We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Nearby Hotels
US$331
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$165
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone(Athlone)(Great Value!)
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone(Athlone)(Great Value!)
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Prince of Wales Hotel(Athlone)(Great Value!)
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Athlone Springs Hotel(Athlone)(Great Value!)
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$235
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Creggan Court(Athlone)(Great Value!)
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Cooneys Hotel(Ballymahon)
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (658)
Filter reviews
658 results
Traveller rating
504
116
22
8
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
504
116
22
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf courseround of golfgolf tripwedding venueperfect venuea family run hotelgreat golfwedding receptionamazing weddinglough reebeautiful settingtop classwonderful hotelfrom start to finishwedding guestswould highly recommend this hotelsecond to none
Filter
Updating list...
507 - 512 of 658 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We have spent a few great days in the hotel and enjoyed every minute even though the weather wasn't too good. the staff were all very friendly and helpful, the rooms lovely overlooking the golf course and the food excellent.
we played golf on our last morning and look forward to playing it again on our next visit

M and W Corry

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor, overlooking the golf course and lake are worth asking for.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonCountryHouse, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

It is great to hear that you enjoyed every minute of your stayed with us at Glasson. The friendliness of our staff and our Location are second to none and it is great to hear this from our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to Glasson in the future, hopefully with better weather.

Kindest Regards
Fidelma Reid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Not only was the rooms amazing but the staff were great too. We stayed at Glasson for a family party and we were not disappointed at all. The food was wonderful and the scenery was amazing. The rooms are spacious even with four people in one room, we had a enough room where we did not feel like on top of each other. They also were very accommodating for our needs for our family party- they even set up aTV and DVD player so the kids could watch movies while the parents were continuing eating dinner.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IRISHUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonCountryHouse, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

Dear IRISHUSA,
What a nice way to describe your stay with us here at Glasson " All Around Amazing". I am delighted that your Family group found the food and scenery amazing and all our staff accommodating. We always try our best to meet every guests needs and are delighted to see that this is working.

Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome your Family Group back to Glasson again if not as a group maybe individually. Thank you once again for your great review.

Kindest Regards
Fidelma Reid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Firstly the Cavan gang would like to apologise to Marie and the rest of the staff for the delay in writing this review, life just caught up with me.
Myself and my husband (Stephen) stayed in the Glasson Country House Hotel in July for a mid week break and what a stay we had. From booking the room on the phone with Marie to checking out with Aileen I cannot praise the staff in this hotel enough. Everybody that we met went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable, from housekeeping supplying extra toiletries, waiting and bar staff looking after us with good food and Marie booking a restaurant and taxi for us. On arrival we were upgraded to a suite which was fantastic, a huge room with amazing views over Lough Ree. The hotel is set in such a peaceful and quiet setting that all you can do is relax, which is just what we did. Food was great and I also thought that the break was great value for money but what really sets this hotel above others is the friendliness of the staff. It is very evident that it is a family run hotel and that everybody working there cares about their guests. I cannot praise this hotel enough, we said that we will be back and personally I cannot wait until out next break there. To everybody there keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room overlooking Lough Ree.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marymeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonCountryHouse, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

Dear MaryMeg,
Thank you so much for your glowing review, I have passed on your review to all our Staff so they are aware how much their hard work is appreciated. As you say in your review "what really sets this hotel above others is the friendliness of the staff" and this is so true. We know we have an amazing location and product but without amazing staff it would be wasted. Marie asked me to say a special thank you.

We look forward to extending the Warm Glasson welcome to you in the near future and thank you once again for your glowing review.

Regards
Fidelma Reid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Excellent hotel with a great golf course. A true Irish welcome from the staff. The rooms were very comfortable and the food was really good. Within easy reach of Dublin. Four wedding parties when we were there but did not interfere with our golfing group. A lovely place with stunning views all round - lakes on every side of the golf course.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonCountryHouse, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

Dear Shirley_C
IT is great that you experience the True Irish Welcome at Glasson Country House Hotel, with the diverse mix of Guests that we have it is great to know that all groups and individuals feel welcome and enjoy their stay.

Hopefully we will extend the Warm Glasson Welcome to you and your Fellow Golfers again in the future.

Kindest Regards
Fidelma Reid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Fed up of the dreary summer weather we decided last minute to take a break away and we couldn't have choosen better. Had heard about the hotel and as it was only a 1.15 min drive from Dublin we decided that it was just the perfect option - a break away but only a short drive.... The loction is second to none - what a view over the lake surrounded by the beautiful golf course. The rooms were huge and so comfortable - great bathrooms too. Had dinner and it was delicious. The staff were really lovely - genuinely friendly and hospitable. Wedding on that night in the ball room which is above the dining room - wonderful location for a wedding but the good thing for us not being guests was that it did not impinge on our stay at all - sound proofing obviously a good investment as we heard nothing all night! Highly recommend the hotel - I'm not a golfer but if I were I am sure I would have been delighted to have found this hotel and golfing resort. We'll be back...

Room Tip: New wing rooms - further from main hotel but views are terrific
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary1Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonCountryHouse, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

Dear Mary1Dublin,
Thank you so much for your review and we are delighted that you chose us for your Short Break and that you had a great time. I have passed your review on to all the staff and that greatly appreciate the positive feedback, it makes all the hard work worthwhile.

Hopefully we will be welcoming you back to Glasson again in the near future and thank you once again for your review.

Kindest Regards
Fidelma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews