We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4 stars with 5 star quality!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“4 stars with 5 star quality!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

We arrived at Glasson Hotel on Sunday 4th sep for a 2 night stay with dinner. We were given a warm welcome by Maria and Louise at reception. We had the pleasure of staying on the top floor in a room overlooking the lake, the view was outstanding. The comfort and facilites in the bedroom could not have being better, the bed was the most comfortable we have ever slept in. We had dinner in the restraunt on the sunday night. The food was first class and the waiter was very attentive and catered for our every need. The facilites around the hotel are excellent, the sauna and steem room are very relaxing & a few minutes on the massage chair before bed is a real treat. The scent of fresh flowers throughout the hotel is delightfull. Breakfast each morning was very tasty, and on top of the full Irish, there was also a lovely buffet with fresh scones, Salmon, a variety of cheeses ect ect.. Again the waiter at breakfast was helpfull and very professional. The golf course looked stunning, We plan to learn how to play so we can try it out the next time. The night porter (Anthony) was also very professional, helpfull and very friendly, He informed us of the hotels history and recommended local attractions that may be of interest to us durning our stay.
We also enquired about holding a civil partnership/reception at the hotel next year, Gareth showed us around and the function room is lovely. The view over the lake is one of the best we have ever had the pleasure of laying our eyes on. Glasson is top of the list for our future partnership, and the price quoted to us was quite affordable too. For any smokers there is plenty of balconies and patio areas to nip out for a cigeratte. Thank you so much to everyone at Glasson for a truely special, Memorable and fantastic time. We will surely be back and would recommend this hotel to any tyoe of guest, the facilites cater for all. Thanks again. Damien and Tim

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank damienwhaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonGlasson, Manager at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely review. It was a real treat reading through your comments. I have passed all your comments on to the rest of the team here at Glasson, and they are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Gareth, Louise, Anthony and Marie are all delighted that they helped make your stay an enjoyable one.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Kindest Regards,
Fidelma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    104
    21
    7
    7
See reviews for
137
212
6
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tullamore, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

This hotel is for golfing only.
The rooms are just ok.
The bar staff and managment seemed indifferent & service poor
wont be returning.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dave d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

We stayed one night here in August. I didn't expect to be so impressed by it. Our room was on the 3rd floor, had a little balcony and an amazing view. Bathroom had separate shower and bath and was very spacious. The bed was the most comfortable I've ever slept in. The mattress was just perfect. Would have loved to ask them what type they were but was afraid staff would think I was mad! dinner was amazing. Breakfast was buffet, very nice with gorgeous brown bread. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. Can't think if any negatives. There was a golf group in the bar area which might annoy some people but the area is spacious enough not to affect you.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonGlasson, Manager at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments about your stay at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our food and service very good. I have passed your comments on to the rest of the team here, who are all delighted that you enjoyed your time here. The entire team work very hard to ensure that we look after all our guests, and it's great when we get positive feedback, it really makes our day!!

We are very proud of the mattresses in the rooms, we have received great comments from guests about the great nights sleep they have had due to the great quality beds we have. The mattresses were sourced from Kellets in Oldcastle, Co. Meath and are from the RESPA brand.

Once again, thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Glasson in the not to distant future.

Kindest Regards,
Fidelma Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

We had a beautifully appointed twin room overlooking the Shannon. The beds were absolutely 5 star and one of the most comfortable I've ever stayed in. The staff at reception were extremely welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. I mentioned at check out that I had regrettably missed breakfast and the lady offered to have a sandwich made up for me for my journey - very impressive. I would highly recommend a stay at this hotel - so peaceful and relaxing.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carrok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonGlasson, Manager at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Dear Guest,
Thnak you for taking the time to write a lovely review about your stay at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club. I have passed your reviews to all the team and they are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I have also complimented the reception team for offering you the sandwich on your journey home, we try our best every time to exceed guests expectations and offer something more to all our guests. I am glad that on this occassion you found our service very good.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Glasson in the not to distant future.
Kindest Regards,
Fidelma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

This hotel is unique...located on the inner lakes of Lough Ree and as you drive into it, the setting is breathtaking!!!

Having worked in the hotel industry in Ireland and abroad, we were quite fussy when it came to choosing our wedding venue. We are delighted we chose this premier venue. We would pick up on small details and this hotel covers it all. The attention to detail from the time of booking to our wedding day was excellent. Nothing was any trouble and the wedding team provided great suggestions in the planning of the big day. Our Guests were overwhelmed by the friendly and welcoming atmosphere, some who work in the hotel industry were also very impressed.

The food was amazing and each of our guests could not stop commenting on how delicious it was. All staff were professional and provided a high quality of service from the time of check in, to the bar, banqueting suite and bedrooms. In our opinion each department provided a five star service. There is no other banqueting suite that we have seen that is designed in order to display a spectacular view while you dine!

The bedrooms are so spacious, airy and again with beautiful views. Stepping out on to the balcony at the end of our wedding night we would see the lights of Athlone glistening in the distance and we felt we are in a different country.

We cannot express our huge gratitude to all the Staff who truly made our day so magical and memorable. We would without doubt recommend Glasson Country House Hotel to anyone and especially any wedding couples who are looking for that "extra special" day!
Mr & Mrs Farrell

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ailo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonGlasson, Manager at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review of your experience at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club. We are delighted that we helped to make your wedding day so special. The team work very hard here to ensure that we exceed our guests expectations and we are thrilled that both you and your guests enjoyed your meal.
I have passed your comments around to all the team here, who are delighted with the feedback.
It was a pleasure hosting your wedding here at Glasson and we look forward to welcoming you back to Glasson in the not to distant future (especially for the 1st Anniversary meal!!)
Kindest Regards,
Fidelma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

Spent 2 nights here this month while attending my mates wedding. The food was just fab, the staff were fantastic, so friendly and helpful. The rooms are just beautiful and the beds so comfy..can't wait to go back there....

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellydeem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonGlasson, Manager at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely comments.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your time here at Glasson and that you found the food and our rooms lovely.
I have passed your comments around the hotel here and all the staff are thrilled with your comments.
Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Glasson in the near future.
Kindest Regards,
Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

lovely bedrooms, beautiful setting in a golf course on Lough Ree. Nice staff. Resaonable breakfast buffet. Evening menu in the bar is poor. Stay but don't eat dinner.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NjTravel_hound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonGlasson, Manager at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 30 August 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We are very pleased you enjoyed our beautiful views and lovwely bedrooms and our warm Glasson welcome. We are disappointed you did not enjoy you meal. Your comments have been passed to all of our staff. If you wish to contact me in person please email me on ----------------------.

Kindest Regards,
Fidelma Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
3.9 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,785 reviews
1.0 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
4.0 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
5.4 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club

Property: Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Address: Glasson, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Athlone
#1 Business Hotel in Athlone
#1 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#3 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glasson Country House Hotel and Golf Club is a 4 star lakeside golf hotel located close to Athlone in County Westmeath. All of our guests experience the warmth of the Glasson welcome, super spacious Bedrooms & public areas to relax and unwind in, superb food in our New Killinure Restaurant and Lakeside Bar with panoramic Lakeside Views. For our Guests it is the perfect hotel for business, leisure or your big wedding day. With the addition of a spectacular New Bar, Restaurant & Banqueting suite in May 2010 taking full advantage of the amazing Lake Views you can relax and unwind in comfort. Our Four Star Hotel & Championship Golf Course have been designed with the discerning hotel guest in mind. Situated just outside the quaint village of Glasson (Goldsmiths 'village of the roses') in Midlands Ireland and nestled on the tranquil shores of Lough Ree, this family-run Country House Hotel is the ideal get-away for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasson Country House Hotel And Golf Club
Glasson Hotel Athlone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing