We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Athlone Springs Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Arch House B&B & Apartments(Athlone)(Great Value!)
US$236
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$183
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone(Athlone)(Great Value!)
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Prince of Wales Hotel(Athlone)(Great Value!)
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone(Athlone)(Great Value!)
US$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Creggan Court(Athlone)(Great Value!)
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$235
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (981)
Filter reviews
981 results
Traveller rating
387
310
132
90
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
387
310
132
90
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscedar restaurantleisure centrelovely hotelreception staffsaturday nightkids clubcourse mealbuffet breakfastbar and restaurantstaff were lovelyfood was lovelya lovely stayself serviceweekend breaktown centrefunction roomroom was spotless
Filter
Updating list...
559 - 564 of 981 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2013

What an excellent place to stay. Unfortunately we only spent one night here on our way to waterford. We got an excellent deal through Groupon for a family room. I would love to return at a later date for a longer stay. Food was excellent together will staff, entertainment, pool facilities, decor, cleanliness etc Overall a pleasant and relaxing experience. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maria f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Maria,

Thank you so much for your kind comments and we hope the next time you are going to Waterford that you break your journey with ourselves.

Thanks Again

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Myself, my husband and our 8 year old daughter spent 4 days in the Athlone Springs this summer and had a really enjoyable stay. I believe the hotel offered extremely good value for money for a family on a budget. The leisure centre is definitely the hotel's greatest asset - big pool and clean facilities - great for kids - as was the kids club which our daughter really enjoyed. Rooms were clean and food served of high quality.
Only comments I would make is that the bar/lounge is a bit small and the appearance of the area outside the hotel could be improved as it is a bit shabby and lets down the nice interior.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 75NoreenG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Noreen,

Thank you for your kind comments and you review of our property. we hope to have the whole family back to stay in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The food was really good - but some things let the hotel down. The only light working in our (twin) room was one bed-side lamp, and it was on a low locker, so that one could not read. This is a "family" hotel, and for "family" read lots and lots of children.

Room Tip: Avoid 205 - the air conditioning machine is just outside the bedroom window and can be noisy.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 38pond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear 38pond,

Thank you for your comments and particularly those regarding our food which many people comment on favorably. I am disappointed naturally that you found some issues in your room which should have been easily fixed if we had the opportunity (did you perhaps mention these shortcomings during your stay). We do, like a lot of hotels with great leisure facilities such as our selves, get some children staying but in fairness we find them on the most part well behaved.

Thanks again for your review and should you decide to use us again please contact me personally and I will make your reservation for you and look to upgrade your room.

Kind regards

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Unfortunately, we could only stay for one night - but it was lovely and clean, the reception staff are second to none - nothing was too much trouble. The room was lovely and large with a great en suite, only tiny thing that we would have preferred was a slightly larger TV in the room - the one that was there was out of place being so tiny. We were woken up however at 6.00am in the morning because of a business outside our window was loading large cages for delivery - didn't want to wake up that early!

Room Tip: Mention that you do not want to over-look the business yards at the back of the hotel.
Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jackie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Jackie,

Thank you for your review and your kind comments, perhaps on a future visit to Athlone i will be able to say hello in person.

Kind regards

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Absolutely perfectly appointed hotel, very modern with little wear. Lovely pool, spa & gym area.

Special mention to Tara on reception who was excellent, couldn't do enough for us (even though I made a mess of our booking).

Got a Groupon deal for €119 (two nights with an evening meal), super value.

Its a 5-10 minute drive from the town centre so be prepared for a taxi/drive if you want a night on the tiles.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Kevin,

Thank you for your review of our property and your kind comments regarding our reception team.

So Glad you enjoyed your stay.

Hope to see you soon in Athlone again.

Thanks again

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews