We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Put a Spring in your Step”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Athlone Springs Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Put a Spring in your Step”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Stayed in this hotel whilst on business, It was a nice hotel, comfortable and relaxed setting, the staff were very friendly and welcoming.

The meeting area was spacious, the breakfast and lunch was practical and a wide range of options were on offer.

The restaurant served up food of a 4 star quality for dinner, well worth visiting and the much needed massage at the end of all the meetings was excellent, amazing Spa.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krutchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear Krutchez,

Delighted you enjoyed your stay and that the spay treatment was as good as it should be.

Thank you for the review.

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    279
    113
    76
    52
See reviews for
221
280
33
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North West Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Have stayed in the Athlone Springs many times over the years because of work. Staff cannot do enough and are so thoughtful. however I booked a meeting room this evening at such short notice and I would have been killed on Monday by my co workers as there had been a mix up on who was booking it. I was planning to run away. I was rang back by the most amazing angel, two angels who sorted out my chaos. This review is well over due. Thank you as always to Reception staff who are always so helpful, the restaurant staff and conference facilitators, leisure centre, food and every thing. I am so grateful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maryNorthWestIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear Marynorth,

So glad you enjoyed your numerous stay with us and that you foun our team so helpfull.

Hope to see you again soon.

Many thanks for the review

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Obviously a Boutique Hotel built during the boom. Staff were excellent. Rooms very well appointed. Restaurant empty (sign of the times). Excellent location, just off the M6. Will be back.
Pool area very clean and with glass walls very bright and airy. Also free coffee after a swim.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear Johnny,

Thank you for your kind review and we, like you, look forward to your return visit.

Thanks again.

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

What can I say, the staff in this hotel were amazing, so helpful, friendly and worked darn hard to make our stay have the best possible outcome.

I booked a two nights girly package for my two sisters, mother and I, this included the room, breakfast on both mornings, dinner on one night, use of the Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room, and a spa treatment, all for 95EUR!!! GREAT VALUE!!!

The spa treatment were also wonderful, with wonderful and helpful staff.

Our dinner was good, not amazing, but good. Breakfast was an amazing buffet and tasty, so fill your plate!!!

The staff were so friendly, helpful, I just can't say enough about all the staff across all levels, reception, managers, waitresses and bar staff!!!

The only issue I had was that I thought the hotel was closer to Athlone town, it is about a ten minute driver outside of the town, only a 10EURO taxi ride.

I will return to this hotel again, my sister is returning with her partner and son in November.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!

Room Tip: Front of the hotel as the back looks out onto the service area and roof top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TGuerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
t Guerin

well what can I say only thank you for your wonderful review.

Hope to have you stay again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanberis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We came on a Groupon visit and paid extra for 'dinner'. In fact we were told that was an allowance for main course only. Starters and desserts were €9.95 each. We would have paid more than the price of the dinner. The lovely waiting staff were embarrassed and said it often happened. It detracted from an excellent room, comfortable bed and excellent staff. Please sort it out so you don't leave guests irritated.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gw1pcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear paul,

Thank you for your review and your comments re our recent successful Groupon Deal. I am disappointed that their was confusion at dinner as your deal did include a glass of wine and a main course from the dinner menu. The €9.95 is a per person charge for upgrading to a full three course menu with coffee and not as you understood it €9.95 per course. This we feel represents great value for money and is very often commented on by our guests in a favorable manor.

Again sorry for the confusion and thank you again for the review.

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

I had a wonderful stay at the Athlone Springs Hotel, I stayed on 7th September for 3 nights. I had a dinner package so we had our dinner on the Sunday night and all i can say is WOW the food was amazing, we loved it so much we booked again for the next night and it did not disappoint. The staff in the hotel are a credit each and everyone of them were lovely and thanks to the night porter for letting my partner get his key at 4 am in the morning which meant i didn't have to stay awake which was brilliant. I did not use the Spa but next time I am back I will make sure to go it looked fabulous. There is nothing I can fault with this hotel the only problem I had was that I had to leave and go home. Thank you to all the Staff for the wonderful stay, I will be back and will recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Helina,

The kitchen team in particular very very impressed with your comments on our food so thank you so much for your wonderful review.

Kind regards

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed here for 2 nights and attended a wedding at the hotel and I found it a most enjoyable stay in a nice and friendly place. The staff could not do enough for us and were as pleasant as they come. Located outside town but quite easy to get into Athlone. Although taxis were very pricey I would recommend this as a great place to stay.

Rooms were well maintained and maids were very polite and didn't just barge into the room like some other hotels. I never got to use the leisure facilities but from what I saw they were well appointed and well maintained.

So if you are looking for a great place to stay in a beautiful part of Ireland this is the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MC_CFC1905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear MC,

So glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you soon on a return visit.

Kind regards

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
2.3 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,785 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
2.1 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
5.3 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athlone Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athlone Springs Hotel

Property: Athlone Springs Hotel
Address: Tuam Road | Monksland, Athlone, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Athlone Springs Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleep, relax and refresh yourself at the Athlone Springs Hotel. Modern and elegant with 68 spacious bedrooms, this 4 star hotel is among the best in Athlone. The bedrooms are luxuriously furnished in warm tones. All bedrooms have the option of a bath with overhead shower with additional extras such as work desk, TV and free Wi-Fi. If you are feeling extra tired, the lazy checkout is an option, subject to availability of course. Push the boat out with breakfast in bed and room service. Guests can also avail of the state of the art Zen fitness and leisure centre and free parking. A family friendly hotel, the Athlone Springs Hotel offers excellent facilities for families including kid's camps and children's pool at the leisure centre. Family rooms are available, some with interconnecting rooms. Additional camp beds and cots are available on request. For the ultimate experience in luxury accommodation, the Manhattan suite comes with two widescreen LCD TVs, a separate sitting room, "his and hers" bathroom, jacuzzi bath, walk-in shower, bathrobe and slippers. Fresh flowers and champagne can be organized ahead of your arrival to surprise that special someone. Zen fitness and leisure centre has a 20m swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and steam room as well as all the equipment you would expect in a modern gym. Zen Beauty will have you pampered and preened for a night out or melt away your troubles with a message. Dining in the Athlone Springs Hotel is a relaxed affair with superb food from both the Cedar Bar and Cedar Restaurant. Offering excellent service from friendly local staff and a locally sourced menu, the award winning chefs like to follow nature's lead producing food that is in-keeping with the season. The Athlone Springs Hotel is a choice destination for events and conferences. The conference meeting rooms are climate-controlled and include a choice of two boardrooms, five syndicate rooms, executive business centre, integrated audio visual and multimedia equipment as well as ample parking. The Clonellan suite can hold up to 500 people and can be partitioned. A beautiful venue, superb wedding team, excellent food and service make the Athlone Springs the hotel for your wedding day. The dedicated wedding coordinator will be by your side from start to finish making sure everything goes off without a hitch. No matter what your budget, requirements or aspirations, the Athlone Springs Hotel can fulfill your needs. Private suites are also available for religious blessings or civil ceremonies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Athlone Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing