We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Athlone Springs Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Letterkenny, Donegal, Ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Average at best”
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Arrived here and as it's name suggests it is a hotel that sprung up between a housing estate and a car dealership. Don't expect any panoramic views because they don't exist. On arrival we were greeted by Kristina who was most pleasant and when we requested a room change she was very accommodating. The bar staff were extremely pleasant and are probably the best asset this hotel has. The room was adequate, nothing special, but functional. Breakfast was a huge let down, and the staff here should watch the bar staff to see how guests should be tended to. We arrived and weren't greeted, two girls were standing at the check in stand chatting bout the night before and flicking through a news paper, it seemed to inconvenience them that we were there, we weren't offered a table or tea or coffee, we basically helped ourselves, the breakfast menu is very very poor, only egg option available is scrambled and chef can't do any other, pudding was cremated and the rest of the hot option wasn't hot!!! The cold option consisted of either a yogurt or a fruit salad, no meats or melon etc, huge let down, hotel is outside of town, so what you save in price will be spent in taxis. Better options in the centre of tone, have stayed on the Sheraton and raddisson and are far ahead of here. Won't be back here will be staying in either of the two aforementioned .

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Keith

Thank you for you review.

I am so disappointed to read you comments particularly in relation to breakfast which we normally get good comments on.
just as a point of note the issues you raise are all valid but they stem from their being nobody available to seat you when you arrived and to explain that we do a lot of items a la carte from the kitchen to order such as fried , poached and eggs Benedict. we also do a cold meat platter fresh from the kitchen.

none the less thank you for your review and if you could be persuaded to give the hotel another chance do not hesitate to contact me to make your booking.

many thanks

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    289
    116
    79
    52
See reviews for
224
287
33
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

i could go on and on about how amazing our stay was,but i will just say-room was spotless roomy and comfortable,staff were so helpful with everything.ate in the bar the 1st night and was tasty,huge portions and very reasonably priced.a fantastic pool with jacuzzi,steam room and sauna.its a must stay if you are visiting the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daveybullets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Daveybullets,

Thank you for your review and your kind comments.

Hope to see you on your next visit.

Thanks again

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights, even though its not in the most scenic of locations, its in a business park area, didn't bother us at all. We were greeted by the lovely receptionist, who was very helpful telling us the information of the hotel. We got to our room and I was delighted with it! It was just as I had expected to be, a great big bed, that was very comfortable! The room was nice and warm, and so was the bathroom, we didn't touch the heating control at all. Shower was amazing, very powerful, It was very clean also.

We had dinner that was included in our deal, we were both starving as we had just got there, so we were glad we could be fitted in for dinner in the restaurant at such short notice.

My husband had the Chowder for starter, and I had Pea and Bacon soup, both lovely. We both had Sirloin steak for the main, there was an €8 supplement charge each, but we didn't mind. Really enjoyed the meal!

The bar is a bit on the small side, but the lads behind the bar make up for it! haha They were great, very nice and chatty, especially Conor and Pat, Conor went above and beyond when our TV would not work, ( this was at 1am) fair play, he got it going! All the boys were great, and I had a lovely Blue lagoon cocktail, that are only €5 on a Saturday,good value. It was also nice on the Saturday afternoon, the manager came around and spoke with people, had proper conversations with them. He asked us were we staying with them, we said yes, and he asked how we were enjoying it so far. Think its a nice personal touch, that I have not come across in other hotels.

Breakfast was good, good choice, although I couldn't eat much of it due to being hungover, you know yourself! LOL I blame the cocktails! haha

All in, I would definitely recommend this hotel, staff, rooms and food all excellent. If its a nice relaxing stay you want, go for it!

Not a Spa person so cannot comment on that.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steverus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Steverus,

Thank you so much for your review and the comments their in.

so glad you had a good time.

Kind Regards

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co. Down
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here approximately 6 months ago with our 2 young children and returned in October with friends. Tara the receptionist could not have done any more to welcome us and make our stay as enjoyable as it was on both occasions. To dine in the restaurant was expensive but the food was beautiful. Breakfast was excellent, buffet style so you could pick and choose which was great for the kids as well as the adults. Rooms was spacious and very clean and the beds were huge and comfortable. Staff were very pleasant and helpful and are a credit to this hotel. A visit to Zen leisure and spa is a must during your stay! I was very impressed with this hotel especially the staff as my previous occupation was in hotel management. Can't wait to come back!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NikkiGrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank You

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night recently, with a deal rush voucher we had received as a gift. Im not sure whether dinner menu was specific to deal rush customers but it was very poor, cold soup, main course very dissapointing, overall a bad experience, on the plus side the staff were very nice and helpful. The bedroom was quite comfortable but the bathroom was cold and smelled of stale urine. I will not be returning.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sexymama68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Sexymama68,

Thank you for your review which i am obviously very disappointed with but to that end perhaps your would be so good as to contact me where I can discuss our shortcomings in detail.

Kind Regards

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Just returned from a 2night stay in Athlone Springs. Have to agree with the previous reviewer ; in fact I think we may have been allocated the same room! Bathroom was chilly ; lighting was very poor making it impossible to read ; telephone - impossible to hear person on the line, making contact with reception very difficult; no shower cap supplied . However , all staff were exceptionally helpful, especially Paul on reception who ensured that our request for a quiet room was met.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrelandJosephine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dera IrelandJosephine,

Thank you for your review and the comments you made. I wonder did you have your Thermostat turned up in your room as this does dictate the temperature in the room. If you would be so good as to perhaps call me me so as I can get to the bottom of these issues and restore your confidence in our product.

Kind Regards

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tralee, Ireland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

My husband and I stayed overnight at the Athlone Springs Hotel recently on a business trip. I have often stayed at the Athlone Springs before and have always found it to be comfortable and welcoming.

We arrived late in the evening and were given a very warm and efficient welcome by Paul on reception who checked us in and allocated us a quiet room on the second floor with nearby access to the hotel leisure centre.

We were disappointed however, to find that the room was very cold - this was however remedied quickly by turning on the thermostat. The bathroom, despite being pleasantly appointed in appearance, remained freezing cold and we had to brace ourselves each time we entered it during our stay.

We had some difficulty operating the television but managed to work it out, but there seemed to be an issue with the lighting - some lights/lamps not working or "crackling" and the bedside telephone crackled to such a degree that we could barely hear Paul in reception on the other end of the line when we reported our difficulties. A member of staff did respond promptly however, to ensure that the television was working, but not help out with the lights or telephone.

We did however, have a comfortable nights sleep and the following morning I got up at 7.30 to go for an early swim in the hotel pool. However, when I signed in at the Leisure Centre desk and asked for a towel I was told apologetically that there were none available - luckily I had a towel from home in my sports bag. The pool water was also unfortunately decidedly cool.

I was however, delighted with the breakfast menu. They have updated it since our last stay here and I can honestly say that you won't find a more varied and innovative breakfast menu in any hotel of this rating. I chose the bruschetta with mushroom, tomato, goats cheese and pesto which was beautifully prepared and presented - my husband went for the traditional full Irish. There was also a lovely selection of continental items and their brown soda bread was fantastic.

I can definitely say that the hotel has excellent staff and serves wonderful food. We were however, definitely disappointed by our room. But I would be hopeful that this is just an exception that can happen at times and I would have to say that with previous good experiences of this hotel behind us, we would definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room near the leisure centre end of the hotel but away from the rear which faces ont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alcudiafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Alcudiafan,

Thank you for your review of our property and you comments particularly regarding our menus and food in general.
I was disappointed in some of the failings you identified and we have made your comments the focus of a maintenance and training review we carried out recently. Hopefully on a future visit you will see the benefits of this review.

Thanks again

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
2.3 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,819 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,983 reviews
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
2.1 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
5.3 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athlone Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athlone Springs Hotel

Property: Athlone Springs Hotel
Address: Tuam Road | Monksland, Athlone, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Athlone Springs Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleep, relax and refresh yourself at the Athlone Springs Hotel. Modern and elegant with 68 spacious bedrooms, this 4 star hotel is among the best in Athlone. The bedrooms are luxuriously furnished in warm tones. All bedrooms have the option of a bath with overhead shower with additional extras such as work desk, TV and free Wi-Fi. If you are feeling extra tired, the lazy checkout is an option, subject to availability of course. Push the boat out with breakfast in bed and room service. Guests can also avail of the state of the art Zen fitness and leisure centre and free parking. A family friendly hotel, the Athlone Springs Hotel offers excellent facilities for families including kid's camps and children's pool at the leisure centre. Family rooms are available, some with interconnecting rooms. Additional camp beds and cots are available on request. For the ultimate experience in luxury accommodation, the Manhattan suite comes with two widescreen LCD TVs, a separate sitting room, "his and hers" bathroom, jacuzzi bath, walk-in shower, bathrobe and slippers. Fresh flowers and champagne can be organized ahead of your arrival to surprise that special someone. Zen fitness and leisure centre has a 20m swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and steam room as well as all the equipment you would expect in a modern gym. Zen Beauty will have you pampered and preened for a night out or melt away your troubles with a message. Dining in the Athlone Springs Hotel is a relaxed affair with superb food from both the Cedar Bar and Cedar Restaurant. Offering excellent service from friendly local staff and a locally sourced menu, the award winning chefs like to follow nature's lead producing food that is in-keeping with the season. The Athlone Springs Hotel is a choice destination for events and conferences. The conference meeting rooms are climate-controlled and include a choice of two boardrooms, five syndicate rooms, executive business centre, integrated audio visual and multimedia equipment as well as ample parking. The Clonellan suite can hold up to 500 people and can be partitioned. A beautiful venue, superb wedding team, excellent food and service make the Athlone Springs the hotel for your wedding day. The dedicated wedding coordinator will be by your side from start to finish making sure everything goes off without a hitch. No matter what your budget, requirements or aspirations, the Athlone Springs Hotel can fulfill your needs. Private suites are also available for religious blessings or civil ceremonies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Athlone Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing