We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our family reunion”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We stayed at this hotel for our yearly family reunion and enjoyed a lovely weekend.
The staff were welcoming and friendly and we hope to return back again next year for. more of the same first class treatment

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stellamarisachill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonGlasson, Manager at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Dear Stella,

I am delighted to have read your lovely comments about your recent stay at Glasson. I can tell you it really brightens my day when I hear that you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that we exceeded your expectations during your visit. The managment and staff work very hard to ensure that we always offer a high quality service, and the good feedback makes it all the more worthwhile. Don't forget to tell all your friends about your trip, and spread the word about Glasson, truely a hidden gem in heart of Ireland.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Glasson in the future.

Kindest Regards,
Fidelma Reid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (650)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

550 - 556 of 650 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2012

My husband and I stayed in Glasson for the fourth time 01.01.12.
We had our wedding reception there some years ago, and simply love returning to where we had one of the best days of our lives.

The staff are always very welcoming when we visit, and nothing appears to be any trouble. The rooms are finished to a very high standard, with the most comfortable beds. We stayed in a Deluxe Room with stunning views of the Lake and Golf Course.

Throughout, the Hotel keeps to this high standard of comfort and elegance with a lovely warm and comfortable atmosphere. I would highly recommend this Hotel to anyone in need of a much deserved break, or indeed as wonderful Wedding venue. May you have as many happy memories as we have.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clodagh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonGlasson, Manager at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely comments and we are delighted that you still enjoy your time with us at Glasson, even on your fourth stay. We are delighted with our venue here, although we are always continuing to improve our product and service offering. The beds are a true gem, and previous comments confirm that the beds really are comfortable.
I have passed your comments around to all the team and we are all thrilled with your lovely review.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Glasson in the future, introduce yourself the next time you are here so I can personally introduce myself and give you the "Warm Glasson Welcome".

Kindest Regards
Fidelma Reid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

overall the hotel is nice but no gym or pool, you would need a car if planning on visiting. I stayed here for a weekend at a wedding, I found the food and bedrooms were excellent but the staff were really unfriendly especially the function manager in the hotel who would not take two seconds to listen to you. The hotel is also very understaffed having the barman gone to help with the function and only available for a short period of time.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonGlasson, Manager at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Dear Patrick,
Thank you for your comments in relation to the food and bedrooms, we are getting consistently excellent feedback about the quality of the food here at Glasson and it is one of our top priorities.

We value any comments that are made to us and appreciate the time taken to share your opinions. Your comments have been passed to all members of staff, and will no doubt help us to further enhance the experience we provide to our guests. It would appear that your experience was
different from that experienced by the vast majority of our guests, we are disappointed that your experience wasn't up to the high standards to which we aspire.

While we are outside of the town , the ease of access to the golf course, the inner lakes, and Athlone town itself, it is the ideal venue for either the getaway, a wedding or a business trip.

We do hope to welcome you back on another occassion, introduce yourself whenever you are next here.
Kindest Regards,
Fidelma Reid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

From the moment we booked glasson, staff were the most helpful and accomodating group i have ever come across. We booked a year in advance on recomendation from a friend of a friend and could not have been happier. I (the bride) felt like an absolute princess from the first day and carried right through till the day after, your hospatility is second to none and i mean that. Couldnt believe it when i left the room for the church (in a mess as bridsmaids/brides do!!) and came back later to find it immaculate and complimentary luxury goods from glasson, honestly its little things like that that make a brides day even more special than it already is! i cant say enough for gareth (ur a star), robin (food was AMAZING, golf carts you arranged to bring us down to the jetti were Ciaran and the groomsmens highlight!!!!), Fidelma, Louise and all the staff, honestly i cannot say enough about all of you! Even nanny cotter was impressed about the accomodating service you gave her, thanks, means alot! and you kept my bridal boquet alive and well for me to take home! ha!
Well we're off now on honeymoon, but honestly for any brides-to-be who are looking at venues its amazing, and for a weddng, you lot made it the most hassle free day i've ever had, and that's not easy to say after weeks of planning a wedding day! thanks again, see you next year for the renewal! ha!
Love Rhona and Ciaran Cotter.
Married 16th December 2011

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RhonaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonGlasson, Manager at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Dear Rhona,
Thanks a million for your lovely comments on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we helped make your wedding a day to remember. I have passed your comments around to all the team in reception, catering and our wedding department and they are delighted with your kind words. Tell Nanny Cotter we said hi and that she is due a visit to Glasson shortly!!

We thoroughly enjoyed looking after you and all your family and you both make a lovely couple. We always make sure that we put in that extra special effort so that all guests enjoy their stay, no matter if it's for business golf, a wedding or just a relaxing break away. Make sure and pass the good word about our hotel to all your friends. We hope you enjoyed the Honeymoon and we look forward to welcoming you back to Glasson for the First Anniversary celebrations.

Kindest Regards,
Fidelma Reid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

We got married in October and chose Glasson as our Reception venue.
From our 1st meeting with Fidelma right through to Gareth waving us off, everything was perfect. The staff are so friendly and could not do enough for us and our guests.
Everyone complimented on how amazing the food was and Robin ensured Restaurant standard food and service was delivered to everyone.
They were so good that while it rained for most of the day, when it broke Fidelma drove us down to the jetty in her family car so we could get photos. They laid towels all over the ground so my wife would not ruin her dress and Marie helped her in an out of the car. They did not bat an eyelid at this. This is just their normal high standard of service.
The owners even popped down to us the next day to make sure everything went perfectly for us.

The rooms are lovely and the views are fantastic even on a rainy day.
The room for the reception is all glass with fabulous views of the lake.
Everything about the room set up is brilliant from chair covers, ribbons and centre pieces.

Cant say enough good things about this place and its staff.
We will definitely be back for a weekend

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gclancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonGlasson, Manager at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely comments and we are delighted to hear that we helped make your wedding day very special. I have passed your comments around to the entire team and they are also delighted with your kind words. All the staff here make an extra special effort to ensure that all our guests feel welcome, and the little extra effort such as the towels on the ground to protect your wifes dress is something we always strive to achieve.
We would be delighted at the opportunity to welcome you back to Glasson and we hope to see you again soon.

Kindest Regards,
Fidelma Reid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Glasson Country House hotel is hidden in the centre of Ireland in the most stunning surrounds. Oran and I had our wedding there this November and from beginning to end we were taken care of like royalty. Nothing was too big an ask from Fidelma and her team and we really felt that everyone went the extra mile to make sure it was a day to remember. The hotel is fabulous - the reception room overlooks Lough Ree and the rooms are very comfortable with beds you don't want to get out of. The food was simply delicious and I know that lots of the guests are already booking weekends away as a result. Looking forward to going back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Lough Ree
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonGlasson, Manager at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2011

Dear Guest,

Thanks a million for your lovely review. We are honoured that we got a chance to share with you your wedding celebrations. I have passed your comments to all the staff here at Glasson, and they are delighted that you had a great experience. I have also passed your comments about the food to our culinary team; they are delighted with the positive feedback.
Our beds get alot of mention on tripadvisor, believe me it took a while to discover exactly the right bed to suit all our customers and we are delighted that you slept well.
We are thrilled that we helped you enjoy your wedding experience and we look forward to welcoming you back to Glasson in the near future. Merry Christmas!

Kindest Regards,
Fidelma Reid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

We got married last May and chose the Glasson for our reception. From the beginning to the end, the management and staff were very friendly and helpful. They accommodated all of our requests and made the whole organisation so easy for us, especially as we live abroad.

Our guests were continuously complimenting the location, the views, staff etc. The meal for the wedding reception received the greatest compliments - it was delicious!

We had alot of guests from Germany and the staff went to extra lengths to make them feel at home - eg. adding a German flag alongside the Irish one outside :) Upon arrival from the church by bus, the Glasson staff managed to check in all of our guests from Germany very quickly and in German which was a great extra touch.

We had a bbq the day after before our guests left and this was also great. The weather was very windy so the back up plan was to locate the bbq in the main bar area downstairs of the new building - this turned out to be even nicer than outside. As with the wedding reception upstairs the new part of the building offers floor to ceiling glass windows which offer breathtaking views over the lake as everyone enjoyed their food during the reception, meal and for the bbq the day after.

Definitely recommend this hotel and location

Room Tip: Rooms on lake side have gorgeous views over lake and countryside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmcgra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonGlasson, Manager at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2011

Dear Lmcgrath,

Thanks a million for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your wedding at Glasson. We do try our very best to ensure that all our wedding guests enjoy their experience and the little things like the German flag and the German welcome is what we call the "Glasson Experience". This is a mixture of our family friendly atmosphere, our focus on customer service and a promise to deliver a "personal touch" with everything we do!

I have passed your lovely comments re the wedding dinner and the bbq to our culinary team and they are delighted that the food got mentioned in your review. We extended the hotel last year, and the new glass building has made great use of the glorious Glasson views. We are delighted that you enjoyed the views!

Once again, thanks a million for your comments, we really do appreciate them and we try our best everyday to ensure all our guests, like you, enjoy their experience with us.
Don't forget on your next trip to Ireland, to pop in and say hello, we'd love to see you again!

Kindest Regards,
Fidelma Reid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
3.9 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
2,026 reviews
1 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
1,146 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
5.4 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
965 reviews
4 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club

Address: Glasson, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#1 Business Hotel in Athlone
#1 Family Hotel in Athlone
#3 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
Price Range: £96 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glasson Country House Hotel and Golf Club is a 4 star lakeside golf hotel located close to Athlone in County Westmeath. All of our guests experience the warmth of the Glasson welcome, super spacious Bedrooms & public areas to relax and unwind in, superb food in our Killinure Restaurant and Lakeside Bar with panoramic Lakeside Views. For our Guests it is the perfect hotel for business, leisure or your big wedding day. With the addition of a spectacular New Bar, Restaurant & Banqueting suite in May 2010 taking full advantage of the amazing Lake Views you can relax and unwind in comfort. Our Four Star Hotel & Championship Golf Course have been designed with the discerning hotel guest in mind. Situated just outside the quaint village of Glasson (Goldsmiths 'village of the roses') in Midlands Ireland and nestled on the tranquil shores of Lough Ree, this family-run Country House Hotel is the ideal get-away for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasson Country House Hotel And Golf Club
Glasson Hotel Athlone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing