We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sensational”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
194 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Sensational”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

This would have to be one of the best value for money hotels in Ireland. The room was great, wonderful mattress, quality linen and a large room. The bar meals were varied and a reasonable price.
I would highly recomend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: 101 was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JustTravelAnywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review, 29 October 2014
Hello JustTravelAnywhwere,
Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed our Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the Future.
Kind Regards
Alan McCaul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    141
    61
    24
    28
See reviews for
121
169
5
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tralee, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed in one of the apartments recently and we were very happy with the standard and cleanliness of the accommodation. It was spacious and the bathrooms were of a good size. The only negative comment was that the apartment had a fridge and kettle, but there were no plates or cutlery to give the option of making a snack or sandwich or bringing in a take-away.
The staff were great and the meal we had in the hotel bar was brilliant. There was a good range on the menu at reasonable prices, and the portions were huge !
Athlone can be a bit tricky to drive around but the hotel is well known if you need to ask directions.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kab56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Hello Kab56
Thank you for your nice comments about our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you in the Future.
Kind Regards
Alan McCaul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skerries, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Stayed at the Shamrock Lodge Hotel for two nights midweek with a group. The rooms were of a high standard while the food was really delicious. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. This hotel is in a good location in Athlone and is great value for money

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kieran444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Hello Kieran444,
Thank you for your nice comments about our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you in the future.We appericate you taking the time to post a review.
Kind Regards
Alan McCaul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow, Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Worst experience in last 10 years, actually upset and could not wait to leave. I have written a full and fair breakdown to the General Manager. Very surprised , my expectations were not high, expected ok as go to weddings, charity events and meetings there for years and yearsDo not go if you have any disability ... Staff do not want to know . There was no water in the gents toilets so a Members of a French tour group came into use the ladies! No member of staff available, disgusting experience from first to last moment

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 56RubyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Hello RubyD,
I am the General Manager of the Shamrock Lodge Hotel and this is the first correspondence I have received from you. As the issues that you have outlined in your review are very serious i would like to speak with you directly. The experiences that you have spoken about do not mirror our Hotel and the way we treat our customers.I look forward to discussing this further with you.
Kind Regards
Alan McCaul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed here for a 2 night midweek break and I have to say it was great value for money. The hotel is conveniently located with a 5 minute walk into town, but this is a walk I personally wouldn't do at night.
Food in the hotel was simply fantastic.
I only had two complaints, One was some of the areas needed a lick of paint and the other was of no fault of the hotel. Some practical joker thought it would be funny to set off the fire alarm twice. The response of the hotel staff highlighted their fantastic customer service. They called to the room to reassure our daughter that everything was OK, followed by complementary hot chocolate. I would have no problem recommending this hotel.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Clintonx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Hello Cintonx4
Thank you very much for your review.
We are delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to seeing you again in the Future.
Kind Regards
Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
137 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Difficult to find however the people of Athlone were very helpful with their directions.
The Hotel appears to be split into two sections new and old, the grounds and entrance are lovely. I only visited for lunch which was good, the staff were very friendly, nice hotel just on the outskirts of Athlone

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TMPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Hello TMPB
Thank you for your nice comments about our staff.
We will display tour comments in our staff area.
Many thanks
Alan McCaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Well we just got married and used the shamrock lodge for our reception and it was simply amazing! The hotel is family run and it shows, nothing was any trouble and anything we asked for was already done! The hotel is modern the food was fantastic and the value was second to none! We couldn't have asked for any more! Thanks Alan and all at the hotel and don't overlook this lovely hotel for your special day

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cadete981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan M, General Manager at Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Hello Cadete981
Thank you very much for your review. It was our pleasure to host your wedding.We were delighted with how the day went and we look forward to seeing you both soon.
Kind Regards
Alan McCaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,787 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
0.5 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,956 reviews
2.4 mi away
Creggan Court
Creggan Court
#8 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone

Property: Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Address: Clonown Road, Athlone 0000, Ireland (Formerly Shamrock Lodge Country House Hotel & Conference Centre)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Ireland in the historic town of Athlone Co Westmeath. Set on its own private grounds and gardens with ample FREE car parking. 5 minute walk from the town centre.75 minutes from Dublin.40 Bedrooms and 12 Two Bedroom Suites/Apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shamrock Hotel Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing