We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family run hotel and country club”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Wicklow, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent family run hotel and country club”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I have visited this place many times but have not stayed. I booked in last week with a group of customers for a small conference. The attaention we received and the help from the hotel was top class. The place is family ownwed and the minute you walk in you feel welcome. I spend a lot of time in hotel rooms but the rooms here were a class above most of them. They were clinically clean and everything worked. The location and the views are out of this world and the golf course is one of the best in Ireland. Our evening meal was also exceptionally good and enjoyed by all. It was a great feeling that you are a valued customer to the hotel and would make you want to go back again.
Any hotel that can offer you this type of welcome is because all the staff work as a team, and this was very obvious

Room Tip: Try and get a lake view room. On a sunny day they are special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonCountryHouse, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Peter L
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip advisor. We are delighted to read that everything was excellent and you found our staff friendly and helpful. Being family owned we always strive for excellence and we are priviledged to have a great team who make this possible.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in Glasson sometime in the future.
Kind regards
Fidelma Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    470
    112
    22
    7
    8
See reviews for
145
221
6
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We got married here on 2nd April 2013 & owe huge thanks to all the staff & management for making our dreams come true... They even got the sun to shine!!! Fidelma, Gareth & Niall were so attentive during the preparation stages with prompt responses to any queries we had & nothing we suggested or requested raised a brow! We had family & friends staying for a few days around the wedding day & everyone was so happy with their spacious rooms, the complimentary upgrades, the fab views of the lake, the friendly reception staff, babysitters etc all getting special mention in the feedback...(See Jeditraining review for one of our guests perspectives!!) A special thanks to the girls on reception Julie & Marie who welcomed some guests who arrived later in the evening just before dinner - you really put them at ease, and the offer of bringing them a drink to the room while they freshened up & got ready was much appreciated!! Also Julie, thanks for all the offers of tea or drinks while I was chatting to guests the day after the wedding in reception, for booking the restaurant, bus etc for our evening plans on Day 2 too!! On the wedding day our guests enjoyed a lovely 'drinks reception' in the bright & airy bar area, looking out on fabulous views of the lake & golf course. Thanks to Niall for taking us down to the lake for some fab wedding pics too! Our wedding meal got so many compliments - great quality beef & fish, tasty starters & soup & of course scrumptious plentiful dessert.... And even the 'seconds' were sampled by a few! The wine was flowing & everyone had a fantastic meal - complimented by sunset over the lake from the stunning glass to ceiling first floor reception room! The dancing & late bar were enjoyed by all.... hassle free hospitality! My husband & some friends enjoyed the stunning golf course & scenery with complimentary pre & post wedding tee-offs & 'playing Glasson' was a great experience enjoyed by young & old! Day 2 was so chilled, after the fab buffet breakfast more refreshments were enjoyed in reception & lunch & drinks were sampled in the bar later in the day! What can we say except 'Thank You'! Also thanks to Tom (the boss) for giving my niece & nephew a little spin in the golf buggy before we left the hotel, a lovely touch! To all the staff at Glasson Country House & Golf Club - we highly recommend you to couples considering this venue for their wedding, go with it, best decision we made! Everything was 100%.. we noticed... our guests noticed & nobody could find a fault! We look forward to seeing you for our one year anniversary, if not before.... Thanks for everything, Ger & Darren McCabe

Room Tip: Lakes views are the icing on the cake!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Germcq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonCountryHouse, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Germcq,
Thank you very much for your wonderful review and delighted we could be part of your special day. We are very proud of our team whose warm welcome and attention to detail added to your day. We have passed on your kind comments to all the team. We delighted to hear you and all your guests had a very enjoyable stay and we hope to have the opportunity in the future to give you another warm Glasson welcome.
Kind regards
Fidelma Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

This is an excellent Hotel and Golf Course. My wife and I played the course yesterday and really enjoyed the golf. The course is a great challenge with the rough well cut back. The management obviously want to keep the players moving along.
The changing rooms are slightly odd in our view as they share toilet facilities with the public bar. At dinner our steaks were very good but we were surprised that the veggies were rather plain and seemed to our mind to have been delivered pre packed to the hotel. They were a long way fresh. We were asked by the receptionist if everything was ok with our meal and when we offered this opinion she seemed to be taken aback and rather abruptly said she would inform chef. In my view the chef knows full well that his veggies are below the standard one might expect at a four star venue. Deserts were also out of a freezer and were not made in house. A lot of convenience in the kitchen and I would expect a better effort from a four star venue. Joe

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Arrived on a very busy Saturday morning and apart from the smiling friendly welcome we were very pleased to find that our room was ready, so we had time to check in before playing golf just after noon. Later the place was hopping, with lots of golfers, a wedding party and a big crowd watching the Heineken Cup rugby semi-final. Service in the bars was excellent despite the crowds. then on to our room, which was first rate; spotless, clean linen, loads of space and a view to die for!! we were attending a special family reunion and the food and service were second to none. Cannot recommend to highly.
Noel and Pauline from Dublin

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonCountryHouse, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Noel G
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. We are delighted to read your stay was enjoyable. We were pleased to hear that the service and the food was excellent even though the place was "hopping". We will pass your kind comments on to the staff. It was a pleasure to welcome you to Glasson and we hope we get the opportunity again.
Kind regards
Fidelma Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

My partner and I have just returned from ten days looking for a golf hotel for a golf society holiday. The Glasson wins hands down over the other places we stayed in. Breathtaking surroundings, with views you can't put a price on; the Lough is just beautiful and farmed by huge windows both from the bar and restaurant but also from our beautiful room.
We loved the hospitality, the food was superb whether in the bar or the very comfortable restaurant. Breakfast set us up for the day and was the best we'd had anywhere on our travels over the years.
And the jewel in the crown was the golf course!
Don't hesitate if you're thinking of booking a stay. You'll love it! We'll be going back very soon - with or without the golf society!

Room Tip: Well worth asking for a lake view room - sunset is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roobee99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonCountryHouse, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear RooBee99,
Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful location. We would be delighted to welcome you and your golf society to our hotel for the Glasson experience. Thank you for your feedback regarding the food and hospitality as our team always strive to make each guests visit enjoyable. We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Fidelma Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

The first thing I noticed was the smiles on the faces of the reception staff. We checked in without a hitch. We were attending a wedding reception with our 4 month old daughter so requested a quiet room. We were very happy with what we got. Room 122 at the end of the corridor, opposite side of the hotel to the wedding celebrations. Travel cot supplied by the hotel was already in place, fresh linen provided, including spare sheet for baby mishaps.
I stayed in the room with my child while my wife celebrated with her friends. She asked for my dinner to be sent to the room and without any fuss, it arrived hot.

Breakfast was great, buffet but willing to do poached/fried eggs etc if you wanted, plenty of fresh fruit and yoghurt. The dining room has magnificent views over Lough Ree and the first nine holes of the on site golf course designed by Christy OConnor junior.

The hotel is a bit out of town, you would need a car and Athlone is the nearest big town, about 15 minutes driving. So, if you want a spot to be away from it all, this will do, if you want a spot to be driving distance from everywhere in Ireland, this will also do.

I'll be heading back, this time with my golf clubs in the boot of the car.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. The Lake is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonCountryHouse, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Jeditraining
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and your kind comments. We are delighted that we could make your stay enjoyable. We are very proud of our team who are an asset to our hotel and have passed on your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you again to Glasson to play a round of golf and to experience the Glasson hospitality.
Kind regards
Fidelma Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westmeath
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Stayed overnight for a wedding on april1st brave day to marry!! and found the hotel and surrounds of a really good standard the golf course is a gem with breathtaking views over the lake .Bedrooms and beds were really good and the breakfast was the best i have ever had and even included baked beans which was a result as my pet hate with hotels who strive to be exclusive and posh is their reluctance to have baked beans on the breakfast menu. Glasson hotel proves you can be classy posh brilliant and still have beans with your breakfast well done will certainly return and recommend .If i was to be picky a swimming pool/leisure centre and maybe an outdoor hot tub would turn this really good hotel into heaven.!! The food and service at the wedding was also as the title suggests top class.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soviet8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonCountryHouse, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear soviet8,
Thank you for your glowing review. We are delighted you enjoyed your experience in our hotel. We are very proud of our team who are always striving to make everyone's experience a truely enjoyable one. We always welcome suggestions on how to improve the hotel and regularly discuss them at our manager's meetings. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Glasson sometime in the future.
Kind regards
Fidelma Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
3.9 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,917 reviews
1.0 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
1,064 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
5.4 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
932 reviews
4.3 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club

Property: Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Address: Glasson, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Athlone
#1 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#1 Business Hotel in Athlone
#3 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glasson Country House Hotel and Golf Club is a 4 star lakeside golf hotel located close to Athlone in County Westmeath. All of our guests experience the warmth of the Glasson welcome, super spacious Bedrooms & public areas to relax and unwind in, superb food in our New Killinure Restaurant and Lakeside Bar with panoramic Lakeside Views. For our Guests it is the perfect hotel for business, leisure or your big wedding day. With the addition of a spectacular New Bar, Restaurant & Banqueting suite in May 2010 taking full advantage of the amazing Lake Views you can relax and unwind in comfort. Our Four Star Hotel & Championship Golf Course have been designed with the discerning hotel guest in mind. Situated just outside the quaint village of Glasson (Goldsmiths 'village of the roses') in Midlands Ireland and nestled on the tranquil shores of Lough Ree, this family-run Country House Hotel is the ideal get-away for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasson Country House Hotel And Golf Club
Glasson Hotel Athlone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing