We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Restaurant

The Restaurant
Ranked #25 of 97 Restaurants in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$60
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Irish, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Blissfully located upon the shores of Lough Ree, The Restaurant at Wineport Lodge enjoys an incomparable setting on the edge of Ireland's peaceful inland waterways. Guests can enjoy a warm welcome from our friendly team and with it, an innovative approach to modern and attentive hospitality. Famously delicious contemporary cuisine accompanied by an eclectic, carefully selected wine list is always on the menu, with the most flavoursome local produce regularly appearing as a daily special. The Restaurant at Wineport Lodge is a truly memorable dining experience.
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

Relaxing, picturesque, very friendly, delicious and everything good you have ever heard about the Wineport Lodge....it's all true. This hotel is definitely worth visiting for a relaxing weekend or break. The views of the lake, the helpful staff and the food all make this hotel a little haven in the middle of Ireland....enjoy

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cilian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma W, General Manager at The Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear Cilian,

Thank you so much for your glowing account.

We are thrilled with your feedback.

Best Regards,

Norma Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    65
    28
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derry
Level Contributor
120 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Just wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Had a lovely meal here. Didn't really know what to expect but felt we had to give it a try. Loved everything about it from the casual building to the relaxed but in no way lazy attitude of all of the staff. Clever uniforms added to the feeling of informality but never let down the smartness factor. The food was excellent. Not at all the arty refined stuff I had expected rather earthy local interpretations packed full of flavour with no pretentiousness. My belly of pork was sublime. Loved it so much will try to sneak a romantic getaway there some time in the future and spend a night or two in the hotel.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Swillywilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best waterfront place to dine in Ireland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Called in ( by boat) for Saturday Night dinner, during the recent heatwave.
Most impressed with their private landing jetty!
Requested to dine outdoors, on the terrace, and our preferences were accommodated with the minimum of fuss.
Based on what we experienced, the standards and professionalism of this restaurant are second to none. The quality of service and food was simply perfect.
And the wine list was well selected, and fair value for money.
Overall, the night in the Wineport will go down as most enjoyable,
The place seems to have a magic formula at generating a "feel good factor" --- in our experience.
And to help close out a really good night, the bill was most reasonable.
My wife wants to go back soon, and so do I.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Courtmac2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cashel, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fab!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

Dinner on the deck on a hot July night, watching the sun go down over the water....great food, great service...a great memory. A special place.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank gryan6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Best meal I've had in years”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

A fabulous meal - a well varied menu left us debating which option to go for as everything sounded so good. An excellent wine list also took a bit of deciding over. Each course arrived in good time, in a well presented fashion. The desserts were heavenly & rounded off a beautiful meal. The view over the lake only added to the flavour of our meal. Can't wait to find an excuse to go back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank northern_highlights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Restaurant also viewed

Athlone, County Westmeath
 
Athlone, County Westmeath
 
Athlone, County Westmeath
Athlone, County Westmeath
 

Been to The Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing