We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel, excellent staff and attention to detail.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Stayed in this hotel recently.Cannot fault the hotel at all, from Niall the duty manager, the reception girls and bar staff all were very welcoming and could not be more helpful or friendly. The views around the hotel were amazing and not too far from Athlone town which is an added bonus. Would highly recommend this hotel to anybody, have booked to come back here after Xmas, can't wait!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank siobhan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonCountryHouse, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear fiFiona1,
I am so delighted to read that you found Glasson to be a Wonderful Hotel with Excellent Staff and attention to detail. I have passed your comments on to all the Glasson Team to ensure that they are aware how much we the owners and our guests appreciate the effort they put in everyday to ensure everyone is made to feel welcome and valued at Glasson.
Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Glasson in the near future and thank you again for sharing your Glasson Experience.
Kind Regards
Fidelma Reid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (628)
There are newer reviews for Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

397 - 403 of 628 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2013

My Mother and daughter are staying there now, My mother was ill and I tried to phone my daughter in her room, They where expecting my call from USA even though it was late. They could not transfer the call! The Night Porter Tom did a fantastic job and literally carried the cordless phone to their room. However when he asked the duty manager Niall Flynn to assist him, he said "tell him its five to one in the morning and phone back" with music blaring in the background, he did not hear me on the phone. This is unacceptable in any hotel let alone a four star hotel. Niall Flynn let the side down and needs to be sent on a training course on how to speak to customers and staff. Very disappointing

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
9  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonCountryHouse, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Dear MichaelH,
We have tried but have been unable to contact you personally. Thank you for your comments. It is unfortunate that you did not get the opportunity to speak to our manager, as you only picked up on part of the conversation. Our Manager moved with the phone to a quiet spot in order to talk to you but couldn’t hear you at the other end. Our Manager, dispatched our Night Porter to your mum’s room with the cordless phone, and immediately arranged for two key members of staff to visit with your mum and daughter; they actually stayed in her room for quite some time, to make sure she was okay. On check out both your mother and daughter were extremely happy with the service they received over the weekend, and were grateful for the assistance given to them. We fully understand your concern, but we believe that if you check with your mother and daughter they will give a positive view of their experience here at Glasson. We have 100 % faith in our Manager who has proven himself time and time again to be most conscientious, experienced and an extremely caring individual.

Very Concerned Owners of Glasson Country House
Tom, Breda and Fidelma Reid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

The championship Golf course is top notch and is set up for all standards based in which tee box you use. The staff are very attentive and friendly at the hotel and reception. There is excellent views of the lakes and the river Shannon. The accommodation is excellent value with great views, i would highly recommend this hotel and country club for a holiday or a break.

Thank you to everyone at Glasson for the hospitality you gave me, thank you Jim

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandraussher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonCountryHouse, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear Sandraussher,
I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Glasson and I have passed your feedback on to all the Glasson Team. Everyone here works very hard to maintain a high standard or product and service. I was particularly delighted to be able to pass your feedback onto our tireless course staff who work so hard in all weather conditions to maintain a top class Golf Course, we are very proud of them.
It is wonderful to hear that you will be recommending us to friends and hopefully we will be welcoming you back in the near future also. Thank you once again for sharing your " Glasson Experience".
Kind Regards
Cathriona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We attended a wedding at the hotel very recently, we only stayed for one night but I certainly would like to return to stay here at another time.I was impressed with everything. It is a lovely hotel in a most beautiful location. The staff were so helpful and very friendly. I have dietary requirements and this was catered for without any fuss at all times. The wedding breakfast was one of the best I have ever had, and, the service was excellent.
Our room was very spacious and bright, and the bathroom really well done, perfect lighting, and mirrors and all spotless.
We met the owner, a lovely gentleman, who gave us the history of the place,it was very interesting. I do hope I will get a chance to stay there again and also to explore Glasson .
The Kilkee Girls

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DnDIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonCountryHouse, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear DnDIreland,
Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your Glasson Experience, it is always great to hear about how helpful & friendly the Glasson Team are, they are our greatest asset without whose effort we would not be able to maintain our Family Run Business.
I have passed your comments on to Tom, my father, and he is delighted that he was able to fill you in on all the History of Glasson, his family Home.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Glasson in the near future and once again thank you for your kind words.
Kind Regards
Fidelma Reid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed for two nights while attending a party locally, and really enjoyed our stay. The staff were very friendly from the moment we arrived until the moment we left, and were very helpful. There was a Wedding on one day, but the staff coped extremely well and were very efficient in the bar. We only had breakfast in the hotel and it was very good typical Irish breakfast. Bedroom was very nice and comfortable, with great views over the golf course and lake. The bedroom and bathroom were very clean.
We played golf one day and the course was in great condition and very well maintained. It is a good test of golf for nearly all level of player. Greens were in particularly good condition. The location is beautiful with nice country walks. Local village of Glasson is very pretty with lovely pubs for a quiet drink. Good restaurants also in the area. If you want to relax it is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: We would advise asking for a room with a view of the lake.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ciaran R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonCountryHouse, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear CiaranR,
Thank you for your feedback and I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are always very conscious of taking care of all of our guests during their stay. We have allot of different events on in the Hotel and it is crucial that everyone's stay is what they expect and they are not disturbed by other events in the Hotel. I am delighted that you were made to feel welcome throughout your stay.
The Green Keepers were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your Golf and were impressed with their maintenance. They work very hard all year to keep the course in top class condition.
Thank you again for haring your Glasson Experience with us and hopefully we will be welcoming you back to Glasson in the near future.
Kind Regards
Fidelma Reid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Stayed here recently for 2 nights for a family wedding. The hotel is very bright and has a homely feel with fantastic views. You could happily sit outside for the day looking on to the golf course.

Had a deluxe room which was bigger than normal.
I stayed in the hotel on a saturday and sunday night, same key staff were around for both days which I really like in a hotel. All the staff were friendly and professional.

Glasson village is less than 10mins drive away and the reception staff were happy to call us taxis when we needed them.

For such a big hotel, it has a family run small feel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niamh3699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonCountryHouse, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear Niamh3699,
We are delighted with your feed back and that you found us to have " Great Staff & Location", they are two key elements for our customers. The most important to us being ho well our staff take care of you during your stay. As a family run Hotel we always try to ensure that everyone is made to feel at home and enjoy their Glasson Experience.

Hopefully we will be welcoming you back to Glasson on another occasion and thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards
Fidelma Reid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Two of us stayed for 3 days and had a really nice time. Our room, and its bathroom, were spacious, and we had a lovely view of the green and the water beyond. The staff, including the owner, his daughter and son-in-law, were extremely pleasant. We had one snack and one 4-course meal which were very good. We felt also that the breakfasts - the content of which were the same as most hotel breakfasts - were very well cooked and tasty.
You get a feeling of space inside and outside the hotel. The views are beautiful.
The area, Glasson, is very pretty and has a number of great restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank F M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonCountryHouse, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Dear FM,
Thank you for sharing your Glasson Experience with us and I am delighted that you got to meet myself and my family during your stay, as a family run Hotel it is really important for us to meet and greet our Guests. The feeling of space in both the Bedrooms and Hotel itself, is a great asset also, allowing guests to really relax during there stay with us.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and hopefully we can welcome you back to Glasson again soon.

Kind Regards
Cathriona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
3.9 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,941 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,135 reviews
1.0 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
5.4 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
941 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club

Address: Glasson, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#1 Family Hotel in Athlone
#1 Business Hotel in Athlone
#3 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
Price Range: £99 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glasson Country House Hotel and Golf Club is a 4 star lakeside golf hotel located close to Athlone in County Westmeath. All of our guests experience the warmth of the Glasson welcome, super spacious Bedrooms & public areas to relax and unwind in, superb food in our New Killinure Restaurant and Lakeside Bar with panoramic Lakeside Views. For our Guests it is the perfect hotel for business, leisure or your big wedding day. With the addition of a spectacular New Bar, Restaurant & Banqueting suite in May 2010 taking full advantage of the amazing Lake Views you can relax and unwind in comfort. Our Four Star Hotel & Championship Golf Course have been designed with the discerning hotel guest in mind. Situated just outside the quaint village of Glasson (Goldsmiths 'village of the roses') in Midlands Ireland and nestled on the tranquil shores of Lough Ree, this family-run Country House Hotel is the ideal get-away for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasson Country House Hotel And Golf Club
Glasson Hotel Athlone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing