if you would return to stay with us so that we can make amends for the situation you encountered.
If you decide too , you can contact me directly at the Hotel.
looking forward to hearing from you
Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I stayed here with Four others Saturday night in one of the hotel apartments. Very clean and comfortable. Bar food was great too.Even though there was a wedding on and very busy we did not have to wait for anything. Nice breakfast in the morning. Would stay again

Room Tip: Apartments are great
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rainydaysinireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Hi Rainydaysinireland
Thank you very much for your lovely review.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,940 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
0.5 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
941 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,134 reviews
2.5 mi away
Creggan Court
Creggan Court
#8 of 9 in Athlone
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone

Address: Clonown Road, Athlone 0000, Ireland (Formerly Shamrock Lodge Country House Hotel & Conference Centre)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Athlone
Price Range: £42 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Ireland in the historic town of Athlone Co Westmeath. Set on its own private grounds and gardens with ample FREE car parking. 5 minute walk from the town centre.75 minutes from Dublin.40 Bedrooms and 12 Two Bedroom Suites/Apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shamrock Hotel Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing