We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming stay with charming hosts” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inny Bay Bed And Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inny Bay Bed And Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 20 Athlone B&B and Inns
West London
Level Contributor
213 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Welcoming stay with charming hosts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

Myself, my partner and two friends stayed here on a Friday evening, luckily picking a fabulously sunny weekend for our stay. The view out over the bay was stunning and the sunset beautiful. When we arrived, we were shown to our rooms by Deirdre, who was very warm and welcoming, and then directed to a sunny dining room with windows aplenty, cashing in on the full glory of the view. As we sat and soaked it up, we were served drinks there by Paul who was chatty and friendly - a very nice start to the stay. The room was good - we had a double bed and a single, with plenty of room to spread out - and the bathroom was clean with a decent shower. It felt very homely, and I didn't feel awkward going to ask questions even when I wandered in to find Deirdre helping her daughter make cakes for a school sale in the kitchen. You quickly felt like one of the gang. The breakfast was wonderful - lots of choice, huge, well cooked and delicious. I fell in love with Paul's amazing home-made bread, which was sensational (I could have eaten the whole loaf), and the black and white puddings were both excellent. At 60 euros a night for a room for two people, this was really very good value for money, and the owners of this family home were charming. I'd definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Our room, number 4, did not have a view out over the bay. Our friends' room opposite did. Worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innybay, Owner at Inny Bay Bed And Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Hi from Inny Bay. We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us. We hope that you make a return trip, and we will promise you more of that brown bread! This wonderful summer that we are having is great for watching the sun set over Inny Bay, a soothing end to the day! Best regards Paul & Deirdre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    13
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
15
36
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

This is a perfect place to stay. Fantastic location with wonderful views. In the local area you have a wide choice of really nice places to eat. We tried the Fatted Calf about ten mins drive away and it was first class. We then went to Murphy's bar or better known as Lizzie's which is a real traditional bar which has to be tried - the Guinness was the best tasted all holiday and I tried a lot !!! Could easily walk back to Inny bay from here. In the morning I had a walk around the bay and it was beautiful. Sky larks all over swans no end of birds and quiet. The breakfast was first class. Loads of choice and you won't eat again until evening. Fruit juice cereals yogurt fruit toast black and white pudding potato bread with the usual sausage and bacon. All served fresh and just cooked. The rooms were great and the showers were modern and powerful. The whole place had a really relaxed feeling and you feel as though you have been there before. It was so relaxed I left my work phone in the room.This was posted next day delivery back home without them even asking how I'm going to pay. In summary. This looks an amazing place to go fishing but its also a fantastic place to spend a few days or as we used it to break up the journey to the ferry. Will be back for sure. And if I win euro millions on Friday I will be putting an offer in !

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innybay, Owner at Inny Bay Bed And Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Hi from Inny Bay. Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We are delighted that you were comfortable in our home, that you enjoyed the fabulous birds and that the weather was in your favour. We were happy to reunite you with your phone, and are waiting patiently to hear if you had any luck with the euro millions. Looking forward to your return, Paul & Deirdre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gorey, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

The initial impression as you drive up a narrow road with grass growing on it , is one of wonder at what lies ahead. It doesn't disappoint. Perfectly situated overlooking the bay, the serenity and remoteness is striking. Paul and Deirdre are very welcoming hosts. A cup of coffee on arrival helps us to relax, as we look forward to the marathon 12 hr Helium festival in Ballymahon, about 10km away. Deirdre offers us a lift into town which we gratefully accept. Paul provides us with a list of taxis for coming home. Breakfast is amazing and full of choice and cooked to perfection. Every member of the family helps out here and go about their work diligently. Local activities include fishing and boating. What a perfect location in which to enjoy these activities. With hospitality second to none and great value for money, I can't recommend Inny Bay highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stato42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innybay, Owner at Inny Bay Bed And Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at the weekend. We are delighted that the Helium festival, the weather and the B&B all combined to give you a great weekend. Hope you both return to Helium and Inny Bay in the coming years. Paul & Deirdre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

Our annual trip to Ireland wouldn't be the same without a few days stay at Inny Bay.There is always a warm welcome from Paul and Deirdre and nothing is too much trouble for them. .We find it to be the perfect place to relax at the end of each day, surrounded by stunning views.The breakfasts are excellent. There a great choice of menu and the food is cooked to perfection, every idiosyncrasy is catered for. The B and B is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innybay, Owner at Inny Bay Bed And Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Hi Steve & Lesley, Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. You are wonderful guests to have and we look forward to seeing you again next year. Best wishes, Paul & Deirdre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

me and my husband have just spent weekend there with our two labradors. Absolutely perfect weekend. Paul and Deirdre were very friendly and welcoming. The food was great ( so much) and we really enjoyed our stay there. Our dogs loved that as well. Didnt want to come back to Dublin at all :) Loads of safe space for them to play outside. Would highly recommend it.

Marcela

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank marcela_seruga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pdfoxe, Owner at Inny Bay Bed And Breakfast, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
It was our pleasure to have you and your beautiful dogs stay with us. Thanks a million for taking time to review your trip, and we hope to see you all again. Warm regards, Paul & Deirdre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardee, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

Ideally located to innybay for those that want to fish, very clean room, great breakfast and they couldn't do enough to help. Would recommend highly

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Inny Bay Bed And Breakfast, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Hi Tom, thanks a million for reviewing your stay with us and your excellent recommendation. Paul is delighted that his breakfast got a special mention!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

me and the lads went for a stag weekend to athlone and we stayed in inny bay for the fishing on lough ree and our stay was outstanding paul and deirdre and there kids were lovelly and there were very welcomeing when we arrived there rooms are lovelly with great views all around the food was great could not have asked for any better see you again soon

Room Tip: rooms were lovelly loads of room to park your car fishing was great and a place for all your fishing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pdfoxe, Owner at Inny Bay Bed And Breakfast, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Hi Nigel, Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We really enjoyed having you and the lads here, the friendly banter was great. Enjoy the wedding and we sincerely hope to see you all next year. All the best, Paul & Deirdre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
9.2 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
10.7 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
9.5 mi away
Creggan Court
Creggan Court
#8 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
9.7 mi away
Shannonside House B&B
Shannonside House B&B
#1 of 20 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inny Bay Bed And Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inny Bay Bed And Breakfast

Property: Inny Bay Bed And Breakfast
Address: Annagh | The Pigeons, Athlone, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Inny Bay Bed And Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing