We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B stay”
Review of Shelmalier House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shelmalier House
Ranked #5 of 20 Athlone B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 June 2011

My wife, granddaughter and myself stayed at Shelmalier House with Jim & Nancy for 2 nights and we could not have been more pleased. Jim & Nancy make sure all your needs and wants are attended to perfectly. Their home is very comfortable, clean and you are made to feel very welcome. I highly recommend the Shelmalier House anytime you are in the Athlone area... I will sure be there at every opportunity.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wayne460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2010

Due to a change in plans, we almost cancelled this place to choose another in a different city. Mr. Denby and Shemalier House were just great. The room was big as was the bath. Breakfast was so tasty and plentiful and our host was just wonderful to talk with. He had many witty stories and we were glad to hear them. The grounds are well manicured, with gorgeous flowers everywhere. There is actually a sauna and a hot tub available at certain times but we didn't take advantage of those amenities.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hal405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2009

My wife and I stayed with Nancy and Jim Denby at their B&B in Athlone. It was a great experience. The facilities were very comfortable and clean, the food was delicious and the Denbys are spectacular hosts. We would go there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2008

Our first, but not last, trip to Ireland and the country was as beautiful as we had heard. Two B&B's that greatly added to our having a great trip were the Lighthouse in Dingle and The Shelmalier House in Athlone. Both were spic and span, super location(close to the town and shore), great accomodations, and wonderfully hosted. Our hats are off to both owners and you can bet our next trip will include them.
Another tip: based on our experience, we will stay away from 'farmhouse" B&B's. They didn't seem to be working farms, even when listed as such, and the location and facilities didn't hold a candle to the 2 recommended above.
Lastly, 6 days is not enough, although we drove over 725 miles, so plan for more or, as we are doing, plan another trip.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank wdcsjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2007

A lovely house thats run like a hotel but retains the B&B feel. Clean and well appointed rooms with new furniture and good tv. Ensuite was spacious and clean.
Only problem was location - well out of the main town and a good 25 minute walk.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JCH124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EnneJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Giovanni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
4.2 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,242 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
1.3 mi away
Shannonside House B&B
Shannonside House B&B
#1 of 20 in Athlone
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Arch House B&B & Apartments
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
2,026 reviews
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelmalier House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelmalier House

Address: Retreat Road | Cartontroy, Athlone, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Athlone
Price Range: £74 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelmalier House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Shelmalier House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing