We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Early start”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Athlone Springs Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Early start”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Myself my husband and my two boys stayed in this hotel
when booking in I requested to be in a room away from any expected noise as we had an early start for a tak Wando competition and boys needed a good night sleep
The receptionist was very friendly and said we would be in room 113 away from hens and stags etc
We had our dinner food was excellent and staff in Restaurant exceptional
Went to bed got boys to sleep then the music started we could hear every word and vibration of music this went on till around half 3 in morning we never slept all night
was a night mare never again I don't know who thought this was a quiet room right over band and dj was wrecked for day complete waste of money only good thing was that kids slept if music had woke them would have had to leave
Pool edge also had pieces lifting where water is brushed into very dangerous
attention to detail also lacking in cleaning door in bathroom all spillages

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olivia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Olivia O,

Please accept my apologies for the noise interruptions which made your stay less than ideal.

On a future visit to Athlone please can you contact me direct to ensure that I can make the proper room allocations for you.

That Said I hope the boys preformed well.

Kind regards

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    294
    121
    79
    52
See reviews for
227
292
33
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2014

My husband and I started our travels here. We stayed here for two days and to be honest I was grad to leave. I have never done reviews before but I had such mixed reviews over my break away, I decided it was time to start. When we arrived the receptionist seamed did interested, like it was trouble to check us in. We headed to our room which was fine. We went to the bar where we were met by one staff member who served us our drinks and bearly looked at us. The young girl who took our food order was polite and friendly but we ended having go wait for nearly 40 minutes for our food which was average to say the lease for the prices. We were glad we ate elsewhere the following night. Glad I had only booked for two days. Won't be going back

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Jane R,

Perhaps you would be so kind as to contact me direct to discuss our failings in more detail because as a team we normally get great reviews on how we treat our customer an in general our food achieves good comments.

We must have been off our "A" Game during your stay so my apologies for that .

Kind regards

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I was in the Springs hotel with a bunch of girls for a night away & cant recommend tthe hotel enough, staff were excellent especially bar staff & the girls in reception so helpful & professional. Bar food was lovely & as the bar is small & they couldnt fit the group of us in for food that evening they gave us a table in the restaurant with the choice of bar food or off the restaurant menu. It is a short taxi ride away from Athlone town but def worth it.
I def will be returning!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leeners2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Leeners

Thank you for your kind review. I am so glad the team excelled at making your stay enjoyable.

Kind regards

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel last weekend and it was excellent. 12 months approximately we had also stayed there and it was very poor ..this time the receptionist was very welcoming the room was spotless and then we decided to eat in the restaurant the food was absolutely beautiful now in a town like Athlone where there are many excellent restaurants this one is right up there with them. Overall a lovely hotel with friendly staff and an excellent restaurant.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Seanban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Seanban,

What a difference a year makes!!!

Delighted you decided to give us a second try and thank you for your kind review.

kind Regards

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

OK I don't want to be negative, But I have to say The Athlone springs needs a lot to be desired. The staff ware friendly enough, The lobby was nice, The building is a relatively new one, So Why the negativity?
The Room was nice, The same old room that You get in every hotel, Just not as clean, Not dirty, Just not up to scratch. Cigarette burns on the curtains looked old. The bathroom was old, Floor not clean from the previous occupant, leaky glass on the stand up shower meant that water went trough to the floor, The lack of a shower curtain meant that the towels got socked. The room lighting was dim, No option to turn on a main light. gave a dim look to the room.
The pool area was not nice at all, the staff member throwing a bucket of what I can only assume was Chlorine in the opposite end, was off putting, The steam room was Cold, If it was out of order a sign to say so would have been nice. The sauna had benches that ware a few years overdue for basic maintenance. ( Looking at splinters when You are in swimming shorts is very worrying )
The food in the restaurant , while quite nice, was served up very late, with the added "Ill bring the Veg in a moment" that never came, I assume my order was lost as I had to order desert twice, and was left an extra 20 mins just to get that. And when I went to pay, The bill bore no reflection on what it should have been,The Meal was included in My stay, But I was firstly told the bill was €50, a lot for Two beers, But it was sorted before I left.
I didn't complain to anyone in the hotel because if the staff cant already see the problems in the hotel, Its not My job to tell them.
This should be a better Hotel, You have the staff, The the location. You just have to put a little effort into it.
It Just felt Tired, Not Old but Tired.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Filmflanfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Filmflanfan,

Thank you for your review and despite obviously being very disappointed with its content my intention is to use it to refocus our team on what can happen when we take our eye off the ball for even an instant.
As you didn't mention anything at the time we were naturally unable to make any recompense to you so perhaps on a future visit to Athlone you would be so kind as to touch base and I may be able to offer you an upgrade.

Again thank you for your review.

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Staff, room and breakfast were all very good, but the fact that one had to bring a towel from the room to the swimming pool was a nuisance, as there was no warning of this in the room and one had to return to get a towel and were thus short of towels for the next day.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbara1313Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Barbara,

Thank you for your review. It is the little things that count and in this instance the towel issue should not have arisen. I have asked my team to identify why sufficient towels were not available to our guests when you stayed.

I am glad however that you did enjoy the rest of your stay.

Kind regards

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

spent one night midweek for 2
3 course evening meal and breakfast 120 euro excellent value
rooms clean and comfortable swimming pool excellent and location not to far out from town center
10 minutes in a taxi

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sligoinian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Sligoinian,

Thank you for your review and your comments regarding the value and the standards you received. whilst here in Athlone Springs.

Hope to see you back again.

Regards

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
2.3 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,879 reviews
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
3.4 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
2.1 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
0.0 mi away
Creggan Court
Creggan Court
#8 of 9 in Athlone
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athlone Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athlone Springs Hotel

Property: Athlone Springs Hotel
Address: Tuam Road | Monksland, Athlone, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Athlone Springs Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleep, relax and refresh yourself at the Athlone Springs Hotel. Modern and elegant with 68 spacious bedrooms, this 4 star hotel is among the best in Athlone. The bedrooms are luxuriously furnished in warm tones. All bedrooms have the option of a bath with overhead shower with additional extras such as work desk, TV and free Wi-Fi. If you are feeling extra tired, the lazy checkout is an option, subject to availability of course. Push the boat out with breakfast in bed and room service. Guests can also avail of the state of the art Zen fitness and leisure centre and free parking. A family friendly hotel, the Athlone Springs Hotel offers excellent facilities for families including kid's camps and children's pool at the leisure centre. Family rooms are available, some with interconnecting rooms. Additional camp beds and cots are available on request. For the ultimate experience in luxury accommodation, the Manhattan suite comes with two widescreen LCD TVs, a separate sitting room, "his and hers" bathroom, jacuzzi bath, walk-in shower, bathrobe and slippers. Fresh flowers and champagne can be organized ahead of your arrival to surprise that special someone. Zen fitness and leisure centre has a 20m swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and steam room as well as all the equipment you would expect in a modern gym. Zen Beauty will have you pampered and preened for a night out or melt away your troubles with a message. Dining in the Athlone Springs Hotel is a relaxed affair with superb food from both the Cedar Bar and Cedar Restaurant. Offering excellent service from friendly local staff and a locally sourced menu, the award winning chefs like to follow nature's lead producing food that is in-keeping with the season. The Athlone Springs Hotel is a choice destination for events and conferences. The conference meeting rooms are climate-controlled and include a choice of two boardrooms, five syndicate rooms, executive business centre, integrated audio visual and multimedia equipment as well as ample parking. The Clonellan suite can hold up to 500 people and can be partitioned. A beautiful venue, superb wedding team, excellent food and service make the Athlone Springs the hotel for your wedding day. The dedicated wedding coordinator will be by your side from start to finish making sure everything goes off without a hitch. No matter what your budget, requirements or aspirations, the Athlone Springs Hotel can fulfill your needs. Private suites are also available for religious blessings or civil ceremonies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, LateRooms, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Athlone Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing