We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel would recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Athlone Springs Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Stayed here as a stop over for the night and thought the hotel was beautiful, very clean and room was spacious. We ate in the restuarant that evening and had breakfast the next morning - was very pleased with both. Would definitely recommend this hotel as a stop over, but couldn't comment as a base for exploring Athlone itself.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (965)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

771 - 777 of 965 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2011

Stayed in the springs for a wedding and from arrival to departure they could not have done enough for us. Food and service were top class and staff seemed genuinely happy to be working there. Nothing but good things to say about this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barrystillorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Poor quality of housekeeping,dirty room on arrival dust everywhere.Noise unreal from 10pm onwards till early hours,we had a 14 month old trying to sleep,hotel staff made aware not even an apology wouldn't recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrscwalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Just back from the Athlone Springs hotel and on first impressions I was really happy. The bedrooms are the nicest I've seen to date. We had a family room and although there was 5 of us sharing the room it still felt very spacious. The ensuite was massive and we had a fab power shower and jet bath which was a real treat. On the downside the rooms were so hot it was really hard to sleep even though the stat was down in full.

The bar is very small however and so loses that comfy feeling which was a bit of a let down as most people sat out in the lobby and so there was no real atomosphere.. We had our three kids with us but by 9 they were in bed however lots of people did leave there kids up which was kind of annoying as the noise and running around got a bit much after a while.

On the subject of kids there was a lovely lesiure center in the hotel and the pool was great... There was also a kiddies club we didnt use as ours were a bit old but it seemed very popular amoung the guest we spoke to...

The breakfast I'm sorry was disapointing although the usually foods were available it just always seemed cold and rubbery to me I prefer to sit and have a fresh breakfast brought out rather than queing for it and by the time your toast has browned the breakfast is cold. The food in the dinning room was nice but the same menu all week so again bit tiresome and very few people in the dining room so no real atmospher in the evening.

The staff were great especially Brid at reception who was really friendly...

All in all we enjoyed our stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barneylou1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Was overall happy with the stay. It's a little bit outside of Athlone, but there are plenty of taxis available to bring you to and from. Very helpful staff, especially the barman!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CeeCeeKeely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We are a family of 5 and find it very difficult to find hotel rooms to accommodate us. Our family room in the Athlone Springs consisted of a king size bed, a single bed and a pull out double sofa bed. The room was huge and also included a small table and chairs and 2 leather chairs for watching TV. They only have a couple of family rooms so you need to book in advance to secure one of these - we moved our dates to get one and I'm glad we did. We had lots of space which made our stay very comfortable.

This is a stylish, modern, clean hotel. The pool and gym were great. The breakfast buffet was tasty and plentiful. We had dinner in the restaurant one night and the food was very nice. The restaurant was very busy the night we were there but the service was prompt and efficient.

The only drawback for us was the internet connection. WIFI was not available in our room, but we were able to access the internet in various other locations within the hotel - which was fine. However, on our second day the internet connection went down completely and remained out of order for the rest of the stay. This was a disapointment, especially for our teenage daughter who had brought her laptop with her.

On our last morning a family came down to breakfast dressed in their pyjamas and slippers (lets hope it isn't the start of a trend!). As it was our last morning I didn't say anything to the restaurant manager, however, I most certainly would have if we had been staying longer. I have never seen this in a hotel before and thought it was quite disrespectful to other guests.

Finally, the location of the hotel was not a drawback for us, we loved the convenience of a supermarket, takeaway, chinese restaurant, pharmacy and cafe on our doorstep! We enjoyed our stay at the Athlone Springs Hotel and would recommend it to other families looking for a relaxing hotel break.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greeneyes008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

we stayed here on a family deal. the 4hotel is situated outside the town on the old galway road on a new development with restaurant , takeaway supermarket etc all on site .
the hotel was very clean and the stff extremely friendly ...too accommodating to some families if you ask me ...there was some families whod let the staff do everything for them if youd asked them... it was slaves they needed ! anyway enough of that ... the restaurant was well priced as hotels go and even though we had a dinner thrown in with the package we stayed in the hotel for the other nights as the children wanred to go to the kids club. on arrival we checked in to find that we only had a king size (6'0) bed and a single and as we had 2 children we thought another make up bed would be required this was in the room 10 minutes after asking ! the hotel was very busy with package deals but this did not cause problems at breakfast tehre was still enough room to dine ... maybe at nighttime the bar got overcrowded a bit but most families were all gone by 9.30 - 10 pm so again not too much of a problem ... the staff were extremely pleasant and welcoming Myself and the boys went to play 3 par golf only 2 miles up the road on a lovely little course whilst my good wife entertained herself with a bit of retail therapy in athlone town ! where im reliably informed she got great bargains !! Overall a very pleasant stay and experience...I normally go to athlone on an annual basi to the all ireland drama festival and this hotel will certainly be on my check list of accommodation.

Room Tip: the rooms were extremely warm and no a/c
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisR67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
2.3 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
2,026 reviews
2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
3.4 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
2.1 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
4 mi away
Creggan Court
Creggan Court
#8 of 9 in Athlone
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athlone Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athlone Springs Hotel

Address: Tuam Road | Monksland, Athlone, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Price Range: £43 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Athlone Springs Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleep, relax and refresh yourself at the Athlone Springs Hotel. Modern and elegant with 68 spacious bedrooms, this 4 star hotel is among the best in Athlone. The bedrooms are luxuriously furnished in warm tones. All bedrooms have the option of a bath with overhead shower with additional extras such as work desk, TV and free Wi-Fi. If you are feeling extra tired, the lazy checkout is an option, subject to availability of course. Push the boat out with breakfast in bed and room service. Guests can also avail of the state of the art Zen fitness and leisure centre and free parking. A family friendly hotel, the Athlone Springs Hotel offers excellent facilities for families including kid's camps and children's pool at the leisure centre. Family rooms are available, some with interconnecting rooms. Additional camp beds and cots are available on request. For the ultimate experience in luxury accommodation, the Manhattan suite comes with two widescreen LCD TVs, a separate sitting room, "his and hers" bathroom, jacuzzi bath, walk-in shower, bathrobe and slippers. Fresh flowers and champagne can be organized ahead of your arrival to surprise that special someone. Zen fitness and leisure centre has a 20m swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and steam room as well as all the equipment you would expect in a modern gym. Zen Beauty will have you pampered and preened for a night out or melt away your troubles with a message. Dining in the Athlone Springs Hotel is a relaxed affair with superb food from both the Cedar Bar and Cedar Restaurant. Offering excellent service from friendly local staff and a locally sourced menu, the award winning chefs like to follow nature's lead producing food that is in-keeping with the season. The Athlone Springs Hotel is a choice destination for events and conferences. The conference meeting rooms are climate-controlled and include a choice of two boardrooms, five syndicate rooms, executive business centre, integrated audio visual and multimedia equipment as well as ample parking. The Clonellan suite can hold up to 500 people and can be partitioned. A beautiful venue, superb wedding team, excellent food and service make the Athlone Springs the hotel for your wedding day. The dedicated wedding coordinator will be by your side from start to finish making sure everything goes off without a hitch. No matter what your budget, requirements or aspirations, the Athlone Springs Hotel can fulfill your needs. Private suites are also available for religious blessings or civil ceremonies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Athlone Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing