We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Have just spent weekend here attending my best friends daughters wedding . From start to finish it was amazing . The staff the food the service was top class . Our room was fab with a huge bathroom with a fab few of the lake . I cannot praise glasson hotel enough and we hope to return soon .

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 090267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (634)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 634 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

Am just sitting here on a boat and it's lashing rain. The jetties are a little bit away from hotel so it's not an option to walk to hotel. My gripe is that the jetties are in a terrible state and to be honest dangerous in these wet conditions. Why have jetties if they are not maintained

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TheWeeCountyCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Booked as we needed a relaxing break away after the daily humdrum of work. For a family of 5 the rooms are fantastic, much needed after a 4 hour drive. WiFi great for the kids and their gadgets. Food was fine, nothing to write home about. Having spent three nights there and two evenings eating in the bar area, I don't think a member of staff engaged in a conversation with any of the
family. So I can't recommend it for a tourist to go and
expect some old fashioned Irish craic. Nice, functional but lacks the traditional Irish welcome.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dwpc2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This Hotel is fantastic, we got married here a month ago. The surroundings are beautiful, the staff are friendly and very helpful. The Manager is a pleasure to deal with. Its a family run hotel and we couldn't say enough to complement our experience. Our wedding was everything we wanted , the food was fab. The rooms are very clean and spacious , the views are unreal. We are so happy we chose this venue. It was fantastic value for money. We would highly recommend this hotel from start to finish our experience was an absolute pleasure. We will definitely visit very soon and we are looking forward to it.
Janet & Thomas

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I have been in Glasson Hotel as least three times this year alone. The stunning views, quiet location, lovely décor and tasty simple food always draw me back. .It being a family-run hotel help make this hotel a little more different than your average one.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank msmcgoo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I attended a wedding last week in Glasson Country House Hotel. Having been at a wedding here a few years back I was expecting much the same experience. Although the previous wedding had been extremely enjoyable this was even better. The hotel has been transformed and now takes full advantage of the absolutely beautiful surroundings. I live relatively near the hotel yet but it really feels like a world of its own. The staff were nothing short of fantastic throughout the day. My boyfriend and I were unable to get a taxi (granted it was the early hours of the morning!!) and one of the staff very kindly offered to bring us into Athlone where we were staying - more than you could ever expect and really saving the day! A huge thank you to Glasson Country House Hotel for a brilliant day in every respect.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Burke25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

A lovely mother daughter escape for the night. We stayed in a suite - felt like our own luxury apartment. The view from our balcony was incredible. We had such a warm welcome and delicious breakfast and dinner. Nothing was too much trouble. We'll definitely be back again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
3.9 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,972 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,189 reviews
1.0 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
5.4 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
952 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club

Address: Glasson, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#1 Family Hotel in Athlone
#1 Business Hotel in Athlone
#3 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
Price Range: £96 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glasson Country House Hotel and Golf Club is a 4 star lakeside golf hotel located close to Athlone in County Westmeath. All of our guests experience the warmth of the Glasson welcome, super spacious Bedrooms & public areas to relax and unwind in, superb food in our New Killinure Restaurant and Lakeside Bar with panoramic Lakeside Views. For our Guests it is the perfect hotel for business, leisure or your big wedding day. With the addition of a spectacular New Bar, Restaurant & Banqueting suite in May 2010 taking full advantage of the amazing Lake Views you can relax and unwind in comfort. Our Four Star Hotel & Championship Golf Course have been designed with the discerning hotel guest in mind. Situated just outside the quaint village of Glasson (Goldsmiths 'village of the roses') in Midlands Ireland and nestled on the tranquil shores of Lough Ree, this family-run Country House Hotel is the ideal get-away for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasson Country House Hotel And Golf Club
Glasson Hotel Athlone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing