We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Athlone Springs Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$227
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone(Athlone)(Great Value!)
US$172
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Prince of Wales Hotel(Athlone)(Great Value!)
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone(Athlone)(Great Value!)
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Creggan Court(Athlone)(Great Value!)
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Cooneys Hotel(Ballymahon)
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (982)
Filter reviews
982 results
Traveller rating
387
310
132
90
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
387
310
132
90
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscedar restaurantleisure centrelovely hotelreception staffsaturday nightkids clubcourse mealbuffet breakfastbar and restaurantstaff were lovelyfood was lovelya lovely stayself serviceweekend breaktown centrefunction roomroom was spotless
Filter
Updating list...
782 - 787 of 982 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We took a 2BB&1D break at the Athlone Springs hotel and had a really relaxing time. The restaurant was fabulous and the leisure centre was relaxing and the bar was cosy.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nora O, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2011

Thank you so much for your comments, we appreciate all feedback received.

Regards

Nora O'Shea
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We booked the restaurant over the phone from reviews and the web pictures. Turns out the restaurant was 'improved' 4 years ago and they haven't updated the website. Very average sort of modern 'space' nil atomosphere and quite crowded with families and noisy kids etc. Staff were either lazy or overworked as there were quite a number of uncleared tables around. No tablecloths or any sense of 'style' very basic wooden tables. Waitress told us that the recession ment they couldn't afford tablecloths! Outside was an excellent view of the parked cars and an industrial estate as the hotel is sandwiched between car dealerships. Food was average. Standard Beef / Salmon / pasta found everywhere. Portions were ok but nothing special. No sign of the fancy chef advertised in the blurb.
Wouldn't go there again as quite expensive for what was given

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nora O, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2011

Jon W, Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your recent experience. I am looking into you comments however if you would like to discuss further you can contact me directly at -------------------

Kind Regards

Nora O'Shea
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

I'm just back from a 2 night B&B + 1 dinner mid-week deal. I booked the dinner for the first night over the phone. I followed up the telephone booking with an email asking them to confirm we'd have a table. They replied saying yes booking confirmed. Turned upto the restaurant at said time and date and unbelievably there was no trace of our booking! We had to wait in the lobby until they were ready for us. The restaurant staff were very nice and friendly, but totally incompetant. One waitress asked if we'd like to see the wine menu. We said yes, but didn't see her again! The food was pretty awful too.

The view from our room was of a building site! The room was absolutely boiling, even with the window open, so none of us slept well. We headed out for a few hours the first day only to return to find our room hadn't been cleaned. The volume on the TV didn't work.

The only good thing about the hotel is the pool, although the changing rooms were freezing.

I definately won't be recommending this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BarrysTea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nora O, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2011

Barrys Tea,
Thank you for your comments. I am following up with the team but should you wish to discuss further you can contact me directly at ---------------------

Regards

Nora O'Shea
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Have stayed in this hotel once previously but stayed here more recently midweek on a Tuesday and Wednesday night. From start to finish the staff were exceptional. The room was very nicely decorated and very spacious with a huge bed and very nice bathroom. The bar is small but cosy and the food is very nice. The spa treatments were great and the pool and leisure facilities were excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nora O, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2011

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. I will be sure to pass them onto the team.
We look forward to seeing you back in the hotel again in the near future.

Regards

Nora O'Shea
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Stayed at the Springs to attend a function last weekend and could not fault this hotel in any way, the service throughout the hotel was top notch, from reception, bar, breakfast and function. The staff really know how to look after you. I disagree with the previous comment as to a dirty hotel, there were a large group of people staying over for the function and naturally we were all given rooms along the same corridor, i was in many rooms whilst all the girls were getting ready and the hotel is spotlessly clean!
I have to say that this hotel is a bit of a gem and we shall be back!
Thanks to all at the Springs for a fantastic weekend!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noddyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews