We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Athlone Springs Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good hotel”
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Myself and my girlfriend stayed here during the last weekend of August when there seemed to be quite a lot of young families at the hotel enjoying the last of the summer holidays.

Despite the hotel staff appearing to be very busy during our stay we felt very welcomed by the reception staff.

We were also welcomed and treated well by the waiting staff when we ate in the restaurant in the evening. My girlfriend can be a very fussy eater but she loved all six different courses (3 courses each over two nights), which was a positive. I myself had the same meal both nights as I enjoyed it so much the first night and my steak was cooked to perfection.

The room was spacious and clean with a very modern en-suite and also had a very comfortable large double bed.

The hotel itself is only about 3 km outside of the town, about a 20 minute walk if you can be bothered (we weren't) or there is an hourly shuttle bus (bus eireann) from outside the hotel to the centre of town.

All in all our experience was a very good one and we will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cotchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nora O, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2011
Thank you for your review, We try to always offer a warm welcome with a smile.... not always easy on busy days. I'll be sure to say well done to the reception team and let the Chefs know that they did a good job !!
Hopefully we'll see you back again soon.

Regards

Nora O'Shea
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    289
    116
    79
    52
See reviews for
224
287
33
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Myself and my girlfriend book 2 nights b&b with one dinner for a weekend away. The hotel is very easy to find as its signed from the main motorway but we did find later that it can accesed from junction 13 not junction 12 as signed. Check in was very fast and the reception had the details all ready. The room was very big with an even bigger bathroom and the best shower iv found in a hotel room.

We then went to use the leisure centre. As im a leisure manager i feel i may be a bit harsh on the centre but i generally found that on friday and saturday the facilities were poor. Changing rooms had rubbish on the floor, pool water was kinda cloudy again on both friday and saturday. also on these days the steam room had no lights working but was still open and appeared to be badly in need of a deep clean. Also the lack of supervision of the pool was worrying with kids running and jumping into the pool unsupervised by an adult.On sunday water quality was better and steam room was closed off and changing rooms wer of a standerd i would expect from a white flag centre.

My girlfriend had a treatment and found it very relaxing and of high quality. The dinner on the saturday night was very tasty. Melon starter was fresh and served promptly. I found my pork cutlets flavour was over powered by the gravey. Menu said infused with asian spices which couldnt be tasted. Apart from that the portion sizes wer perfect and desert was reallu nice. But never ended up getting our coffee at the end as they were setting up for breakfast. Entertainment in the bar created a good atmosphere.

Overall the experiance was positive apart from the operation of the leisure centre.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corker20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nora O, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2011
Thank you for your feedback. Your correct the hotel is normally accessed via junction 13 but due to road works for the last three weeks access has been via junction 12.These road works are now complete.
I'm delighted that your overall experience was positive, I have passed your comments onto both our head chef and leisure manager and we are investigating the conditions in the leisure centre on the dates in question
I do hope that we will see you back in the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Nora O'Shea
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Compelled to write this after seeing responses to previous comments.

Wondering what it takes to get an acknowledgement that the hotel is not up to scratch.

Put up with it because it was value for money, but the food was bland, the room hot, the drink over-priced, the noise levels high, cobwebs in men's toilets, serving staff a mixture of good, poor and rude.

I was asked would I recommend the hotel. My friend had checked out the reviews on here. He was gobsmacked that responses from the hotel were logged against positive comments.

Any chance I can get a response to this review?

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martymacloughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nora O, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2011
Thank you for your comments. I am actually replying to all comments not just the positive ones. As trip advisor screens all responses before posting there may be a delay in some of my responses being posted.
We do appreciate all feedback both positive and negative. We see all feedback as an opportunity to improve our facilities and customer experiences.

Regards

Nora O'Shea
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We took a 2BB&1D break at the Athlone Springs hotel and had a really relaxing time. The restaurant was fabulous and the leisure centre was relaxing and the bar was cosy.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nora O, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2011
Thank you so much for your comments, we appreciate all feedback received.

Regards

Nora O'Shea
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We booked the restaurant over the phone from reviews and the web pictures. Turns out the restaurant was 'improved' 4 years ago and they haven't updated the website. Very average sort of modern 'space' nil atomosphere and quite crowded with families and noisy kids etc. Staff were either lazy or overworked as there were quite a number of uncleared tables around. No tablecloths or any sense of 'style' very basic wooden tables. Waitress told us that the recession ment they couldn't afford tablecloths! Outside was an excellent view of the parked cars and an industrial estate as the hotel is sandwiched between car dealerships. Food was average. Standard Beef / Salmon / pasta found everywhere. Portions were ok but nothing special. No sign of the fancy chef advertised in the blurb.
Wouldn't go there again as quite expensive for what was given

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nora O, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2011
Jon W, Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your recent experience. I am looking into you comments however if you would like to discuss further you can contact me directly at -------------------

Kind Regards

Nora O'Shea
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

I'm just back from a 2 night B&B + 1 dinner mid-week deal. I booked the dinner for the first night over the phone. I followed up the telephone booking with an email asking them to confirm we'd have a table. They replied saying yes booking confirmed. Turned upto the restaurant at said time and date and unbelievably there was no trace of our booking! We had to wait in the lobby until they were ready for us. The restaurant staff were very nice and friendly, but totally incompetant. One waitress asked if we'd like to see the wine menu. We said yes, but didn't see her again! The food was pretty awful too.

The view from our room was of a building site! The room was absolutely boiling, even with the window open, so none of us slept well. We headed out for a few hours the first day only to return to find our room hadn't been cleaned. The volume on the TV didn't work.

The only good thing about the hotel is the pool, although the changing rooms were freezing.

I definately won't be recommending this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BarrysTea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nora O, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2011
Barrys Tea,
Thank you for your comments. I am following up with the team but should you wish to discuss further you can contact me directly at ---------------------

Regards

Nora O'Shea
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Have stayed in this hotel once previously but stayed here more recently midweek on a Tuesday and Wednesday night. From start to finish the staff were exceptional. The room was very nicely decorated and very spacious with a huge bed and very nice bathroom. The bar is small but cosy and the food is very nice. The spa treatments were great and the pool and leisure facilities were excellent.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheepish7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nora O, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2011
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. I will be sure to pass them onto the team.
We look forward to seeing you back in the hotel again in the near future.

Regards

Nora O'Shea
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
2.3 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,983 reviews
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
2.1 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
5.3 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athlone Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athlone Springs Hotel

Property: Athlone Springs Hotel
Address: Tuam Road | Monksland, Athlone, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Athlone Springs Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleep, relax and refresh yourself at the Athlone Springs Hotel. Modern and elegant with 68 spacious bedrooms, this 4 star hotel is among the best in Athlone. The bedrooms are luxuriously furnished in warm tones. All bedrooms have the option of a bath with overhead shower with additional extras such as work desk, TV and free Wi-Fi. If you are feeling extra tired, the lazy checkout is an option, subject to availability of course. Push the boat out with breakfast in bed and room service. Guests can also avail of the state of the art Zen fitness and leisure centre and free parking. A family friendly hotel, the Athlone Springs Hotel offers excellent facilities for families including kid's camps and children's pool at the leisure centre. Family rooms are available, some with interconnecting rooms. Additional camp beds and cots are available on request. For the ultimate experience in luxury accommodation, the Manhattan suite comes with two widescreen LCD TVs, a separate sitting room, "his and hers" bathroom, jacuzzi bath, walk-in shower, bathrobe and slippers. Fresh flowers and champagne can be organized ahead of your arrival to surprise that special someone. Zen fitness and leisure centre has a 20m swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and steam room as well as all the equipment you would expect in a modern gym. Zen Beauty will have you pampered and preened for a night out or melt away your troubles with a message. Dining in the Athlone Springs Hotel is a relaxed affair with superb food from both the Cedar Bar and Cedar Restaurant. Offering excellent service from friendly local staff and a locally sourced menu, the award winning chefs like to follow nature's lead producing food that is in-keeping with the season. The Athlone Springs Hotel is a choice destination for events and conferences. The conference meeting rooms are climate-controlled and include a choice of two boardrooms, five syndicate rooms, executive business centre, integrated audio visual and multimedia equipment as well as ample parking. The Clonellan suite can hold up to 500 people and can be partitioned. A beautiful venue, superb wedding team, excellent food and service make the Athlone Springs the hotel for your wedding day. The dedicated wedding coordinator will be by your side from start to finish making sure everything goes off without a hitch. No matter what your budget, requirements or aspirations, the Athlone Springs Hotel can fulfill your needs. Private suites are also available for religious blessings or civil ceremonies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Athlone Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing