We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not too bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Ballina, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“not too bad”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Just back from a lovely two night break with my husband and two children. We were given a suite when we arrived which was more like an apartement but honestly it suited us just fine we had two bedrooms and a spacious living area loads of room for a family. The only issue I had with the room was the carpets could do with a clean or freshen up and maybe a paint in the room. Breakfast was nice and the set menu was ok we got plently with the meal. Staff were very helpful. Would stay here again,.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    142
    61
    24
    29
See reviews for
123
174
6
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kiwis on the Roadtrip
Level Contributor
104 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We had a great stay in this well presented hotel.Athlone is well located in the middle of the country on the main road west from Dublin.
The room was spacious and clean.The bed was very comfortable.Very good toilet/shower facilities with plenty of hot water.
The bar was open for a drink and we enjoyed a counter meal as the restaurant did not open on the night of the week we stayed.
The hotel is well located just on the edge of the town with a large parking area.
We were made to feel very welcome by the reception staff making it all in all a memorable if a short stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whiskers007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

I live locally in athlone and decided to try the carvery as i had heard good reviews...we were greeted at the carvery by revi..i hope i got his name right..he was such a good personality and so friendly and its great to see someone so happy in their job..food was lovely and will be here again..

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 28happycamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Was looking forward to getting away for a few nights for a friends wedding. Although we had a lovely day at the wedding, food was ok and nice hotel we we're let down by the room...
It was very dusty, even the side tables had so much dust on them it was a rushed cleaning job IMO.
No valence on the base, that had blood stains ( I think??) on it.... Few scuffs on the paintwork but I'd overlook that but with the rotten base, dust and scuffed walls it was not nice.

Worst breakfast I've ever had. We were one of the first for breakfast ...around8-9.... So why our Bacon was concrete hard beggars belief... Was like something tvT was cooked the day before.. Cheap cheap sausages and We ended up just leaving it all on the plate and leaving. Had to go get breakfast elsewhere.

For €90 a night it was disgraceful. We didn't bother even going down for breakfast the following morning.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Redrabbit3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlow, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I had the pleasure of staying recently in the Shamrock Lodge Hotel in Athlone. The hotel has guests' comfort and enjoyment of their stay, at heart. For a swimmer who likes a pool on site these premises situated in their own gardens were a very refreshing change. The Staff were friendly and helpful especially when I mentioned using the regional pool/gym. The place felt like a cocoon and I did not stir, only once to the aforementioned pool. I felt so at home in the hotel and my room, that I rested, reading and .....enjoying the lovely food whether at breakfast time or in the evening. Many of the public rooms have character especially the breakfast room with its stained-glass windows. Hopefully many more guests will come to this gem of a place and its great rates for the golden years breaks. MERCI BEAUCOUP

Room Tip: My room overlooked the back of the premises but I did not mind as you can go out the front and enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pascale g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Hello Pascale g
Thank you very much for your Kind Comments on our Hotel.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again in the Future.
Kind Regards,
Alan McCaul,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

From check in to check out there were no problems. Very pleasant and helpful staff. We were a small group and decided upon bar food that evening for dinner which staff facilitated in the restaurant as the bar was very busy with a crowd gathering for another function.

The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Bathroom spotless too.

Only approx 10 minutes walk to the centre of Athlone.

Breakfast the next morning was very good.

Would stay again if in athlone.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank firewaterkildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

stayed there recently for a wedding. paid 129 euro for two people bed and breakfast... booked directly with the hotel... other guests paid 80 euro for two people bed and breakfast.... when i brought this to the attention of reception upon arrival, I was basically told tough luck... 49 euro ripped off

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank likesanicespot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Hi Likeanicespot.
I am sorry that you feel disappointed at the rate your were charged.I would like to discuss this in person with you. You can contact me at the Hotel on 09064-92601.
Kind Regards
Alan McCaul
General Manager
Shamrock Lodge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,822 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
0.5 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,986 reviews
2.4 mi away
Creggan Court
Creggan Court
#8 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone

Property: Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Address: Clonown Road, Athlone 0000, Ireland (Formerly Shamrock Lodge Country House Hotel & Conference Centre)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Ireland in the historic town of Athlone Co Westmeath. Set on its own private grounds and gardens with ample FREE car parking. 5 minute walk from the town centre.75 minutes from Dublin.40 Bedrooms and 12 Two Bedroom Suites/Apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shamrock Hotel Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing