We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Midweek short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Midweek short break”
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Wonderful 2 days in the heart of Ireland. My wife and I spent have just spent a couple of days "chilling out" in this spectacularly located hotel, set on the shores of Lough Ree . Enjoyed playing a round of golf on one of the most scenic parkland courses in the country. An ideal location for walking with many forest/woodland/lakeshore trails to explore.
Hotel facilities excellent particularly bedrooms with views over the lake. Staff most helpful and informative.

Room Tip: Lakeside view rooms strongly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Itchyfeet43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonCountryHouse, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 26 October 2012
Dear Itchyfeet43,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor for us and we are delighted that you had time to "Chill Out" in Glasson for a midweek break. Our Lakeside location is amazing and is a huge bonus for our guests and compliments the amazing facilities and great staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to Glasson and thank you once again for your feedback.
Regards
Fidelma Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    459
    109
    22
    7
    7
See reviews for
141
213
6
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carrickmacross, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We stayed here at the beginning of September 1 night bed and breakfast with dinner to celebrate our wedding anniversary. As per usual the welcome we received was warm and friendly and the staff went out of our way to make our stay as nice as possible. Room was fab with an amazing view. Dinner was fantastic, myself and my husband enjoyed every course - it's a great testament to a good restaurant that the food is consistently good. We had breakfast in bed the next morning and couldn't fault it everything was lovely and set us up for a long drive home. I will go back to this hotel time and time again based on the food, service and spectacular views!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonCountryHouse, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 26 October 2012
Dear LisaD,
I am delighted to hear the you had a relaxing romantic break with us here at Glasson Country House Hotel. Thank you for the high praise for our quality of food, our chefs are delighted with your comments as are the rest of the Glasson Team. We look forward to welcoming you back again to Glasson and thank you again for your review.
Regards
Fidelma Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Just back from an amazing overnight break to Glasson country house & golf resort with my two best friends First class venue for a golf break. The rooms were fantastic, beds comfortable staff very helpful and a super golf course. Views from all the holes are breath taking. We will be back... With more friends. Special thanks to Gareth who helped us with all the organisation.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank floella54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonCountryHouse, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 26 October 2012
Dear floella54,
We are delighted that you and your friends had an amazing stay with us and that you got to enjoy a great game of golf and the amazing lake views. I have passed you comments on to the Glasson Team and we all look forward to welcoming you and more friends back in the future.

Regards
Fidelma Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights last weekend, Everything was excellent i.e. Hotel, golf course, accommodation, staff and food. A special mention to Colm in the bar, its rare to find someone of his caliber behind the bar these days!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonCountryHouse, Manager at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 26 October 2012
Dear NoelM,
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor and I am delighted that you had an excellent time at Glasson Country House Hotel. I have passed your compliments on to Colm who is delighted. We look forward to welcoming you back to Glasson in the future.
Regards
Fidelma Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

I used Glasson Country House Hotel for a corporate training event. Everything was excellent. Their Dillion function room is great for a spacious space to do some group work. Staff, service, food, rooms, all excellent and great value too.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Finbazorange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonCountryHouse, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 26 October 2012
Dear finbazorange,
I am delighted that you had a successful training event with us here in Glasson and that you found the Staff, service, food, rooms, all excellent and great value too. Hopefully you will be returning with your group to Glasson in the future and thank you for your business.
Regards
Fidelma Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Just returned from a very relaxing mid week break with my husband, and sister and her husband. What a wonderful hotel, staff are so friendly and nothing a problem. Beautiful surroundings and hotel food and bar excellent will definitely be returning soon. Boys played golf too which they really enjoyed great course

Room Tip: all rooms great but get view of lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carmelosullivan840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonCountryHouse, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 26 October 2012
Dear Carmelosullivan840,
Thank you for taking the time to review us on facebook and we are delighted that you and your husband had an enjoyable stay in Glasson and are looking forward to returning. We take great pride in the helpfullness and friendliness of all our staff, they are our biggest asset.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Glasson and thank you again for your comments.

Regards
Fidelma Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2012

I brought a group of 13 people inl late august you can guess the weather was not great but the trip was great due to the facilities ,food,and the hospitality provided by the owners and staff at the hotel the friendleness reminded me of ireland way before the celtic tiger .The golf course was one of the best i have played and i have taken this group to a lot of places in ireland..i would recomend to all golfers.

Room Tip: we were upgraded to double rooms with view of the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 794ken_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonCountryHouse, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 26 October 2012
Dear 749Ken_c
We are delighted that your group all had a great stay with us despite the weather, and it is great to hear how are friendly staff and great facilities can compensate for inclement weather. The course staff have worked hard all year maintaining the high standard on the Golf Course and I have passed on your compliments to them so they know what a great job they do.

Hopefully we will be welcoming your group back to Glasson again soon and thank you again for your feedback.

Regards
Fidelma Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
3.9 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,844 reviews
1.0 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
1,034 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
5.4 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
903 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club

Property: Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Address: Glasson, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Athlone
#1 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#1 Business Hotel in Athlone
#3 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glasson Country House Hotel and Golf Club is a 4 star lakeside golf hotel located close to Athlone in County Westmeath. All of our guests experience the warmth of the Glasson welcome, super spacious Bedrooms & public areas to relax and unwind in, superb food in our New Killinure Restaurant and Lakeside Bar with panoramic Lakeside Views. For our Guests it is the perfect hotel for business, leisure or your big wedding day. With the addition of a spectacular New Bar, Restaurant & Banqueting suite in May 2010 taking full advantage of the amazing Lake Views you can relax and unwind in comfort. Our Four Star Hotel & Championship Golf Course have been designed with the discerning hotel guest in mind. Situated just outside the quaint village of Glasson (Goldsmiths 'village of the roses') in Midlands Ireland and nestled on the tranquil shores of Lough Ree, this family-run Country House Hotel is the ideal get-away for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Superbreak UK, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasson Country House Hotel And Golf Club
Glasson Hotel Athlone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing