We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FIRST CLASS”
Review of Shelmalier House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shelmalier House
Ranked #6 of 20 Athlone B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 August 2012

My husband, my 3 kids and myself stayed in this b&b 2 nights and it was better than a hotel. Jim & Nancy made us feel very welcome, the breakfast was huge and their house and garden are beautiful. We would go back for sure!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amigosforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
There are newer reviews for Shelmalier House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2012

If you need an excuse to travel to Athlone, I think a stay at Shelmalier House makes a very good one. Easy to reach (exit 9 on M6 to Galway/Dublin), excellently run, comfortably set aside from the bustling city life. Mr. and Mrs Denby are excellent hosts, always generous with their beakfasts and their precious advise. The Shelmalier has spacious and spotless clean en-suite rooms, a gorgeous front garden and a cosy back door area where kids are allowed to play and the best organic yogurt I have had in my life (not to mention the home made jams and the local cheese ...). If you are travelling with your children, you might want to visit Glendeer Pet Farm (Curryroe, Drum, Athlone, exit 13 on M9 - http://www.glendeerpetfarm.ie/contact-us): your kids will adore it!. Thank you again Mr. and Mrs. Denby for your hospitality!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FscaBet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We have stayed in many B+B accommodations both in Athlone and further afield and we can honestly say that this one is worth driving the extra 50 miles. The bedroom was as large as a Hotel room, the breakfast was superletive- Muelsli, fresh fruits, local cheeses, choice of ingredients for a fry, Speciality breads etc..
When we wanted to pay we were given several options including Laser Card, Maestro Card, or Visa. The bed was comfortable. What more could you ask for?
Our hosts were courteous, helpful and informative including providing us with a shortcut route from Cartontroy to Ballyglass.
We have already booked to return in two weeks time.

Room Tip: There is an electrical pylon near the front of the house which makes a buzzing noise. this was the o...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeeburgDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

During our recent trip to Ireland we stayed in 5 other B and B's. This was the very best experience: VERY clean accomodations, beautiful antiques in the public rooms, and a knock- out, huge breakfast. Jim, the owner, was very engaging. Don't miss Sean's Pub in Athlone, the oldest pub in Ireland and a great place to hear great Irish music.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

You would be hard pushed to find any fault with " Shelmalier House" or its Proprietors
Thank You, Mr & Mrs Denby.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edward W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

This property is less than 1km from the main Dublin Galway motorway,at exit 9.The gardens are picture perfect with in season flowers.My room & bed were comfortable and I slept well. The en-suite was more in keeping with a 5 star hotel,as was the breakfast.A wide choice of menu , cooked to perfection,when ordered .And of course pour over Columbian coffee ,perfection.This is top of the range for reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michaelnessan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

My wife, granddaughter and myself stayed at Shelmalier House with Jim & Nancy for 2 nights and we could not have been more pleased. Jim & Nancy make sure all your needs and wants are attended to perfectly. Their home is very comfortable, clean and you are made to feel very welcome. I highly recommend the Shelmalier House anytime you are in the Athlone area... I will sure be there at every opportunity.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wayne460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,939 reviews
1.4 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
0.9 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Creggan Court
Creggan Court
#8 of 9 in Athlone
279 reviews
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
3.0 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelmalier House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelmalier House

Address: Retreat Road | Cartontroy, Athlone, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Athlone
Price Range: £69 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelmalier House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shelmalier House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing