We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let Down by the Veggies!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Let Down by the Veggies!”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

This is an excellent Hotel and Golf Course. My wife and I played the course yesterday and really enjoyed the golf. The course is a great challenge with the rough well cut back. The management obviously want to keep the players moving along.
The changing rooms are slightly odd in our view as they share toilet facilities with the public bar. At dinner our steaks were very good but we were surprised that the veggies were rather plain and seemed to our mind to have been delivered pre packed to the hotel. They were a long way fresh. We were asked by the receptionist if everything was ok with our meal and when we offered this opinion she seemed to be taken aback and rather abruptly said she would inform chef. In my view the chef knows full well that his veggies are below the standard one might expect at a four star venue. Deserts were also out of a freezer and were not made in house. A lot of convenience in the kitchen and I would expect a better effort from a four star venue. Joe

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    459
    109
    22
    7
    7
See reviews for
141
213
6
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Arrived on a very busy Saturday morning and apart from the smiling friendly welcome we were very pleased to find that our room was ready, so we had time to check in before playing golf just after noon. Later the place was hopping, with lots of golfers, a wedding party and a big crowd watching the Heineken Cup rugby semi-final. Service in the bars was excellent despite the crowds. then on to our room, which was first rate; spotless, clean linen, loads of space and a view to die for!! we were attending a special family reunion and the food and service were second to none. Cannot recommend to highly.
Noel and Pauline from Dublin

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonCountryHouse, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Noel G
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. We are delighted to read your stay was enjoyable. We were pleased to hear that the service and the food was excellent even though the place was "hopping". We will pass your kind comments on to the staff. It was a pleasure to welcome you to Glasson and we hope we get the opportunity again.
Kind regards
Fidelma Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

My partner and I have just returned from ten days looking for a golf hotel for a golf society holiday. The Glasson wins hands down over the other places we stayed in. Breathtaking surroundings, with views you can't put a price on; the Lough is just beautiful and farmed by huge windows both from the bar and restaurant but also from our beautiful room.
We loved the hospitality, the food was superb whether in the bar or the very comfortable restaurant. Breakfast set us up for the day and was the best we'd had anywhere on our travels over the years.
And the jewel in the crown was the golf course!
Don't hesitate if you're thinking of booking a stay. You'll love it! We'll be going back very soon - with or without the golf society!

Room Tip: Well worth asking for a lake view room - sunset is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roobee99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonCountryHouse, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear RooBee99,
Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful location. We would be delighted to welcome you and your golf society to our hotel for the Glasson experience. Thank you for your feedback regarding the food and hospitality as our team always strive to make each guests visit enjoyable. We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Fidelma Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

The first thing I noticed was the smiles on the faces of the reception staff. We checked in without a hitch. We were attending a wedding reception with our 4 month old daughter so requested a quiet room. We were very happy with what we got. Room 122 at the end of the corridor, opposite side of the hotel to the wedding celebrations. Travel cot supplied by the hotel was already in place, fresh linen provided, including spare sheet for baby mishaps.
I stayed in the room with my child while my wife celebrated with her friends. She asked for my dinner to be sent to the room and without any fuss, it arrived hot.

Breakfast was great, buffet but willing to do poached/fried eggs etc if you wanted, plenty of fresh fruit and yoghurt. The dining room has magnificent views over Lough Ree and the first nine holes of the on site golf course designed by Christy OConnor junior.

The hotel is a bit out of town, you would need a car and Athlone is the nearest big town, about 15 minutes driving. So, if you want a spot to be away from it all, this will do, if you want a spot to be driving distance from everywhere in Ireland, this will also do.

I'll be heading back, this time with my golf clubs in the boot of the car.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. The Lake is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonCountryHouse, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Jeditraining
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and your kind comments. We are delighted that we could make your stay enjoyable. We are very proud of our team who are an asset to our hotel and have passed on your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you again to Glasson to play a round of golf and to experience the Glasson hospitality.
Kind regards
Fidelma Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westmeath
Level Contributor
140 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Stayed overnight for a wedding on april1st brave day to marry!! and found the hotel and surrounds of a really good standard the golf course is a gem with breathtaking views over the lake .Bedrooms and beds were really good and the breakfast was the best i have ever had and even included baked beans which was a result as my pet hate with hotels who strive to be exclusive and posh is their reluctance to have baked beans on the breakfast menu. Glasson hotel proves you can be classy posh brilliant and still have beans with your breakfast well done will certainly return and recommend .If i was to be picky a swimming pool/leisure centre and maybe an outdoor hot tub would turn this really good hotel into heaven.!! The food and service at the wedding was also as the title suggests top class.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soviet8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonCountryHouse, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear soviet8,
Thank you for your glowing review. We are delighted you enjoyed your experience in our hotel. We are very proud of our team who are always striving to make everyone's experience a truely enjoyable one. We always welcome suggestions on how to improve the hotel and regularly discuss them at our manager's meetings. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Glasson sometime in the future.
Kind regards
Fidelma Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We had our wedding here in February 2013 and it was fantastic. With a stunning location looking out over the lake, the views are maximised with huge windows in both the bar/restaurant areas and the function room. The staff are all very friendly, professional and helpful. In the lead up to the day and on the day itself they couldn't do enough for us and our guests. The food was delicious and plentiful, the wine also! Everything was just perfect and we wouldn't change a thing. The village of Glasson is a short taxi trip away with some lovely pubs and great food, for a nice change of scenery. Many of our guests loved the venue so much that they said they'd go back for a weekend - a few commented that it was "a hidden gem". I know we'll be back!

Room Tip: The views from lake view rooms are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DubTraveller2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonCountryHouse, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear DubTraveller2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted and honoured we could help you with the planning and smooth running of your special day. We are very proud of our team here in Glasson and have passed your kind comments on to them. We hope we will have another opportunity to welcoming you back to experience the "hidden gem" of Glasson.
Kind regards
Fidelma Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I brought my parents to Glasson Golf for Sunday lunch recently. Our table was looking out to the lake. I thought the surroundings were absolutely magnificent but I was very impressed at the welcome and attention we got from our server. At a time when many places don't seem to care about their customers she was superb. The food was good too. I think we ended up being there for well over two hours and left well fed and relaxed. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColmDAthlone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonCountryHouse, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear ColmDAthlone,
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback and we are delighted to hear that you and your parents enjoyed your Sunday lunch and service. We have passed on your comments to all of our team. Your positive feedback means so much to us.
Kind regards
Fidelma Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
3.9 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,849 reviews
1.0 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
1,036 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
5.4 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
905 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club

Property: Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Address: Glasson, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#1 Business Hotel in Athlone
#1 Family Hotel in Athlone
#3 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glasson Country House Hotel and Golf Club is a 4 star lakeside golf hotel located close to Athlone in County Westmeath. All of our guests experience the warmth of the Glasson welcome, super spacious Bedrooms & public areas to relax and unwind in, superb food in our New Killinure Restaurant and Lakeside Bar with panoramic Lakeside Views. For our Guests it is the perfect hotel for business, leisure or your big wedding day. With the addition of a spectacular New Bar, Restaurant & Banqueting suite in May 2010 taking full advantage of the amazing Lake Views you can relax and unwind in comfort. Our Four Star Hotel & Championship Golf Course have been designed with the discerning hotel guest in mind. Situated just outside the quaint village of Glasson (Goldsmiths 'village of the roses') in Midlands Ireland and nestled on the tranquil shores of Lough Ree, this family-run Country House Hotel is the ideal get-away for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Superbreak UK so you can book your Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasson Country House Hotel And Golf Club
Glasson Hotel Athlone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing