We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golf Society Short Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Golf Society Short Stay”
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Went to Glasson House for three days golfing and hotel stay. The hotel is immaculate! Rooms are clean and beds are well turned down with good quality linen. The hotel main bar has wonderful views and can accommodate large numbers of guests. The food is of a very high standard although the snack menu in the bar is drastically overpriced! 14euro for a chicken burger with a side of chips! Outrageous!
On the golf front the course is maintained to a very high standard with tee boxes, fairways and greens all immaculate. Only criticism is that we played the course three times and the pin positions were in the same place three days in a row. Small things make a difference.
The staff could not have been more helpful and made our stay very comfortable and enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allyc48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonGlasson, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review Glasson Country House Hotel and we are delighted that you enjoyed the Wonderful Views, Golf Course and Food.

I have passed on all of your Comments to management and staff and we will take them all on board, all feedback is welcome and can only help us to enhance the Glasson Experience.

We hope that we can extend the Warm Glasson Welcome to you in the future.

Kindest Regards
Fidelma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    470
    112
    22
    7
    8
See reviews for
145
221
6
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2012 via mobile

Group of 27 arrived on fri staying through to Sunday , the whole experience was excellent from check in to check out great golf great food great rooms great staff would recommend definitely go back stevie

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaijohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonGlasson, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback and we are delighted that we could take care of you an your fellow Golfers during your stay at Glasson. We pride ourselves on our personal touch and try and maintain the highest standards for our facilities and service, it is great to hear that we are getting it right for our guests.

Once again thank you and we look forward to extending the Warm Glasson Welcome to you again in the future.

Kindest Regards
Cathriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on the weekend of 4th/6th may 2012 with the dambusters golf society from carrickfergus (N.Ireland) 28 of us. the staff couldn't do enough for us very accommodating from the minute we arrived till the moment we left. The course is challenging but fair. Very sceinic around the lakes. Worth a visit.
Darren Awin.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darrenawin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonGlasson, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear Darren,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us here at Glasson Country House Hotel, it was a pleasure taking care of you and your fellow Golfers in the Dambusters Golf Society.

We pride ourselves on always trying to accommodate all our Guests requests and taking care of them to the best of our ability, it is great to know that this is noticed by our Guests. I have passed on your comments to all the staff.

Thank you once again and we look forward to extending the Warm Glasson Welcome to you and your fellow golfers in the future.

Kindest regards
Cathriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012 via mobile

If you are in the midlands, I strongly recommend that you to stay in the Glasson Golf & Country Club. Your expectations of a good hotel will completely change after your stay.

We felt the warmth of the staff once we set foot in the hotel, with banter and chat with the ladies at reception. Our rooms were spotless, spacious and comfortable, with ample room for 4 of us to sit and enjoy a bottle of bubbles before dinner.

The bar is modern and warm, with a stunning view over the golf course.

Breakfast was a buffet of hot and cold food. Irish breakfast goodies were freshly cooked, not greasy and high quality. Cold foods ranged from fresh fruit to yoghurt to smoked salmon. Delicious!

Still regretting not staying for 2 nights but we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank southsidelass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonGlasson, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear Guest,
I am delighted to have read your lovely comments about your recent stay at Glasson. I can tell you it really brightens my day when I hear that you and your friends thoroughly enjoyed your stay, from the warmth of the staff to the delicious breakfast.
The managment and staff work very hard to ensure that we always offer a high quality service, and the good feedback makes it all the more worthwhile. Don't forget to tell all your friends about your trip, and spread the word about Glasson, truely a hidden gem in heart of Ireland.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Glasson in the future.

Kindest Regards,
Fidelma Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

I celebrated my wedding here last weekend and everything was perfect; Staff, food, location, scenary, rooms. Everyone of our guests expressed to us how much they enjoyed staying here and how fantastic they thought the food was. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. A good gang of us stayed 2 nights and absolutely no complaints whatsoever only amazing praise for this excellent establishment. I look forward to spending many more happy weekends here.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinamars2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonGlasson, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear Guest,
It was a pleasure taking care of you and all your guests for your Wedding and it was great the we were able to make your Big Day special for you and your Guests. I have passed on all your comments to everyone here and they are delighted to kinow that they are doin a good job.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and hope that you enjoyed the Honey Moon.

Kindest Regards
Fidelma, Gareth, Robin & all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mayo
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Just back from a 2 night break, stunning location, friendly staff.

Will be back again

Thank you

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonGlasson, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear Bernie C,
Thank you for your comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us here in Glasson Country House Hotel and delighted that we will have the opportunity to extend the warm Glasson Welcome to you in the future.

Kindest Regards
Fidelma Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

I stayed here with some work colleagues this week. We got a great deal for Hotel, dinner and golf. I was very impressed with the quality of the rooms, and the friendly staff. I was also very impressed with the quality of the dinner, which had numerous choices for starter and main course.
I had been suffering for a few months with a trapped nerve in my neck, and consequent discomfort down my right arm. I booked in for a massage on the morning of our departure and was very impressed with the result of the treatement. I still feel much better, and would like to suggest a visit to Aine if you are feeling stressed..

Gerry.

Room Tip: request a room with a view over Lough Ree.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gmodoherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonGlasson, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear Gerry,
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I have also passed your compliments on to Aine who will be delighted that her massage was a help to you during your stay.

We are constantly stiving to keep a high standard of service and offer a great quality product and your feedback assures us that we are getting it right.

Thank you for your review and we hope that we can extend the warm Glasson Welcome to you in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Fidelma Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
3.9 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,917 reviews
1.0 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
1,064 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
5.4 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
931 reviews
4.3 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club

Property: Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Address: Glasson, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Athlone
#1 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#1 Family Hotel in Athlone
#3 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glasson Country House Hotel and Golf Club is a 4 star lakeside golf hotel located close to Athlone in County Westmeath. All of our guests experience the warmth of the Glasson welcome, super spacious Bedrooms & public areas to relax and unwind in, superb food in our New Killinure Restaurant and Lakeside Bar with panoramic Lakeside Views. For our Guests it is the perfect hotel for business, leisure or your big wedding day. With the addition of a spectacular New Bar, Restaurant & Banqueting suite in May 2010 taking full advantage of the amazing Lake Views you can relax and unwind in comfort. Our Four Star Hotel & Championship Golf Course have been designed with the discerning hotel guest in mind. Situated just outside the quaint village of Glasson (Goldsmiths 'village of the roses') in Midlands Ireland and nestled on the tranquil shores of Lough Ree, this family-run Country House Hotel is the ideal get-away for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasson Country House Hotel And Golf Club
Glasson Hotel Athlone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing