We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Nearby Hotels
Arch House B&B & Apartments(Athlone)(Great Value!)
US$233
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$227
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone(Athlone)(Great Value!)
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone(Athlone)(Great Value!)
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Athlone Springs Hotel(Athlone)(Great Value!)
US$150
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Prince of Wales Hotel(Athlone)(Great Value!)
US$111
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (659)
Filter reviews
659 results
Traveller rating
505
116
22
8
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
505
116
22
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf courseround of golfgolf tripwedding venueperfect venuea family run hotelgreat golfwedding receptionamazing weddinglough reebeautiful settingtop classwonderful hotelfrom start to finishwedding guestswould highly recommend this hotelsecond to none
Filter
Updating list...
408 - 413 of 659 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on Wednesday 4th Sept and two rounds of golf,everything went so smooth thanks to the wonderful Cathriona for sorting things out for us.
Our room overlooked Lough Ree,thought I was in Heaven,pure class.
Thanks to the green keepers for the immaculate conditation of the golf course,also thanks to the catering staff for a first class meal on Wednesday night.
We shall return
Omagh Lads.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theneats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonCountryHouse, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Dear Theneats,
It was delighted to read about your Glasson Experience and it is great to know that Cathriona and all the Glasson Team looked after you so well during your stay. I passed on your review to our amazing green keepers also and they are delighted with the compliments.
Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcome you and your fellow Omagh Lads back to Glasson in the near future.
Kind Regards
Fidelma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We had a 2 day golfing society stay with sunshine an added bonus .
We were individually spoken to by the hotel manager over the course of the 2 days as whether we were enjoying the hotel ,the craic and the course .
Meals were fantastic with the manager adding wine to the table along with the kitchen baking a birthday cake at short notice for guys within our party .
The course itself was testing with the signature par 3 hole gifting an extra 12+ balls into Lough Ree.
Sunshine was the biggest bonus with the enjoyment of having a libation/s outside absorbing the views of Lough Ree ...

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mealiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonCountryHouse, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear Mealiff,
Thank you for sharing your Glasson Experience with us and I am delighted to hear that everything was "First Class". The Sunshine this year has been a real bonus, what a great Summer we have had. We try our very best to ensure that all our guests are given the Warm Glasson Welcome and are made to feel at home.
Rest assured the 15th Hole is the graveyard for many a Golf Ball but it is always a pleasure to play, delighted to know that you all enjoyed the Golf also.
Hopefully we will be welcoming you and your society back in the near future and thank you again for sharing your Glasson Experience.
Kind Regards
Fidelma Reid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed here as a wedding guest in August. Setting on the lake is fab. Service was good and rooms were huge and tastefully decorated with ultra modern bathrooms. Breakfast was buffet style with plenty left even at the minute! Overall, an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonCountryHouse, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear MissJen,
Thank you for taking the time to share your Glasson Experience and I am glad that you had an enjoyable stay. I hope you had a great day at the wedding. The Lakeside Location is great for weddings lots of photo opportunities.
Thank you again for your feedback and hopefully we will be welcoming you back to Glasson on another occasion.
Kind Regards
Fidelma Reid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Stayed overnight at this Golf and Country House overlooking Lough Ree. Fantastic room with dual aspect and spectacular views. We had a wonderful evening meal and overall was truly one of the most wonderful places I have stayed. The staff were very friendly and charming even carrying our bags for us to our car. Would highly recommend this hotel for its location, quality of rooms and delicious food plus the excellent service provided by its staff. Would love to return one day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlendaR850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonCountryHouse, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear GlendaR850,
Thank you so much for sharing your Glasson Experience with us and I am so delighted to hear that you would Highly Recommend us to other people. Our amazing staff play such a vital role in ensuring that all our guests have a wonderful Glasson Experience. We are extremely proud and lucky to have such a great team at Glasson. The amazing views and food are the icing on the cake.
Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back to Glasson in the future.
Kind Regards
Fidelma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Myself and my wife stayed here for 2 nights recently and it was a very mixed experience, bordering on poor.

On the first night, we were hoping to have a nice relaxing night and a good sleep as we were attending a wedding the next day. On arrival at about 5pm, check in was nice and quick and first impressions were good. Went to the bar for dinner and found the service ok. They seemed a little understaffed at the bar but the bar food menu was good and our meal was very nice and a decent price. Had a few drinks in bar, there was a wedding on and most of the wedding party had congregated in the bar even though there is a function room. The room was lovely but the tv is a joke, ...PLEASE invest in some modern tvs, I haven't seen tvs like this since the 90's!!. Our room was at the back of the hotel so the noise of the wedding was inescapable all night, not good or what we had in mind, the fire alarm went off at 1.30 am and the wedding noise kept me awake til around 3am so didn't get the sleep or rest we wanted. Also, someone rang our phone early in morning and hung up..all in all a bad stay and not too happy, was close to complaining, prob should have....

DAY 2: Breakfast good and the reception for the wedding very good, function room nice and food decent, they should have a larger smoking area upstairs and it should be sheltered, there is a bigger one downstairs but not practical for ppl to go up and downstairs all night and its not sheltered either, the hotel serves quite late so that's a good thing

DAY 3: Breakfast again good and had 2 experiences at check out, one was a rude lady and when I left a bag for someone to pick up at reception, she without asking, opened the bag to see what was in it?? the lady we checked out with was lovely.....

..so id say overall, a mixed bag, I think if u go for a wedding its good and if u go for a quiet break and theres a wedding on, u may not get much sleep, it seems very pricey for what it is (rooms are pricey), tvs awful and gym consists of a few treadmills in a hallway type thing...oh and another really poor aspect is the price of getting breakfast brought to room, 7.50 per person, terribly expensive and most expensive ive ever seen

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David1723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlassonCountryHouse, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear David1723,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, on your recent stay with us.

I am disappointed that you were not fully satisfied with some of your experience and we will immediately address all of your feedback and see how we can improve further on our quality of product and service.

We would like to welcome you back in the future, to truly experience our 4 star service and please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you would like to return.

Kind regards
Fidelma Reid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews