We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
mayo
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Just back from a 2 night break, stunning location, friendly staff.

Will be back again

Thank you

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonGlasson, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear Bernie C,
Thank you for your comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us here in Glasson Country House Hotel and delighted that we will have the opportunity to extend the warm Glasson Welcome to you in the future.

Kindest Regards
Fidelma Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    103
    21
    7
    7
See reviews for
135
208
6
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

I stayed here with some work colleagues this week. We got a great deal for Hotel, dinner and golf. I was very impressed with the quality of the rooms, and the friendly staff. I was also very impressed with the quality of the dinner, which had numerous choices for starter and main course.
I had been suffering for a few months with a trapped nerve in my neck, and consequent discomfort down my right arm. I booked in for a massage on the morning of our departure and was very impressed with the result of the treatement. I still feel much better, and would like to suggest a visit to Aine if you are feeling stressed..

Gerry.

Room Tip: request a room with a view over Lough Ree.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gmodoherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonGlasson, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear Gerry,
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I have also passed your compliments on to Aine who will be delighted that her massage was a help to you during your stay.

We are constantly stiving to keep a high standard of service and offer a great quality product and your feedback assures us that we are getting it right.

Thank you for your review and we hope that we can extend the warm Glasson Welcome to you in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Fidelma Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

I attended a wedding here recently and it is truly a stunning location. The Hotel is beautiful with very attentive staff and delicious food. The funciton room is on the first floor and looks out over a lake, great day

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LimerickTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonGlasson, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear Guest,
We are delighted that you could enjoy our stunning Location and delicious food during the wedding you attended at Glasson Country House Hotel. We trust you had a great day at the wedding.

The function room was specifically designed to take advantage of our amazing lake views and it is great to know that it has that affect.

We hope to extend the Warm Glasson Welcome to you in the future for another occassion.

Kindest Regards
Fidelma Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownabbey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful golfing break at Glasson Country House Hotel last week. The hotel and the golf course were first class. The rooms were spotless and the golf course was in excellent condition. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We ate in the Golfer's lounge and again the food was excellent and staff very helpful. When staff on reception realised we were golfing on the day we were leaving they gave us a late checkout so that we could use our room to refresh before starting our journey home. Thank you to everyone at the hotel for making our stay so relaxing and enjoyable. Will certainly be back. Very highly recommended.
B. Dobbin, Newtownabbey, Northern Ireland

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dobb168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonGlasson, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at Glasson Country House Hotel.

We pride ourselves on our personal touch and are always trying to anticipate the needs of our guests, it was great that we could facilitate a late checkout for you on the day of departure. I have passed on your comments to all of our staff to ensure they know what a good job they are doing.

Looking forward to extending the Warm Glasson Welcome to you in the future.

Kindest Regards
Fidelma Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Attended a wedding there at the weekend and it was fab. Beautiful setting which was enhanced by the fab weather. Staff allowed us an early check in to get ready and the rooms are lovely. The bathrooms are the nicest I have seen in a hotel in a long long time. Beautiful balcony off the room overlooking the golf course. The staff are just so friendly and helpful and the hotel itself is spotless. Husband will definately return to play golf and i will certainly go with him to enjoy the leisure facilities. Would certainly recommend this hotel for a relaxing fun stay.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank longweekender212521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonGlasson, Manager at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely comments about your recent stay at Glasson Country House Hotel. We as a team, always strive to ensure we provide the highest level of service to all our guests. We believe that the personal touch is very important when trying to create a great guest experience and the early checkin to allow you to get ready before a wedding is something that we try and accommodate (although we cannot gaurantee it!).

We are delighted to hear you liked our bathrooms. The owner of the hotel, Mr Reid, is happy that you enjoyed them too, as he spent a long time picking out the decor for these bathrooms. I have passed your comments around to all our team, and it makes our job even more enjoyable when we get positive feedback.

Once again, "go raibh mile maith agat" for your lovely comments and we would be delighted to extend the Warm Glasson Welcome to you on your next visit to Glasson.

Kindest Regards,
Fidelma Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roscommon, Roscommon, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Group of 45 gathered here last Friday for a meal and presentation. The Staff were more than helpful in organising our event. Our invitees have commented on the food, the service, the venue, the accommodation and all comments were extremely positive. Thank you to all who worked that night and helped us to host such a wonderful evening. We will definitely come here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PresentationSisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonGlasson, Manager at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you kindly for posting a lovely review about your recent visit to Glasson. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your gathering here at Glasson, and thank you for choosing us to look after you and your group. We are delighted that your invitees commented on the food, the service, the venue, the accommodation and that all comments were extremely positive. I have passed your comments to all our service, culinary, accommodation and front office team- who are all extremely happy with the lovely comments.

Our new banqueting suite, with panaramic views over the lake and golf course, has allowed us to not only offer the great service that we have become known for, but to allow our guests experience the beauty of the Glasson scenery. It gives you a feeling of being outside in the glorious scenery, but yet you are inside enjoying the warmth and comfort of a modern fully equipped function room.

Onxce again, thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to Glasson in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Fidelma Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, N.Ireland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Group of 27 down for an evening before a rugby match. Check in easy and friendly. Bar food great. Rooms clean and comfortable. Could not ask for better. New bar/function room looks great.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GMcC_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonGlasson, Manager at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks a million for taking the time to post a comment about your recent stay at Glasson. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have passed your comments around to all the management and staff at the hotel and they are thrilled with the review. We do try very hard to ensure all our guests enjoy their stay, and to hear positive feedback from an entire rugby team; well it makes it all worth while.

Once again, thanks a million for your lovely comments and we would be absolutely delighted to welcome you back to Glasson in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Fidelma Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
3.8 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,755 reviews
1.0 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
3.9 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
5.4 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club

Property: Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Address: Glasson, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Athlone
#1 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#1 Family Hotel in Athlone
#3 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glasson Country House Hotel and Golf Club is a 4 star lakeside golf hotel located close to Athlone in County Westmeath. All of our guests experience the warmth of the Glasson welcome, super spacious Bedrooms & public areas to relax and unwind in, superb food in our New Killinure Restaurant and Lakeside Bar with panoramic Lakeside Views. For our Guests it is the perfect hotel for business, leisure or your big wedding day. With the addition of a spectacular New Bar, Restaurant & Banqueting suite in May 2010 taking full advantage of the amazing Lake Views you can relax and unwind in comfort. Our Four Star Hotel & Championship Golf Course have been designed with the discerning hotel guest in mind. Situated just outside the quaint village of Glasson (Goldsmiths 'village of the roses') in Midlands Ireland and nestled on the tranquil shores of Lough Ree, this family-run Country House Hotel is the ideal get-away for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Superbreak UK so you can book your Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasson Country House Hotel And Golf Club
Glasson Hotel Athlone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing