We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Coosan Cottage Eco Guesthouse
Ranked #9 of 20 Athlone B&B and Inns
Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

I visited again recently but in the past have stayed there over a period of 18months during a construction contract in the town. It was home from Home.

Room Tip: They are all good but if you want a sleep in choose a basement room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    14
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
17
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I stayed at Coosan Eco guesthouse last week attending a course in athlone and from the moment I arrived I felt welcome and at home! Nothing was too much trouble for Tom and the room was immaculate and comfortable.i won't be looking for any other accommodation in athlone in the future, what's the point?when you've found the best, why try the rest? Thanks Tom and the gang! :-)

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marypsych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Stayed for one night at Coosan Cottage Eco Guesthouse recently while in Athlone on business. Absolutely brilliant guest house and exceptional value. The owner is very welcoming and good craic too. The bar in the guesthouse is warm and cosy and breakfast the next day was excellent. I would recommend this guesthouse to anybody going to Athlone and hope to return next time I am down.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluebus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We stayed 2 nights in Coosan cottage and found the place to be perfect for what we needed for the weekend. Tom, the owner is quite a character & makes you feel welcome and at ease. The rooms are spacious, clean and relatively new. The bar makes the B&B quite unique and was perfect for a few pints of guinness after we checked in on the first night. Breakfast is somewhat self service but good. Rooms could do with a few things like kettles, hairdryers & maybe even some toiletries -but that is nit picking. Anything we asked for was never a problem and I would return to coosan cottage.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shellsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Lovely guesthouse with clean, bright and spacious rooms. Tom and his staff provide good cheer and will do anything to make your stay great (I recommend his top notch gift wrapping service!).
Thoroughly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saritalloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

My family and I stayed here when we were celebrating an anniversary. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. The proprietor Tom is friendly, attentive and professional. The locals relax in the lounge in the evenings, this says a lot for the quality of the Guinness and the friendly service. We're going back to stay here this coming weekend and I'm very much looking forward to the generous, full Irish breakfast.

Irish hospitality at its best, a home away from home.

Room Tip: The lounge gets busy, we couldn't hear a thing from downstairs though, not sure about the rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bannone2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We were attending a wedding in the hodson bay hotel in athlone and we stayed over night in coosan cottage. We were served a great breakfast which was much appreciated After a late night.Joe was an excellant host & very friendly. Would def go back & stay there & would be interested to have dinner there... If the breakfast was anything to go by. A bottle of water given to each of us as we left was a thoughtful touch.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nomadlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,919 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
0.6 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,099 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
2.2 mi away
Creggan Court
Creggan Court
#8 of 9 in Athlone
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coosan Cottage Eco Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coosan Cottage Eco Guesthouse

Property: Coosan Cottage Eco Guesthouse
Address: Coosan Point Rd. | Coosan, Athlone 09064, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Coosan Cottage Eco Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coosan Cottage is Ireland's First Ecoguesthouse approx 2.5 miles from the town centre and 1.3 miles from Lough Ree Lake. We are a Hotel standard Ecoguesthouse with a licensed bar at B and B prices great value for money. We do private parties and re-unions, provide music and great food ideal for groups of 25 max. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Coosan Cottage Eco Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing