We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved it !!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Athlone Springs Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“loved it !!!!”
Reviewed 7 November 2010

went to Athlone for a hen night and stayed here and loved it ! rooms were lovely and warm and staff lovely, from the moment we checked in until we left there were no problems, we came back to hotel around 2 30 and there was alot of activity down stairs and none of this could be heard in the rooms, breakfast was lovely and fresh and was on late which was great after a long night !
I feel I have to make a special mention to the young bar man on duty when we came back to hotel called Donal, an absolute gentle man and who could not do enough for the residents there, alot for a young man to put uo with with crowds of drunken revellers !!
Will definately be back, well done !

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    300
    124
    84
    55
See reviews for
239
299
33
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
N. Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2010

We arrived about forty five minutes before check in time and were informed that our room was ready . Reception staff were polite and friendly.
The room was really nice, modern and clean although facing out onto a housing development. This was fair enough as from previous reviews we had read, we were not expecting a scenic view. We did ask if we could be moved to a room with a bath tub due to my wife needing one to ease an shoulder injury. The staff were able to accommodate our request at once without any fuss.
The hotel décor is beautiful especially the pink corridor lighting and the extravagant fibre optic ceiling light on the staircase/foyer.
On the downside, there was a problem with the toilet flush system which was trickling away during the night and we were missing two bulbs in the lamps. Once we brought this to the attention of staff, the problems were sorted out promptly and satisfactorily . Also on the downside, for a four star hotel I would have expected a fridge in the room.
The lift also broke down during our stay but thankfully we are both fit enough to manage the stairs. (we were on the second floor)
However the leisure facilities were of a high standard. The food was really lovely both at breakfast and bar food. We would both recommend the steaks which were succulent and done to our liking. The hotel was only a short drive from the town which is well worth a visit . Although other hotels in the area may have better location and views this is also reflected in their price. All in all a most enjoyable stay

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irish-novice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2010

Stayed at this hotel with my wife and overall found it to be a pleasent stay. Check in was prompt and curtious. The accomodation was excellent and spotless clean as were the hallways leading to the rooms. Service in the restaurant was efficient and food was good. However, when enquiring about how to get into town I was advised that a taxi would take around 5-10mins and cost approx 10euro each way. I later found out that there is a regular local bus service that stops across from the hotel every hour and only costs 5 euro return, very important if you are on a budget break. Only other gripe was been left standing at the bar on the saturday evening while the barman was on a personnal phone call and the young girl with him was under a bit of pressure. overall a quite pleasent stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dubbhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2010

Spent 3 nights over the October bank holiday weekend in the Athlone Spring and found this to be an excellent hotel. Located about a 10 minute drive outside of Athlone. The staff were always extremely helpful and friendly. Food great in the restaurant for evening meal and breakfast. The leisure centre was really lovely. All in all a very good experience and excellent value. Would definitely return and I highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OinkOink1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2010

I stayed there with my partner at the weekend. Staff weren't friendly,especially the barman with spiky hair.Seemed to have an attitude.Windows and curtains were filthy,carpet had stains and i think they need to paint the walls again.Meal at the hotel restaurant was lovely (but a bit expensive),breakfast was lovely too.Swimming pool and jakuzi was easy to use and wasnt packed with people.Alarm went off for no reason at 7 o'clock in the morning.I dont know how they got 4 star rating.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KrisLap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 October 2010

We stayed in the Springs for 2 nights in August, the food was lovely , staff great,looking forword to going again,

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LancashireMadeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2010

Booked this for one night with my boyfriend. The rooms had stains on the carpet, curtains and on the ceiling in the bathroom. The buttons for flushing the toilet were so stiff they were nearly impossble to use! No fridge, broken iron. Paper thin walls. Was woken several times during the night by the people above us and very early in the morning by an argument next door (could hear every word). Also loud noise outside (fan maybe). Booked a half hour spa treatment. Started late and finished early. Didn't even get 15 minutes of the 30 minutes, rather pricey massage. Stay in Athlone regularly in different hotels and this is the first time i've ever had such a bad experience.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
2.3 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,919 reviews
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
3.4 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
2.1 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
5.4 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athlone Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athlone Springs Hotel

Property: Athlone Springs Hotel
Address: Tuam Road | Monksland, Athlone, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Athlone Springs Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleep, relax and refresh yourself at the Athlone Springs Hotel. Modern and elegant with 68 spacious bedrooms, this 4 star hotel is among the best in Athlone. The bedrooms are luxuriously furnished in warm tones. All bedrooms have the option of a bath with overhead shower with additional extras such as work desk, TV and free Wi-Fi. If you are feeling extra tired, the lazy checkout is an option, subject to availability of course. Push the boat out with breakfast in bed and room service. Guests can also avail of the state of the art Zen fitness and leisure centre and free parking. A family friendly hotel, the Athlone Springs Hotel offers excellent facilities for families including kid's camps and children's pool at the leisure centre. Family rooms are available, some with interconnecting rooms. Additional camp beds and cots are available on request. For the ultimate experience in luxury accommodation, the Manhattan suite comes with two widescreen LCD TVs, a separate sitting room, "his and hers" bathroom, jacuzzi bath, walk-in shower, bathrobe and slippers. Fresh flowers and champagne can be organized ahead of your arrival to surprise that special someone. Zen fitness and leisure centre has a 20m swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and steam room as well as all the equipment you would expect in a modern gym. Zen Beauty will have you pampered and preened for a night out or melt away your troubles with a message. Dining in the Athlone Springs Hotel is a relaxed affair with superb food from both the Cedar Bar and Cedar Restaurant. Offering excellent service from friendly local staff and a locally sourced menu, the award winning chefs like to follow nature's lead producing food that is in-keeping with the season. The Athlone Springs Hotel is a choice destination for events and conferences. The conference meeting rooms are climate-controlled and include a choice of two boardrooms, five syndicate rooms, executive business centre, integrated audio visual and multimedia equipment as well as ample parking. The Clonellan suite can hold up to 500 people and can be partitioned. A beautiful venue, superb wedding team, excellent food and service make the Athlone Springs the hotel for your wedding day. The dedicated wedding coordinator will be by your side from start to finish making sure everything goes off without a hitch. No matter what your budget, requirements or aspirations, the Athlone Springs Hotel can fulfill your needs. Private suites are also available for religious blessings or civil ceremonies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Athlone Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing