We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”

Cornamagh House B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Athlone
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cornamagh House B&B
Ranked #13 of 20 Athlone B&B and Inns
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B”
Reviewed 6 September 2012

I stayed at Cornamagh House B&B for a prolonged period (6 months plus) whilst I was working in Athlone. Brain & Mary are the most welcoming, warm and friendly people-made me feel like I was apart of the family. They are attentive to the needs of their guest/s and make every effort to be helpful and accommodating- I cant speak highly enough in this regard.

The accommodation is spacious and clean and the surrounding are beautiful and well maintained (garden is amazing to while away a few hours relaxing). The breakfast is perfect whether you would like a fully cooked breakfast, cereals or fruits.

I highly recommend staying at Cornamagh House.FIVE stars*****.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank kparmar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
15
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
southampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We first stayed at Cornamagh House in 2003 and were very impressed with the welcome we received, the room in which we stayed and the service that was provided from the moment we stopped the car. We have returned, each year since, to stay with Mary and Brian not just because Cornamagh House it is the best B & B we have ever stayed in, but because we enjoy the company of both Mary and Brian and their family, all of whom we have come to know well. We consider them to be close friends. They are, to me, more like a newly found, extended family. They would do anything to help you and to make your stay a pleasure without being intrusive. We have never had a problem with the room, the facilities or the service received. We know how much care is taken to ensure that everyone who stays at Cornamagh House is made welcome and that they feel at home. If there were a problem, we know that it would be sorted without fuss and within a short period of time. I would recommend Cornamagh House, without reservation, to anyone and everyone. If you want a room with no character, that has Internet access, a TV with multi channels, then you should go to a hotel but if you want to experience true Irish hospitality at its best, then stay with Mary and Brian at Cornamagh House. Ann and Peter James

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the house overlook a lovely garden while the rooms at the back of the hous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank koalatrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

I had read a good review of Cornamagh House in Frommer's. A friendly local man helped us find our way to this lovely B&B. Brian and Mary are warm and welcoming. The room was clean and spacious. Breakfast fit for a king and queen. Brian was very helpful with a suggestion for dinner; and was willing to drive us in to town to have us avoid the hassle of parking and finding our way in a new town. But his hand-written map was almost as good. It wasn't as far as we had thought, and we probably could have walked.Mary was a very gracious hostess. Another hand-drawn map in the morning helped us find our way to our next destination. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone visiting Ireland for any reason.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank DurfNh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We were a group of two couples coming to Athlone for a wedding. We were impressed with every aspect of this B&B. The owners were incredibly friendly, gave us an amazing warm welcome complete with tea and biscuits and couldn't do enough for us. The rooms were excellent both in size, en suites and particularly spotlessly clean. The breakfast was also excellent. The local knowledge from the hosts was also extremely useful. By far the best B&B we have ever visited we would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jess E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Stayed here as central location not far from Dublin for one night. Completely agree with other reviewers' comments regarding Brian and Mary: delightful couple who are tirelessly welcoming and helpful. Cup of tea on arrival most welcome and excellent advice (Olive Grove in Athlone) for evening meal.
However, twin room rather cramped. TV not working properly and impossible to see from one of the beds. Intermittent sound on one channel and no sound on others. Brian unable to fix. No toilet paper in bathroom!! Shower head fixed on stand with lengths of elastoplast!! Tile strip on step down into bathroom broken. No coffee or milk in room - we had to ask for this. There was a kettle, so this seemed rather strange.
Breakfast was great however, and the hosts very helpful. Lovely garden round B & B. Location suits car drivers - fair distance from centre of town and station.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Devoncream1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Stayed in Cornamagh House last night and was extremely impressed! The owners are really nice and friendly. The garden is beautiful and the room was lovely. Excellent B&B. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 5StarHolidayFAn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gate City, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2010

The service was prompt and efficient. The room was clean and comfortable. The location was close to where my convention was taking place. There could have been a few more channels on the TV

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,880 reviews
1.8 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
1.8 mi away
Shannonside House B&B
Shannonside House B&B
#1 of 20 in Athlone
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Coosan Cottage Eco Guesthouse
1.2 mi away
Arch House B&B & Apartments
1.0 mi away
Shelmalier House
Shelmalier House
#6 of 20 in Athlone
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornamagh House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornamagh House B&B

Property: Cornamagh House B&B
Address: Cornamagh, Athlone, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing