We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Donegal
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Booked as we needed a relaxing break away after the daily humdrum of work. For a family of 5 the rooms are fantastic, much needed after a 4 hour drive. WiFi great for the kids and their gadgets. Food was fine, nothing to write home about. Having spent three nights there and two evenings eating in the bar area, I don't think a member of staff engaged in a conversation with any of the
family. So I can't recommend it for a tourist to go and
expect some old fashioned Irish craic. Nice, functional but lacks the traditional Irish welcome.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwpc2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    466
    111
    22
    7
    8
See reviews for
143
218
6
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This Hotel is fantastic, we got married here a month ago. The surroundings are beautiful, the staff are friendly and very helpful. The Manager is a pleasure to deal with. Its a family run hotel and we couldn't say enough to complement our experience. Our wedding was everything we wanted , the food was fab. The rooms are very clean and spacious , the views are unreal. We are so happy we chose this venue. It was fantastic value for money. We would highly recommend this hotel from start to finish our experience was an absolute pleasure. We will definitely visit very soon and we are looking forward to it.
Janet & Thomas

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galway
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I have been in Glasson Hotel as least three times this year alone. The stunning views, quiet location, lovely décor and tasty simple food always draw me back. .It being a family-run hotel help make this hotel a little more different than your average one.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msmcgoo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I attended a wedding last week in Glasson Country House Hotel. Having been at a wedding here a few years back I was expecting much the same experience. Although the previous wedding had been extremely enjoyable this was even better. The hotel has been transformed and now takes full advantage of the absolutely beautiful surroundings. I live relatively near the hotel yet but it really feels like a world of its own. The staff were nothing short of fantastic throughout the day. My boyfriend and I were unable to get a taxi (granted it was the early hours of the morning!!) and one of the staff very kindly offered to bring us into Athlone where we were staying - more than you could ever expect and really saving the day! A huge thank you to Glasson Country House Hotel for a brilliant day in every respect.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Burke25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Ain, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

A lovely mother daughter escape for the night. We stayed in a suite - felt like our own luxury apartment. The view from our balcony was incredible. We had such a warm welcome and delicious breakfast and dinner. Nothing was too much trouble. We'll definitely be back again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Glasson Golf & Country Club is almost in the center of Ireland, overlooking the beautiful Lough Ree on the river Shannon. Surrounded by a wonderful 18 hole golf course, and lovely walks, it has much to offer the visitor. Very friendly staff, and first class accommodation all add to the enjoyment.
The excellent nearby Motorway, and only 2 hrs from Dublin make the hotel easily accessible.
The Lovely village nearby has a number of really good local restaurants offering the visitor the choice of using the hotel facilities and/or dining locally.
We are a group of 12-16 friends , all in our 60's who have made a regular trip here each year for the last 6/7 years...a testament to the friendliness and hospitality.

Room Tip: Try get a delux Lake view room overlooking the wonderful vista of Lough Ree. It will add to the expe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Had lunch there today, food was fab. Staff friendly and polite. Went for a walk around the place really enjoyed it. Will be back when I'm staying at my aunts again just loved the place beautiful and quiet just what I needed after a busy week in work.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank katie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
3.9 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,888 reviews
1.0 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
1,055 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
5.4 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
913 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club

Property: Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Address: Glasson, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Athlone
#1 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#1 Business Hotel in Athlone
#3 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glasson Country House Hotel and Golf Club is a 4 star lakeside golf hotel located close to Athlone in County Westmeath. All of our guests experience the warmth of the Glasson welcome, super spacious Bedrooms & public areas to relax and unwind in, superb food in our New Killinure Restaurant and Lakeside Bar with panoramic Lakeside Views. For our Guests it is the perfect hotel for business, leisure or your big wedding day. With the addition of a spectacular New Bar, Restaurant & Banqueting suite in May 2010 taking full advantage of the amazing Lake Views you can relax and unwind in comfort. Our Four Star Hotel & Championship Golf Course have been designed with the discerning hotel guest in mind. Situated just outside the quaint village of Glasson (Goldsmiths 'village of the roses') in Midlands Ireland and nestled on the tranquil shores of Lough Ree, this family-run Country House Hotel is the ideal get-away for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasson Country House Hotel And Golf Club
Glasson Hotel Athlone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing