We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
gort
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Glasson country house is a beautiful hotel situated not far from athlone near the lovely little village
Of glasson. The drive into the hotel is fab, the golf course is on the left hand side on the banks of the lake. The staff are very friendly and our bedroom was very spacious with modern decor, it was overlooking the golf course. The bar has huge windows all the way around again looking out on the golf course. We had breakfast at the hotel, it was a buffet, the food was fresh and very tasty.
Can't fault this hotel in any way, 5 star service all around, well worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    103
    21
    7
    7
See reviews for
135
208
6
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed in Glasson Country Hotel on the last bank holiday weekend and we could not fault it one bit.
The service and food were excellent and the golf course was brilliant!

Garrett was very kind and helpful in driving us down to the village for a bite to eat when we called reception to order a taxi for us. Thank you!

Looking forward to our next stay with you!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 12monty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moate
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

I recently had another stunning meal here at the glasson country house hotel.

As always the staff was more than helpful and friendly. From the reception staff to the waiting staff each one makes you feel special.

The meal itself was amazing and the whole atmosphere was surreal

Tom and Breda run a stunning hotel and we always look forward to dining here

Continued success to Niall, fidelma, Gareth and all the staff

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jetsetters92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

An excellent hotel with beautiful surroundings! We had our wedding reception here on July 12th and we had a truly magical day. From when we booked it last year, everything was looked after for us and the day itself was everything we were promised and more. We also had a large number of guests that were staying at the hotel and the rooms very spacious and comfortable with magnificent views. The staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. We really had a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Having enjoyed another stay at Glasson last week, albeit an unexpected treat I had to recommend the hotel again. It's been two years since my first visit and what I find refreshing (and amazing in this trade!) is the familiar faces on the staff team, who make an exceptionally clean, smart, luxury hotel feel warm and homely.
Huge thanks to Gareth and the team and see you all soon - next time for some golf :)

Room Tip: Lake view deluxe rooms are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roobee99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Lovely hotel and in great location with wonderful views and staff very friendly but the food was disappointing. On checking in we were asked if we would like to make a dinner reservation and we thought this was for the restaurant but when we arrived downstairs later we discovered the restaurant was closed and we were directed to tables off the bar area. Food serving was a little rushed and ironically our main courses were cold. They were replaced but then the fish was only seared and not cooked as per the menu. We were disappointed and if we had known the main restaurant was closed we would have had pub grub. Rooms were a good size and very quiet so all else up to scratch.

Room Tip: All rooms have good views and are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynda e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We had the reception of our wedding at this hotel on 3rd July 2014. What can I say from start to finish everything was perfect. Gareth and all the staff are fantastic. Always there to help with a smile. The function room is a perfect layout for a wedding with the beautiful views of the lake surrounding the whole room. They even have an area off the dance floor for kids to watch dvds or play games while speeches etc are goin on. The food was delicious all of our guests commented on how good the food was. All guests rooms (not just the bridal suite) are big, very comfortable and extremely clean. Most rooms have a balcony. Breakfast was delicious too. I cannot praise this hotel enough. It was the first and only hotel we viewed for our wedding, there was no need to look anywhere else we had everything we wanted at this wonderful hotel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Ev K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
3.8 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
1.0 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
3.9 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
5.4 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club

Property: Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Address: Glasson, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Athlone
#1 Business Hotel in Athlone
#1 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#3 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glasson Country House Hotel and Golf Club is a 4 star lakeside golf hotel located close to Athlone in County Westmeath. All of our guests experience the warmth of the Glasson welcome, super spacious Bedrooms & public areas to relax and unwind in, superb food in our New Killinure Restaurant and Lakeside Bar with panoramic Lakeside Views. For our Guests it is the perfect hotel for business, leisure or your big wedding day. With the addition of a spectacular New Bar, Restaurant & Banqueting suite in May 2010 taking full advantage of the amazing Lake Views you can relax and unwind in comfort. Our Four Star Hotel & Championship Golf Course have been designed with the discerning hotel guest in mind. Situated just outside the quaint village of Glasson (Goldsmiths 'village of the roses') in Midlands Ireland and nestled on the tranquil shores of Lough Ree, this family-run Country House Hotel is the ideal get-away for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Superbreak UK so you can book your Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasson Country House Hotel And Golf Club
Glasson Hotel Athlone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing