We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total Relaxation!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Mullingar
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Total Relaxation!”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Just spent a fab night in Glasson Country House. It felt like we were away for ages!
We had a beautiful suite overlooking the Golf Course and Lake.
It was so nice to just check in and relax in your beautiful Hotel.
The atmosphere, the staff and the food was all just lovely.
We feel v. chilled out and look forward to returning soon again.

Mank thanks, Neil and Clodagh.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clodagh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonCountryHouse, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear ClodaghF,
It is great to hear that your Glasson Experience was Total Relaxation, we look forward to welcoming you back to Glasson again for a chilled out break. I have passed your review on to all the Glasson Team, who appreciate all feedback.

Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest Regards
Fidelma Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    459
    108
    22
    7
    7
See reviews for
140
213
6
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Attended family wedding in your hotel recently.From the moment we arrived we were looked after so well.The staff made sure our every need was catered for.
The food was fantastic and was served very efficiently.Some family members required gluten free food and this was catered for with no fuss.
Rooms were top class and very spacious.Would recommend this hotel very highly.
A and F.

Room Tip: A lake view would be lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank midget-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonCountryHouse, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear midget-7,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and I am delighted to hear that we were able to look after you during your stay. It is great to hear that the food was fantastic. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Glasson in the future and thank you once again for your review.
Kindest Regards
Fidelma Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We celebrated our wedding here in November. From first meeting until the moment we left, the service was second to none. There was nothing too big or too small for the team. The thing that I think makes The Glasson Golf Hotel stand out is that it has a family feel about it and every time you visit it's the same staff who are so friendly and go out of their way to help. It is a beautiful venue for a wedding and the food is fantastic and layout of the function room is perfect for a large or small group and a live band. There is nothing I could fault, the only regret is that the day goes by too quickly. Thanks to all in the Hotel for making our day go so smoothly, Glasson will always have a special place in our hearts.
Carmel & Eamonn (3rd November)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swtcarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonCountryHouse, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear Swtcarm,
It is wonderful to read your feedback and it is great to hear that we helped with your planning and the smooth running of your day. I have passed on your comments to all the Glasson team, so that they are aware of how much their efforts are appreciated. Thank you for your review and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Glasson Country House Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Fidelma Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 February 2013 via mobile

From the first day we met the staff, from booking to planning to our wedding day itself, our experience has been outstanding. The team at Glasson couldn't have done more for us. The only thing we are sad about is that the day is over, if we were to do it all again we couldn't think of a single thing to improve upon. Thank you so much for your attention to detail, your welcoming nature and your impeccable service. Heidi & Eoin

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Heidi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonCountryHouse, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear Heidic,
Thank you so much for your glowing review about your Glasson Wedding Experience, we are very proud of our team whose warm welcome and attention to detail added to your special day. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Glasson many more times in the future. Thank you once again for your review.
Kindest Regards
Fidelma Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Was there for a do over the weekend. I got a room with a great view overlooking the lake. Room was spacious and comfortable. The meal was great - and staff were courteous and efficient (clearing and serving the meal for over 220 people!). Would recommend - will be definately returning next year.

Room Tip: try get a view of the lake - looks great at sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonCountryHouse, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear MaryR,
Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor, we are delighted that you enjoyed our great location and service. I have passed your comments on to all the Glasson Team to let them know that their efforts are appreciated. Thank you again for your feedback and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Glasson in the near future.
Kind Regards
Cathriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

For the last few years our family have celebrated our elderly mothers birthday in west of Ireland hotels.This year we selected Glasson and we were extremely impressed by the quailty of food, friendliness & efficiency of staff, quality of accomodation etc.
We arrived on a wet windy Sat eve. to be greeted in the hotel reception by friendly reception staff and a warm turf fire.
We were also very impressed by the presence of the owners Mr & Mrs Tom Reid, who were more than anxious that we all had an enjoyable stay.
We stayed in a room overlooking the lake.We awoke next morning with a ball of red sun shining in the window.It seemed like a scene from the Indian Ocean, until you stepped outside to the cold wind blowing in off the lake.
There is a beautiful golf course attached to this hotel as well and well worth playing.I have played here a number of times. It was so cold on one occasion that Tom Ried plied the players down by the lakeside with hot whisky personally served from a golf buggy .Where would you find a more thoughtful example of customer service.
These are the friendly family touches attaching to this venue, which make it extra special.
We were so pleased that we booked the 2014 birthday celebration on the night.
Don't miss out on this gem of a hotel and golf course.
Book now.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking lake is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bkcdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonCountryHouse, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear bkcdubin,
We are delighted that you and your family had a wonderful birthday celebration and the Glasson Family were able to look after all your needs during your stay. Tom & Breda, the owners, always try to ensure that all our guests feel at home and are offered the best service possible. We are all looking forward to welcoming you and your family back in 2014 and thank you for your feedback, it is great to hear from our guests.

See you all next year.

Regards
Fidelma Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Elsinore, California
Level Contributor
127 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Nice hotel, located on beautiful grounds and manicured golf course. We are not golfers but enjoyed this hotel. Reception staff was very helpful with information and maps. Our room had a nice view of the river and golf course. Very pretty room and very modern and clean bathroom.Breakfast included was plentiful and delicious. One night we ate at the bar area, very good. Nice staff. Second night we ate in the dining room. Food was very good and staff attentive. We booked the hotel and dinner package. Glad that we did.
This location is not in town. Easy to find.
Wifi in room. Parking was easy and close to hotel.
Location of this hotel was an easy drive to Athlone, where we took the viking river cruise. Which was fun.
We would recommend this hotel whether you play golf or not.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the river and golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisyCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonCountryHouse, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
Dear daisyCalifornia,
It was great to read your review and so nice to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and got the opportunity also to explore the Lakesland Region which has so much to offer tourist. I have passed your comments on to Michael who runs the Viking Cruises also and he is delighted, he does an amazing job, great cruise. The chefs are delighted that you enjoyed the Food in the Hotel and it is great to know that our girls at reception were able to assist you with your plans and sight seeing.

Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Glasson at some stage in the future.

Kindest Regards
Fidelma Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
3.9 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,822 reviews
1.0 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
4.0 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
5.4 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club

Property: Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Address: Glasson, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Athlone
#1 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#1 Family Hotel in Athlone
#3 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glasson Country House Hotel and Golf Club is a 4 star lakeside golf hotel located close to Athlone in County Westmeath. All of our guests experience the warmth of the Glasson welcome, super spacious Bedrooms & public areas to relax and unwind in, superb food in our New Killinure Restaurant and Lakeside Bar with panoramic Lakeside Views. For our Guests it is the perfect hotel for business, leisure or your big wedding day. With the addition of a spectacular New Bar, Restaurant & Banqueting suite in May 2010 taking full advantage of the amazing Lake Views you can relax and unwind in comfort. Our Four Star Hotel & Championship Golf Course have been designed with the discerning hotel guest in mind. Situated just outside the quaint village of Glasson (Goldsmiths 'village of the roses') in Midlands Ireland and nestled on the tranquil shores of Lough Ree, this family-run Country House Hotel is the ideal get-away for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasson Country House Hotel And Golf Club
Glasson Hotel Athlone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing