We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A top class restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Athlone Springs Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I did not expect such great food at a Hotel restaurant; this restaurant went well beyond my expectations. The food was cooked to perfection and presented beautifully. The staff at the hotel are outstanding. We had breakfast in an atmosphere of congeniality....what a team of pleasant workers. I shall be happy to recommend this hotel for a relaxing break away from the noise and bustle of everyday life.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not overlooking the back recycling yard!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irlandesa15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Irelandsse15,

Delighted you enjoyed your stay and Particularly you comments on our restaurant made me smile.

Hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Thanks

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (952)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

474 - 480 of 952 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

Stayed here on Saturday 22nd February. We were a group of 18 on a cousins annual reunion. Our first experience was the warm reception by the staff as we booked in. Throughout our evening, night and following morning the staff exuded warmth and professionalism. Some of our group experienced some issues with their rooms and upon bringing the small issues (e.g. leaky shower) to the attention of the staff they were immediately and without quibble, moved to another room. The building may be a victim of the boom years where quality was not always to the fore. In fairness the issues are small and the response of the staff immediately overcomes any concerns. We had a pre-arranged separate dining area and bar (we can be a noisy lot) and upon entering this lovely room I wondered how the service in this outlying room would be. It was exemplary! No request was too much, the staff were always in evidence, efficient and friendly at all times. We had a great night. The hotel does attract a lot of families with young children having dinner and they were very much in evidence in and around the bar and foyer until around 8pm. It was a bit manic and messy for a little while as some kids left the table to explore and run around while other family members finished their meal. The staff did tidy up fairly quickly and calm was restored by about 8.30pm. Breakfast the next morning was self service with many friendly staff to help out. Food was fairly standard but in plentiful supply. The Hotel was a great venue and relatively inexpensive for a group to go to for a good night out.

Room Tip: Just ask the staff. They will genuinely help you get the room you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcregan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Mountainvilla,

Thank you for your kind review and in particular your comments regarding our team here at the hotel.
I am also delighted that your private dining event was a great success and that you found the service to your liking.

Hope to see you on another visit in the not too distant future.

Thanks

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Stayed here lately while attending a wedding at a nearby venue. Was great value hotel. Wouldn't stay here if looking for a luxurious break away or anything like that.

Staff at reception were very very nice and helpful.

Room during the night and the next morning was way too hot, it was like sleeping in a sauna, I woke up in a sweat. Was also awoken early on a Sunday morning at about 9am by someone power washing the front of the hotel - surely there is a better time to arrange this.

My wife went to run a bath to find no stopper in the bath. She then when to phone reception to find no phone in the room!!! so had to dress and walk to reception to request a bath stopper.... Simple things!!

Would consider for an overnight stop on route somewhere or a cheap night away for stag/hen type occasion.

Breakfast was only average and mushroom were raw.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Expect_quality_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear sir,

Thank you for your review of our property and where as i am very disappointed in the two star rating we will have to do better on the fronts you mention.

The room heating is controllable in your room so I can only surmise that the previous occupants had it fully turned up prior to leaving. We have since put in place a plan to stop this happening in the future.

Thank you for your review which we will use to improve our product.
I am however pleased that you found our team pleasant.

Thanks

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

When I first arrived I thought the location wasn't that great. When I saw the hotel in a picture there seemed to be no shops or anything surrounding it. Turns out its in a retail park! When I entered the hotel the entrance was quite average but the receptionist was very kind and helpful. The hallway to the rooms are very gloomy and the room itself was quite small and very very hot! I couldn't get to sleep! The dinner and breakfast was alright nothing to write home about. All in all average hotel probably won't be coming back.

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank Alexis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear alexis,

Thank you for your review.

I am disappointed that our location was not to your satisfaction but Happy that you found the welcome good.

we use all comments to try and improve our guest journey and we will be using your comments to further develop our training and product.

Kind regards

Michael

Kind regards

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I would like to start on a positive note, the service we received here was very good the staff were friendly and attentive. Stayed in this hotel with my husband and our 15 year old daughter. We had booked a room suitable for the three of us. We were given a small room with one double bed when we raised this issue a single bed was brought to the room, the only way the bed would fit was to push the two beds together. It felt like a camping trip! We also requested a quiet room as we new it was midterm and as a light sleeper I thought it a better option. The room we received was the first room on the corridor and on route to the leisure centre we also didn't have to go to the bar to hear the band playing that night we just sang along in our camp bed! At that stage you either had to laugh or cry. The hotel could do with a good spring clean in some areas . Breakfast was not great more then one person asked to have the food heated as the holding temperature was lukewarm which is a disaster waiting to happen no eggs and you had to ask got tea/coffee. We did mention the disasterous nights stay to reception when we were checking out and were told they would give us a larger room next time - which we had paid for on this occasion. This is not likely to happen since we will not be crossing their door again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swan98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear Swan98,

Thank you for review disappointing as it is. Perhaps you would be so good as to contact me direct to discuss our failings on this occasion.

Kind Regards

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Just left this hotel after the weekend and we had a lovely time the staff are so friendly and could not do enough. The hotel is spotless and the food is excellent. we had a three course meal as part of the package and can honestly say it was the best package meal we have had in any hotel in Ireland and we have had a few ,the choice was plenty and all the staff were very pleasant .
The rooms are lovely very spacious and peaceful. The leisure centre is adequate and we enjoyed it.
The hotel was packed with children as it was mid-term but it wasn't a problem .
The hotel is located a few mins by car outside Athlone town but it did not matter to us as we kicked off our shoes when we arrived and did not come back outside until it was time to go home.
To the general manager that walked around the dining room at breakfast to greet people well done. To the staff well done. We will be back.

Mature couple
Dublin.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear Mary R,

Thank you for your kind review. So glad you enjoye your stay.

Thank you

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Just left this hotel after 3 fantastic days here...Came here with my partner an 2 kids Coyle (9) an Aoife (7) who didnt want to go home :) They had a great time in the kids club with Cathal Ciara an Chris,definately recommend this hotel for kids club they kept my 2 very happy ! Overall all the staff were lovely and couldn't be anymore helpful to us thank you all so much an see you all at Easter :) oh sorry not forgetting the food absolutely delicious an leisure centre brilliant NO complaints at all.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elainedub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear Elainedub,

Thank you for your kind review and your kind comments regarding our kids camp.

I am so glad they enjoyed their stay too.

Kind regards

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
2.3 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,973 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
2.1 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
4.0 mi away
Creggan Court
Creggan Court
#8 of 9 in Athlone
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athlone Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athlone Springs Hotel

Address: Tuam Road | Monksland, Athlone, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Price Range: £54 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Athlone Springs Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleep, relax and refresh yourself at the Athlone Springs Hotel. Modern and elegant with 68 spacious bedrooms, this 4 star hotel is among the best in Athlone. The bedrooms are luxuriously furnished in warm tones. All bedrooms have the option of a bath with overhead shower with additional extras such as work desk, TV and free Wi-Fi. If you are feeling extra tired, the lazy checkout is an option, subject to availability of course. Push the boat out with breakfast in bed and room service. Guests can also avail of the state of the art Zen fitness and leisure centre and free parking. A family friendly hotel, the Athlone Springs Hotel offers excellent facilities for families including kid's camps and children's pool at the leisure centre. Family rooms are available, some with interconnecting rooms. Additional camp beds and cots are available on request. For the ultimate experience in luxury accommodation, the Manhattan suite comes with two widescreen LCD TVs, a separate sitting room, "his and hers" bathroom, jacuzzi bath, walk-in shower, bathrobe and slippers. Fresh flowers and champagne can be organized ahead of your arrival to surprise that special someone. Zen fitness and leisure centre has a 20m swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and steam room as well as all the equipment you would expect in a modern gym. Zen Beauty will have you pampered and preened for a night out or melt away your troubles with a message. Dining in the Athlone Springs Hotel is a relaxed affair with superb food from both the Cedar Bar and Cedar Restaurant. Offering excellent service from friendly local staff and a locally sourced menu, the award winning chefs like to follow nature's lead producing food that is in-keeping with the season. The Athlone Springs Hotel is a choice destination for events and conferences. The conference meeting rooms are climate-controlled and include a choice of two boardrooms, five syndicate rooms, executive business centre, integrated audio visual and multimedia equipment as well as ample parking. The Clonellan suite can hold up to 500 people and can be partitioned. A beautiful venue, superb wedding team, excellent food and service make the Athlone Springs the hotel for your wedding day. The dedicated wedding coordinator will be by your side from start to finish making sure everything goes off without a hitch. No matter what your budget, requirements or aspirations, the Athlone Springs Hotel can fulfill your needs. Private suites are also available for religious blessings or civil ceremonies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Athlone Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing