We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Wedding venue and first class service too”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Wedding venue and first class service too”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

We got married in October and chose Glasson as our Reception venue.
From our 1st meeting with Fidelma right through to Gareth waving us off, everything was perfect. The staff are so friendly and could not do enough for us and our guests.
Everyone complimented on how amazing the food was and Robin ensured Restaurant standard food and service was delivered to everyone.
They were so good that while it rained for most of the day, when it broke Fidelma drove us down to the jetty in her family car so we could get photos. They laid towels all over the ground so my wife would not ruin her dress and Marie helped her in an out of the car. They did not bat an eyelid at this. This is just their normal high standard of service.
The owners even popped down to us the next day to make sure everything went perfectly for us.

The rooms are lovely and the views are fantastic even on a rainy day.
The room for the reception is all glass with fabulous views of the lake.
Everything about the room set up is brilliant from chair covers, ribbons and centre pieces.

Cant say enough good things about this place and its staff.
We will definitely be back for a weekend

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gclancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonGlasson, Manager at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely comments and we are delighted to hear that we helped make your wedding day very special. I have passed your comments around to the entire team and they are also delighted with your kind words. All the staff here make an extra special effort to ensure that all our guests feel welcome, and the little extra effort such as the towels on the ground to protect your wifes dress is something we always strive to achieve.
We would be delighted at the opportunity to welcome you back to Glasson and we hope to see you again soon.

Kindest Regards,
Fidelma Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    104
    21
    7
    7
See reviews for
137
212
6
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

Glasson Country House hotel is hidden in the centre of Ireland in the most stunning surrounds. Oran and I had our wedding there this November and from beginning to end we were taken care of like royalty. Nothing was too big an ask from Fidelma and her team and we really felt that everyone went the extra mile to make sure it was a day to remember. The hotel is fabulous - the reception room overlooks Lough Ree and the rooms are very comfortable with beds you don't want to get out of. The food was simply delicious and I know that lots of the guests are already booking weekends away as a result. Looking forward to going back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Lough Ree
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonGlasson, Manager at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
Dear Guest,

Thanks a million for your lovely review. We are honoured that we got a chance to share with you your wedding celebrations. I have passed your comments to all the staff here at Glasson, and they are delighted that you had a great experience. I have also passed your comments about the food to our culinary team; they are delighted with the positive feedback.
Our beds get alot of mention on tripadvisor, believe me it took a while to discover exactly the right bed to suit all our customers and we are delighted that you slept well.
We are thrilled that we helped you enjoy your wedding experience and we look forward to welcoming you back to Glasson in the near future. Merry Christmas!

Kindest Regards,
Fidelma Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

We got married last May and chose the Glasson for our reception. From the beginning to the end, the management and staff were very friendly and helpful. They accommodated all of our requests and made the whole organisation so easy for us, especially as we live abroad.

Our guests were continuously complimenting the location, the views, staff etc. The meal for the wedding reception received the greatest compliments - it was delicious!

We had alot of guests from Germany and the staff went to extra lengths to make them feel at home - eg. adding a German flag alongside the Irish one outside :) Upon arrival from the church by bus, the Glasson staff managed to check in all of our guests from Germany very quickly and in German which was a great extra touch.

We had a bbq the day after before our guests left and this was also great. The weather was very windy so the back up plan was to locate the bbq in the main bar area downstairs of the new building - this turned out to be even nicer than outside. As with the wedding reception upstairs the new part of the building offers floor to ceiling glass windows which offer breathtaking views over the lake as everyone enjoyed their food during the reception, meal and for the bbq the day after.

Definitely recommend this hotel and location

Room Tip: Rooms on lake side have gorgeous views over lake and countryside
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmcgra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonGlasson, Manager at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
Dear Lmcgrath,

Thanks a million for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your wedding at Glasson. We do try our very best to ensure that all our wedding guests enjoy their experience and the little things like the German flag and the German welcome is what we call the "Glasson Experience". This is a mixture of our family friendly atmosphere, our focus on customer service and a promise to deliver a "personal touch" with everything we do!

I have passed your lovely comments re the wedding dinner and the bbq to our culinary team and they are delighted that the food got mentioned in your review. We extended the hotel last year, and the new glass building has made great use of the glorious Glasson views. We are delighted that you enjoyed the views!

Once again, thanks a million for your comments, we really do appreciate them and we try our best everyday to ensure all our guests, like you, enjoy their experience with us.
Don't forget on your next trip to Ireland, to pop in and say hello, we'd love to see you again!

Kindest Regards,
Fidelma Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrick on Shannon, Leitrim, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

I stayed at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf club for my sisters wedding in November and I cannot say enough about the venue and the staff. The service from the staff was exceptional, reception took great care of us and went far beyond the call of duty. The meal was superb, I had the fish, sole stuffed with prawns which was cooked perfectly and my husband had the fillet of beef which was also excellent. The bedrooms were very comfortable, and for someone who sometimes finds it hard to sleep in hotels, I had no problem here. And as for the location, stunning, the entrance driveway to the hotel is extremely impressive with stunning views over Lough Ree. I would like to thank all the management and staff for making our weekend so enjoyable. It was by far the most enjoyable wedding I have ever been at, and I've been to a few.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonGlasson, Manager at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
Dear Ita T,

Thanks a million for your lovely review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your sister had a great day with us. Weddings are our speciality at Glasson and we are thrilled with such positive feedback, not only from Brides and Grooms themselves, but from guests who attended the wedding too.

We paid extra attention to the buying of our beds, and I do have to agree that they are very comfortable. Our location is key to our hotel, the views over Loug Ree are indeed amazing (the best thing is I get to see them everyday!). I have posted your comments around the hotel, and all our staff are thrilled with the review.

I hope to get the chance to welcome you back to Glasson in the future, we not only do weddings and golf, but we are a great location for the odd leisure break away too.

Kindest Regards & Merry Christmas
Fidelma Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

A group of 6 of us stayed in this excellent hotel. the scenery is breath taking with the Golf course running to the lake on many sides. The most impressive part of our stay was the friendliness of the staff, warm , welcoming and advising us of the most appropriate things to do. We would rate it up there with the best in Ireland. Best wishes and Thanks to Management & Staff.

Room Tip: Talk to the very helpful staff and they will advise you according to your reason for holidaying the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joe d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonGlasson, Manager at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
Dear Joe D,

Thank you very much for your lovely comments you posted of Glasson Country House Hotel. We are delighted to have welcomed you to Glasson and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. The staff at Glasson work very hard to ensure that they provide the highest level of the "Warm Glasson Welcome" to all our guests. I have posted your lovely comments on the staff bulletin board, and they are thrilled with such positive feedback. To "rate us up there with the best in Ireland" is fantastic, thanks a million.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Glasson in the near future. Merry Christmas!

Kindest Regards,
Fidelma Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England.
Level Contributor
163 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed a two night b&b, one dinner, one round of golf, stay at this hotel. First impressions are important and Louise at Reception made us feel very welcome. The quality of the rooms is impressive and the views over the golf course out to the lake are magnificent.
The dinner menu gave lots of choice and the food was good, but not brilliant.
There were weddings receptions each day but the staff looked after us well despite the pressure. The weather was mixed and I would like to visit again and experience the golf course in brilliant sunshine.
We were visiting from the UK where there is a wide choice of short golf breaks. The cost at Glasson for the equivalent was similar, but not less.

Room Tip: The new wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LongGable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonGlasson, Manager at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
Dear LongGable,

Thanks a million for your great comments about Glasson Country House Hotel. The golf course is glorious during the Summer months, and provides some great playing if you are either an amatuer or avid golfer. During the Summer months, Glasson is quiet a "busy spot", as golfers and leisure guests flock to soak up the sunshine. I have passed your comments to Louise, who is delighted that she made you feel welcome.

You are more than welcome to come back to Glasson at any time, rain or shine, and I will ensure that I get a chance to personally greet you myself. Merry Christmas!

Kindest Regards,
Fidelma Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

I recently got married in Glasson golf hotel and from start to finish the staff and hotel was nothing short of amazing. The views were fabulous and food and service was second to none. Nothing was too much for the lovely girls on reception and I would like to thank all concerned for making it a fabulous experience from the first visit we met there. Cannot speak highly enough for the hotel and staff. Thanks Gareth, Marie, Fidelma and all.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank p o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonGlasson, Manager at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
Dear P O,

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review about your wedding experience at Glasson. We are delighted that we "added" to your wedding day and that we made it a "fabulous experience" for you. I have passed your lovely comments on to Gareth, Marie and all the team here at Glasson, who are delighted with the great comments.

We hope you have a very Merry Christmas and we hope to welcome you back to Glasson in 2012.
Kindest Regards,
Fidelma Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
3.9 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,785 reviews
1.0 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
4.0 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
5.4 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club

Property: Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Address: Glasson, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#1 Family Hotel in Athlone
#1 Business Hotel in Athlone
#3 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glasson Country House Hotel and Golf Club is a 4 star lakeside golf hotel located close to Athlone in County Westmeath. All of our guests experience the warmth of the Glasson welcome, super spacious Bedrooms & public areas to relax and unwind in, superb food in our New Killinure Restaurant and Lakeside Bar with panoramic Lakeside Views. For our Guests it is the perfect hotel for business, leisure or your big wedding day. With the addition of a spectacular New Bar, Restaurant & Banqueting suite in May 2010 taking full advantage of the amazing Lake Views you can relax and unwind in comfort. Our Four Star Hotel & Championship Golf Course have been designed with the discerning hotel guest in mind. Situated just outside the quaint village of Glasson (Goldsmiths 'village of the roses') in Midlands Ireland and nestled on the tranquil shores of Lough Ree, this family-run Country House Hotel is the ideal get-away for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasson Country House Hotel And Golf Club
Glasson Hotel Athlone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing