We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FANTASTIC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Athlone Springs Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“FANTASTIC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Just left this hotel after 3 fantastic days here...Came here with my partner an 2 kids Coyle (9) an Aoife (7) who didnt want to go home :) They had a great time in the kids club with Cathal Ciara an Chris,definately recommend this hotel for kids club they kept my 2 very happy ! Overall all the staff were lovely and couldn't be anymore helpful to us thank you all so much an see you all at Easter :) oh sorry not forgetting the food absolutely delicious an leisure centre brilliant NO complaints at all.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elainedub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Elainedub,

Thank you for your kind review and your kind comments regarding our kids camp.

I am so glad they enjoyed their stay too.

Kind regards

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    279
    113
    76
    52
See reviews for
221
280
33
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monaghan, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Have just returned from a lovely time at the springs hotel.
We had two adjoining rooms and they met our needs very well.
We had two younger kids and two teenagers and this hotel suited
all our needs splendidly. The breakfast was really lovely. On the second morning
however I missed the lovely fruit salad, so my advise would be to get there early to
avoid missing it. We primarily picked this hotel because of the kids club and although
there were no other kids in the club, our two really enjoyed themselves. They had a
great time and it gave us a break to use the wonderful leisure facilities.
We had the best time in the lovely pool, and it's very well run by friendly staff who give
you lovely fresh towels for your convenience.
As a family we have stayed in many hotels over the years buy so far this hotel is our favourite.
The staff are so friendly and helpful, and they offer really good value for money which is what lots of families are looking for.
We cannot wait to go back.

Room Tip: We had room 116/118 and it was very handy for going to the pool with the kids. Nice and quiet also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbj89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear JBJ89,

Thank you so much for your positive review.

Kind Regards

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

There are sigificant complaints worthy of noting for anyone wanting to stay here, unfortunately.

First let me say that the staff does it's very best but inefficiency and mismanagement ties their hands.

The location is against it unless you enjoy looking over an industrial mall. Worse as it was winter and no tree leaves to help conceal some of the dreary view and the traffic whizzing by on the motorway.

Our room had the same rotten view. The bathroom had a toilet that required two repair visits before they finally were able to get it to flush. Considering that the panel covering the flush button was half missing, you can't imagine how that could have been overlooked. Plus, who designs a toilet so that it cannot be flushed unless the toilet seat is lowered? The seat covers the flushing mechanism. Madness.

The lighting system is just as insane. You can't turn off the lights on one end table without turning off the other ones. So that my husband who reads at night kept me awake because I couldn't shut off mine on my side of the bed. Insane.

The door handle to the tiny balcony was loose and when you shut it the front door to the room rattled.

The dinner on Valentine's Day was delicious even though once again, you're gazing out the large windows onto the motorway. Good chef though and same for the bar menu where we had dinner the following night with good service. Excellent Guinness too.

Breaktast the following morning was a joke. And the joke was on us. No one to greet you when you entered the restaurant so you found your own way and when we got to the buffet there were no eggs. The dishes were still wet. I had to dry mine before putting the food on it.
And had to hunt down a girl to get the eggs and the tea.

The bacon and mushroooms were easily the worst possible. Leathery bacon and steamed mushy mushrooms.
But here's an amazing thing. The following morning all this was different and a great breakfast which says to me that the Saturday crew really dropped the ball.

When we checked out and were asked how was our stay I told them. No offer of any sort of recomenpense was forthcoming. Bad policy and made me want to write this review.

Room Tip: Make sure your room isn't in need of repairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fashionesta5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Fashioista,

Thank you for your review which obviously I am disappointed in (2 Stars).
I know our reservations team were in touch to discuss your comments in detail and I hope that you found our handling of your issues to your satisfaction.

On a positive note i am glad that you enjoyed you evening meals and that the team were attentive.

I am however sorry that our location caused you so much distress but we are close to the town and very accessible off the Motorway which is something many people like.

Kind Regards

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portarlington, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

I have previously stayed here on two occasions with friends so decided to stay here on a recent business trip. I got a very good deal online. Bar food was excellent. Breakfast was again a let down, on the first morning I had to leave without breakfast after requesting poached eggs from two different members of staff and waiting 20+ minutes. No menu on tables as mentioned by manager in reply to my previous review on tripadvisor. Really need to get their act together in relation to breakfast, it was very clear to me that despite an empty restaurant the staff did not want to serve me so I left. Following morning eggs arrived after a lengthy wait, they were over cooked. Very disappointing for a four star hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lollypops12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Lollypoops12,

Thank you for your review and indeed the constructive criticism which we will use to improve our breakfast offering

I am however glad that you found the bar food "excellent" and that you got a competitive deal on your room rate.

Many thanks

Michael.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Would definitely recommened this hotel we stayed over valentines. Hotel spotless staff very friendly and helpful and the food was out of this world .We had 2 dinners there and not 1 bad thing to say about the food and theres wasn't much of a waiting time. Breakfast was the same everything tasted so fresh.

Room Tip: the first floor rooms have a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joetoddBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Joetoddbelfast,

many thanks for your kind review and your comments regarding our food in particular.

here's hoping that we will see you back in Athlone in the not too distant future.

Thanks again

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We arrived on 14th February for two nights and our stay has been fantastic. The hotel is situated off the motorway and is very accessible to Athlone town centre being minutes away by car or very helpful taxi driver who told us places of interest to eat and socialise.
The staff are exceptionally friendly and always genuinely interested in assisting the guests, this I observed throught our stay. The hotel is very child and family centered.
I would recommend anyone to stay here and I for one will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank playmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Playmother,

Many thanks for the kind comments and i am delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

Hope to have you revisiting soon.

Thanks

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Laois, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Just home from a hen weekend with 20 women. This hotel could not have been more accommodating, the reception, bar and hospitality staff were so helpful. The surroundings and rooms were so warm and cosy and food was fantastic.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Denise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Denise,

Thank you so much for your kind comments.

Kind Regards

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
2.3 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,787 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,956 reviews
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
2.1 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
5.3 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athlone Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athlone Springs Hotel

Property: Athlone Springs Hotel
Address: Tuam Road | Monksland, Athlone, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Athlone Springs Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleep, relax and refresh yourself at the Athlone Springs Hotel. Modern and elegant with 68 spacious bedrooms, this 4 star hotel is among the best in Athlone. The bedrooms are luxuriously furnished in warm tones. All bedrooms have the option of a bath with overhead shower with additional extras such as work desk, TV and free Wi-Fi. If you are feeling extra tired, the lazy checkout is an option, subject to availability of course. Push the boat out with breakfast in bed and room service. Guests can also avail of the state of the art Zen fitness and leisure centre and free parking. A family friendly hotel, the Athlone Springs Hotel offers excellent facilities for families including kid's camps and children's pool at the leisure centre. Family rooms are available, some with interconnecting rooms. Additional camp beds and cots are available on request. For the ultimate experience in luxury accommodation, the Manhattan suite comes with two widescreen LCD TVs, a separate sitting room, "his and hers" bathroom, jacuzzi bath, walk-in shower, bathrobe and slippers. Fresh flowers and champagne can be organized ahead of your arrival to surprise that special someone. Zen fitness and leisure centre has a 20m swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and steam room as well as all the equipment you would expect in a modern gym. Zen Beauty will have you pampered and preened for a night out or melt away your troubles with a message. Dining in the Athlone Springs Hotel is a relaxed affair with superb food from both the Cedar Bar and Cedar Restaurant. Offering excellent service from friendly local staff and a locally sourced menu, the award winning chefs like to follow nature's lead producing food that is in-keeping with the season. The Athlone Springs Hotel is a choice destination for events and conferences. The conference meeting rooms are climate-controlled and include a choice of two boardrooms, five syndicate rooms, executive business centre, integrated audio visual and multimedia equipment as well as ample parking. The Clonellan suite can hold up to 500 people and can be partitioned. A beautiful venue, superb wedding team, excellent food and service make the Athlone Springs the hotel for your wedding day. The dedicated wedding coordinator will be by your side from start to finish making sure everything goes off without a hitch. No matter what your budget, requirements or aspirations, the Athlone Springs Hotel can fulfill your needs. Private suites are also available for religious blessings or civil ceremonies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK and HotelQuickly so you can book your Athlone Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing