We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Perfect.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arch House B&B & Apartments
Ranked #2 of 20 Athlone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Perfect.”
Reviewed 9 October 2012

13 people staying on a Saturday night for a football tournament on Sunday. 9 lads stayed in 2 apartments. They were not far off being brand new. Plenty of living space and big kitchen. The bedrooms were good size and clean bathrooms. Even though they were in the center of town it was very quiet. The lady I booked with was very helpful and phoned a few times to make sure all our party were accommodated and when 4 more people decided to come she fitted them into the b and b part without a hassle. We were late arriving sat night but the guy that greeted us was very nice and was really helpful. Over all even though we were only there for a short time it was a very comfortable stay and would certainly like to go back for a longer stay. Thanks to Arch House to everyone from Aghinagh Macra na Feirme.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    63
    33
    9
    8
See reviews for
39
57
21
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Armagh
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2012

I stayed in the Arch house apartments on Saturday night past for a family get together. We had 4 apartments altogether and I could not ask for better!! We arrived slightly earlier than expected and we were told all the apartments were ready to check in which was great. Every apartment was spotless with several ensuite bathrooms available, spacious living area, and comfortable bedrooms. Chris was very helpful on check in and was able to give directions of where to go that evening for our meal which was booked nearby.

All the apartments are close to each other which was great as everyone was beside each other and the location is ideal as it is in the centre of town and right beside some lovely restaurants and pubs.

I have never been to Athlone before but as people were travelling from all over the country it was a central location for everyone and could not find fault with a thing!!

Breakfast was delivered on time to our apartments and we all got a lovely cooked breakfast roll which went down a treat.

Maureen was so pleasant and helpful from the initial booking right through, so well done to her and the team. Would definately recommend!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orla2683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Mayo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

A lovely comfortable, clean, B&B in a central location in Athlone. Maureen and Chris were so pleasant and provided us with lots of information. There are lovely restaurants, great shopping and pleasant walks nearby. We were served a delicious freshly prepared breakfast from a varied menu. The menu is provided in several languages which must be convenient for foreign tourists. Car parking on site. Just what you want in a B&B! Great service, value for money and Irish hospitality.
Thank you!
Máire and Declan

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westwoodhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
archhousebnb, Owner at Arch House B&B & Apartments, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Dear Westwoodhouse,
Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Arch House B&B and to Athlone. We are lucky to have such a great choice of excellent award winning restaurants, and our two shopping centres and many boutiques are a great bonus. I have passed on your kind compliments to our staff, who appreciate it very much. Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I hope we will have the plesure of your company again in the not too distant future.

Kindest Regards,
Maureen Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We travelled all round Ireland and stayed in several hotels and B&B’s that were great. I had read the reviews and description of Arch House and therefore expected it to be ok for one night.
We booked B&B and were offered an apartment, it had been recently decorated and was clean, but not in a nice area. Very very noisey until the early hours, the cheap mattress was the worst I’ve ever slept on (or didn’t - sleep that is!) No coffee or tea supplied which one expects in a B&B, no hair dryer.
We could hear some ‘thing’ above in the loft during the night. The breakfast was good. It cost nearly as much to stay here, as we’d paid at the Holiday Inn a couple of nights before!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 180mgk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
archhousebnb, Owner at Arch House B&B & Apartments, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Dear 180Mgk,
Thank you for your review. I am disappointed to learn that you did not enjoy your stay with us. My Manager was not made aware of this during his routine visit to your apartment and again on departure. As a result I was unable to address your issues. So I will endeavour to do so now.
As stated in our website we are a town centre location. However to enhance our guests comfort we have recently installed secondary glazing to all front facing apartments and I am delighted that this has reduced the noise level dramatically.
Hairdryer is available on request, had we known you needed to use it we would have been delighted to deliver it to your apartment immediately. At Arch House B&B we supply tea & coffee making facilities in our rooms, as our Apartments are designed for self-catering we felt there was no need, however guests may request this also.
As regards your comment about Holiday Inns, this is a particularly unfair comparison. Our Apartments are spacious (65 - 80 Sq metres) and you occupied one of the largest. They offer two bedrooms, two bathrooms, sitting room, dining area and kitchen and complimentary wi-fi. Many of our reviews on Tripadvisor and other online booking engines compliment us very highly on the value for money our apartments offer.
Kindest Regards,
Maureen Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Booked a Family Apartment for the Community Games and was delighted on arrival to find a lovely bright spacious apartment with two bathrooms,exactly what was offered on the website.The kids were competing on the saturday morning so we had an early night on the friday night but on the saturday night we joined other families in 'Richard Grace's' close to the apartments where they did a Family Special and free dessert for the kids.Great food and great value!!
Did our shopping in the local supermarket and used the kitchen/dining facilitesfor our breakfast.The bed linen and towels were in plentiful supply.First time to stop over in Atlone and overall a perfect weekend or short break destination lots to see and do for a family break.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frecckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
archhousebnb, Owner at Arch House B&B & Apartments, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Dear Frecckles,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I have passed your comments on to our staff, they are very appreciate. We have played host to many families each year for the Community Games, it's always delightful to see the enthusiam of the young people. Hopefully you will qualify and we will see you again next year.
Kindest Regards,
Maureen Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Having stayed with Arch house before I had no hesitation in rebooking again.All too often we hear about over priced accommodation in ireland,well here I can assure you of an irish welcome,guaranteed value for money in clean,comfortable accommodation offering great facilities in a central location.

Room Tip: Speak direct to the manager/owner and they will look after al your requirements
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nothguan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
archhousebnb, Owner at Arch House B&B & Apartments, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Dear Nothguan,
Thank you for your review. I am delighted to read that you enjoy your visits to Arch House B&B and Apartments, we certainly enjoy seeing our guests coming back to us. I have passed on your kind comments to our staff. It's rewarding to see their hard work appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kindest Regards,

Maureen Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,849 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
0.7 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
1.9 mi away
Creggan Court
Creggan Court
#8 of 9 in Athlone
249 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arch House B&B & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arch House B&B & Apartments

Property: Arch House B&B & Apartments
Address: Sean Costello St | Athlone Town centre, Athlone, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Arch House B&B & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arch House B&B and Apartments have an exceptional location in Athlone Town Centre, half way between Dublin and Galway and just off the M6/N6. We offer our guests a warm friendly welcome and ensure a pleasant and memorable stay. Arch House B&B offers 10 en-suite Rooms, Tea & Coffee facilities, Multi-Channel TV, Hairdryer, free Wi-fi, Laundry facilities, private car parking and Home Cooked Breakfast. Arch House Apartments are designed for nightly and weekly holiday lettings and offer all the comforts of modern life. All 8 Apartments offer two bedrooms, two bathrooms, studio sitting room and fully equipped modern kitchen. Apartments vary in size and can sleep 4-7 guests per Apartment.For added comfort we have added Secondary Window Glazing to our front facing windows. We are an ideal base for the business traveler, tourist, wedding guest, angler, golfer, families and groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Arch House B&B & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arch Hotel Athlone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing