We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“avoid with young children”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Westport, Mayo, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“avoid with young children”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Booked a 2 bed suite for 2 nights 5th and 6th Aug, we booked with a 2 year old and 4 year old , first problem was we were given an upstairs apt , asked for a ground floor one but none available. E doors wee extremely heavy so we had to wedge them open to avoid trapped little fingers. The room was not cleaned properly, cigarette butts and dirty towels in a drawer, we complained twice before someone removed them.
We ate once in the bar , we waited 45 mins for sausages and chips, the portions were ridiculous , what 2 year old can eat 3 jumbo sausages and chips. Cost €6.95 each , why not redue the cost and portion size? The barman should have advises us just to order one portion in my opinon.
We did receive a reduction on our bill but wukd not stay there again with small kids.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Hello Louisek
Thank you for your review. It's important to us to hear important feedback on customers stay with us.
I have taken your comments on board and have discussed with the relevant departments.
We hope you will stay with us in the future.
Kind Regards
Alan McCaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    155
    67
    24
    30
See reviews for
137
186
6
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballinrobe, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Our debs was held at The Shamrock Lodge Hotel, we were well looked after the staff were very welcoming and friendly. I would recommend the hotel for any occasion as it is an excellent venue with great rooms.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niamh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Hi Niamh F
Thanks very much for the nice comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your Grad with us.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Thanks
Alan McCaul
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Just back from a 3 night stay at the Shamrock Lodge. The hotel is in a good location and is terrific value for money. We stayed in a family room which was very spacious. We stayed with friends who also had a family room and they were equally impressed. The hotel itself is very clean and staff are very friendly. Food on site is delicious and very reasonably priced.
The only downside to the hotel is the location of the family rooms. They were directly above the function room and there was a wedding and a birthday on the Saturday night. Music went on until 2 am which made it hard to sleep.
WiFi is non existent in the bedrooms but on speaking to the owner over the course of our stay this is being rectified.
All in all its a nice hotel in walking distance from Athlone Town and I'd definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the function rooms on the weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ponner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roscommon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely meal for 26 people to celebrate our father in law's 80th birthday. Then had a party in the hotel with a beautiful buffet. Helped set up for a slide show and could not do enough to make sure our night went well even though they had a large wedding on the same night all staff made sure we had everything we needed. Food was lovely. As usual exceptional attention to everything. And managers called in through out the evening to see if we had everything we needed. Couldn't ask for more. 10 out of 10 for The Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Hello Patricia H
Thank you very much for your lovely comments. We are delighted you enjoyed the evening and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Thanks again
Alan McCaul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We had booked a room for the family for 2 nights. We were to check in at 3pm on the day but arrived early so we said we will get food in the restaurant in the meantime.It took a while to get served, when we did our tables were still dirty and i had to ask the waitress to clean it as she was going to serve our food without doing so. The food was great on the plus side. Nobody came to check how we were doing since served, I had to go to the bar myself to get drinks. When finished our meal I even had to ask twice to pay because nobody had come to us since our food was served. I then spoke to the manager to explain what had happened - his answer 'don't tell me how to run my hotel, we are very busy that's why the service may not have been up to standard'. I was shocked at this and cancelled my room. His attitude was appalling. Never again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Hello Peter G,
Thank you for your Feedback.Its very important for us to hear both positive or negative feedback .I have done an internal review here In relation to your experience here.There are items that I would like to talk to you about and I will contact you directly. As you can see your review is totally out of sync with other peoples experience of our Hotel so i look forward to speaking with you.
Kind Regards
Alan McCaul
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

I tried this hotel Last week and first of all I took us around an hour to find it..its alll the way deep inside a housing estate..The car park looks like a drive nothing special about it..but in all fairness the hotel it's self was quite nice with fondly staff at the counter but the food in the morning needs to improve..It a nice place but not fully recommend.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank aishlingded456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Hello Aishlingded456,
Thank you very much for your review and I have passed your comments on to my Kitchen department. We look forward to welcoming you again in the Future.
Kind Regards
Alan McCaul
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mocksville, North Carolina, United States
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed there for the price and the hotel was really good. We were there for a Christian Motorcyclist Association Rally and the rooms were good, clean, and up to date. The down side and this true for a lot of hotels in Europe, no wash cloths.

Room Tip: If you like a wash cloth, you'll need to bring your own.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveB59_53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,918 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
0.5 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
932 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,099 reviews
2.4 mi away
Creggan Court
Creggan Court
#8 of 9 in Athlone
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone

Property: Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Address: Clonown Road, Athlone 0000, Ireland (Formerly Shamrock Lodge Country House Hotel & Conference Centre)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Ireland in the historic town of Athlone Co Westmeath. Set on its own private grounds and gardens with ample FREE car parking. 5 minute walk from the town centre.75 minutes from Dublin.40 Bedrooms and 12 Two Bedroom Suites/Apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shamrock Hotel Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing