We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”

Cornamagh House B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Athlone
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cornamagh House B&B
Ranked #12 of 20 Athlone B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We were a group of two couples coming to Athlone for a wedding. We were impressed with every aspect of this B&B. The owners were incredibly friendly, gave us an amazing warm welcome complete with tea and biscuits and couldn't do enough for us. The rooms were excellent both in size, en suites and particularly spotlessly clean. The breakfast was also excellent. The local knowledge from the hosts was also extremely useful. By far the best B&B we have ever visited we would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jess E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
There are newer reviews for Cornamagh House B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2011

Stayed here as central location not far from Dublin for one night. Completely agree with other reviewers' comments regarding Brian and Mary: delightful couple who are tirelessly welcoming and helpful. Cup of tea on arrival most welcome and excellent advice (Olive Grove in Athlone) for evening meal.
However, twin room rather cramped. TV not working properly and impossible to see from one of the beds. Intermittent sound on one channel and no sound on others. Brian unable to fix. No toilet paper in bathroom!! Shower head fixed on stand with lengths of elastoplast!! Tile strip on step down into bathroom broken. No coffee or milk in room - we had to ask for this. There was a kettle, so this seemed rather strange.
Breakfast was great however, and the hosts very helpful. Lovely garden round B & B. Location suits car drivers - fair distance from centre of town and station.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Devoncream1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Stayed in Cornamagh House last night and was extremely impressed! The owners are really nice and friendly. The garden is beautiful and the room was lovely. Excellent B&B. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 5StarHolidayFAn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2010

The service was prompt and efficient. The room was clean and comfortable. The location was close to where my convention was taking place. There could have been a few more channels on the TV

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2010

Hosts Brian and Mary have done this long enough to know what you need and they provide it. It's like visiting family (or better). Great setting outside Athlone. Great omelets and scones for breakfast, good conversation always, coffee or tea upon arrival, and plenty of advice for touring the area. I would not look for another B&B in central Ireland.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rambler391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2010

Hi

I have just spent two wonderful weeks in a guesthouse in Athlone, Ireland. Cornamagh House B&B is an experience not to be missed. The friendly owners, Brian and Mary Fagg go out of their way to ensure that you have a good time in their home. They are so welcoming and even provided me with tea and sandwiches on arrival and offered the same refreshments every night I came back from my business trips.

The rooms are very pleasant and clean. They really helped me relax after my day's work. The garden around Cornamagh House is fabluous, so relaxing to have tea on the lawn, watching the birds and animals potter about. Even the family horse, Smokey is friendly. Other guests' children had fun feeding him (under supervision of the owners).

The atmosphere of Cornamagh House lends itself to allowing the visitor consider themselves as "part of the family". Breakfast times were spent chatting to other guests as if we had known each other all our lives.

I would highly recommend Cornamagh House to anyone who will spend time in Athlone.

Thank you Mary and Brian for a great time over the last two weeks.

Caitríona NGE

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NGE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2009

We were on a week long tour of Ireland staying in different accommodation as we travelled. This was the "stand out" place for us. A fantastically warm welcome from Brian and Mary who were also very accommodating.

There is ample parking and it's well signposted, so not hard to find. It's set on a large plot with a paddock out back with horses, and a colourful and well tended garden out front.

We stayed in a large room which was spacious and clean, and had lovely views out of the back window to open countryside.

The breakfast was delicious and my vegetarian partner was well catered for. There are a couple of very nice pubs nearby, if you fancy eating out, that serve up very nice evening meals.

There is lots of countryside close by, just a short journey in the car, so that allowed us to take a few strolls out and enjoy the fresh air.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this place to anyone, and hope to return myself one day, in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HfdGingy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
1.8 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
1.3 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Shannonside House B&B
Shannonside House B&B
#1 of 20 in Athlone
182 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riverview House Bed and Breakfast
1.0 mi away
Shelmalier House
Shelmalier House
#6 of 20 in Athlone
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornamagh House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornamagh House B&B

Address: Cornamagh, Athlone, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Athlone
Price Range: £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing