We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel and staff, management should be very proud!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Athlone Springs Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Enniscorthy, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best hotel and staff, management should be very proud!!”
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Myself and 22 girls stayed here recently for my sisters hen weekend. We found the hotel absolutely beautiful and the staff brilliant! The little bar was lovely & cosy for a few drinks in the evening, breakfast was delish with something to suit everyone, and plenty of it too!! The dinner was really superb.. Piping hot and really tasty with plenty of options. The rooms were lovely and warm ( just the lighting was a bit dull). The pool was heaven.. Perfect for the hangovers! ;)
And last but by no means least.. The staff were amazing! From check in the guy at the front desk was very nice & helpful.
The guys in the bar were great craic and really friendly, very chatty & told us the best spots in athlone.. Very helpful for a bunch of hens! ;)
There was a lovely waitress too that was so friendly and smiley to all of us.
We would definitly stay here again and would recommend this hotel 100%... Perfect!!!!!! :)

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nora O, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2011
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. They really are appreciated and have been passed onto the team. We look forward to seeing you back again soon. !

Regards
Nora O'Shea
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    295
    121
    79
    52
See reviews for
228
292
33
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Our room was quite nice but the window would not close properly and there was no extraction fan in the bathroom. We had dinner in the bar which was ok, however the glasses were dirty. Breakfast the next morning was fairly poor - dirty cutlery, low fat milk not beside cereal, scrambled eggs tasted weird. The staff are friendly and helpful and the gym is well kitted out., but attention needs to be paid to the smaller details.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Altreoite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2011

After reading some of the other reviews i felt i had to write one myself..My wife and i stayed sat nite as a break from a very hectic work schedule.We found the check in went off without a hitchAfter the early rise and journey we were starving so we headed fbar which was a bit small but looked amazing I had a steak cooked medium and to perfection my wife had fish and chips which looked well and tasted great.After dinner we headed to the leisure centre and relaxed in jaquzi and had a swim was lovely and felt alot more relaxed after.that evening we had some nice drinks in the bar and booked a table in the ceadar restaurant starters were lovely and well presented and the cod was beautiful as was the pasta dish my wife had.Service was good and our server was very polite and always smilling after dinner we enjoyed a few more drinks and headed to our room which was very nice.Breakfast the next morning was tasty we headed to pool and had a nice swim and sauna etc.I wd have to say it was a lovely experience and would defenately return and would say it was great value for our money.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wardyCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nora O, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2011
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. I have passed them onto the team. We work hard to meet and exceed our guests expectations and it's nice to know when we get it right.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards

Nora O'Shea
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Myself and my girlfriend stayed here during the last weekend of August when there seemed to be quite a lot of young families at the hotel enjoying the last of the summer holidays.

Despite the hotel staff appearing to be very busy during our stay we felt very welcomed by the reception staff.

We were also welcomed and treated well by the waiting staff when we ate in the restaurant in the evening. My girlfriend can be a very fussy eater but she loved all six different courses (3 courses each over two nights), which was a positive. I myself had the same meal both nights as I enjoyed it so much the first night and my steak was cooked to perfection.

The room was spacious and clean with a very modern en-suite and also had a very comfortable large double bed.

The hotel itself is only about 3 km outside of the town, about a 20 minute walk if you can be bothered (we weren't) or there is an hourly shuttle bus (bus eireann) from outside the hotel to the centre of town.

All in all our experience was a very good one and we will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cotchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nora O, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2011
Thank you for your review, We try to always offer a warm welcome with a smile.... not always easy on busy days. I'll be sure to say well done to the reception team and let the Chefs know that they did a good job !!
Hopefully we'll see you back again soon.

Regards

Nora O'Shea
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Myself and my girlfriend book 2 nights b&b with one dinner for a weekend away. The hotel is very easy to find as its signed from the main motorway but we did find later that it can accesed from junction 13 not junction 12 as signed. Check in was very fast and the reception had the details all ready. The room was very big with an even bigger bathroom and the best shower iv found in a hotel room.

We then went to use the leisure centre. As im a leisure manager i feel i may be a bit harsh on the centre but i generally found that on friday and saturday the facilities were poor. Changing rooms had rubbish on the floor, pool water was kinda cloudy again on both friday and saturday. also on these days the steam room had no lights working but was still open and appeared to be badly in need of a deep clean. Also the lack of supervision of the pool was worrying with kids running and jumping into the pool unsupervised by an adult.On sunday water quality was better and steam room was closed off and changing rooms wer of a standerd i would expect from a white flag centre.

My girlfriend had a treatment and found it very relaxing and of high quality. The dinner on the saturday night was very tasty. Melon starter was fresh and served promptly. I found my pork cutlets flavour was over powered by the gravey. Menu said infused with asian spices which couldnt be tasted. Apart from that the portion sizes wer perfect and desert was reallu nice. But never ended up getting our coffee at the end as they were setting up for breakfast. Entertainment in the bar created a good atmosphere.

Overall the experiance was positive apart from the operation of the leisure centre.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corker20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nora O, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2011
Thank you for your feedback. Your correct the hotel is normally accessed via junction 13 but due to road works for the last three weeks access has been via junction 12.These road works are now complete.
I'm delighted that your overall experience was positive, I have passed your comments onto both our head chef and leisure manager and we are investigating the conditions in the leisure centre on the dates in question
I do hope that we will see you back in the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Nora O'Shea
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Compelled to write this after seeing responses to previous comments.

Wondering what it takes to get an acknowledgement that the hotel is not up to scratch.

Put up with it because it was value for money, but the food was bland, the room hot, the drink over-priced, the noise levels high, cobwebs in men's toilets, serving staff a mixture of good, poor and rude.

I was asked would I recommend the hotel. My friend had checked out the reviews on here. He was gobsmacked that responses from the hotel were logged against positive comments.

Any chance I can get a response to this review?

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martymacloughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nora O, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2011
Thank you for your comments. I am actually replying to all comments not just the positive ones. As trip advisor screens all responses before posting there may be a delay in some of my responses being posted.
We do appreciate all feedback both positive and negative. We see all feedback as an opportunity to improve our facilities and customer experiences.

Regards

Nora O'Shea
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We took a 2BB&1D break at the Athlone Springs hotel and had a really relaxing time. The restaurant was fabulous and the leisure centre was relaxing and the bar was cosy.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nora O, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2011
Thank you so much for your comments, we appreciate all feedback received.

Regards

Nora O'Shea
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
2.3 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,887 reviews
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
3.4 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
2.1 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
0.0 mi away
Creggan Court
Creggan Court
#8 of 9 in Athlone
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athlone Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athlone Springs Hotel

Property: Athlone Springs Hotel
Address: Tuam Road | Monksland, Athlone, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Athlone Springs Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleep, relax and refresh yourself at the Athlone Springs Hotel. Modern and elegant with 68 spacious bedrooms, this 4 star hotel is among the best in Athlone. The bedrooms are luxuriously furnished in warm tones. All bedrooms have the option of a bath with overhead shower with additional extras such as work desk, TV and free Wi-Fi. If you are feeling extra tired, the lazy checkout is an option, subject to availability of course. Push the boat out with breakfast in bed and room service. Guests can also avail of the state of the art Zen fitness and leisure centre and free parking. A family friendly hotel, the Athlone Springs Hotel offers excellent facilities for families including kid's camps and children's pool at the leisure centre. Family rooms are available, some with interconnecting rooms. Additional camp beds and cots are available on request. For the ultimate experience in luxury accommodation, the Manhattan suite comes with two widescreen LCD TVs, a separate sitting room, "his and hers" bathroom, jacuzzi bath, walk-in shower, bathrobe and slippers. Fresh flowers and champagne can be organized ahead of your arrival to surprise that special someone. Zen fitness and leisure centre has a 20m swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and steam room as well as all the equipment you would expect in a modern gym. Zen Beauty will have you pampered and preened for a night out or melt away your troubles with a message. Dining in the Athlone Springs Hotel is a relaxed affair with superb food from both the Cedar Bar and Cedar Restaurant. Offering excellent service from friendly local staff and a locally sourced menu, the award winning chefs like to follow nature's lead producing food that is in-keeping with the season. The Athlone Springs Hotel is a choice destination for events and conferences. The conference meeting rooms are climate-controlled and include a choice of two boardrooms, five syndicate rooms, executive business centre, integrated audio visual and multimedia equipment as well as ample parking. The Clonellan suite can hold up to 500 people and can be partitioned. A beautiful venue, superb wedding team, excellent food and service make the Athlone Springs the hotel for your wedding day. The dedicated wedding coordinator will be by your side from start to finish making sure everything goes off without a hitch. No matter what your budget, requirements or aspirations, the Athlone Springs Hotel can fulfill your needs. Private suites are also available for religious blessings or civil ceremonies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Athlone Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing