We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice friendly family run hotel”
Review of Butler Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Butler Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Waterville
Certificate of Excellence
Shannon, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“nice friendly family run hotel”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed for two nights. Had a lovely meal on one of the nights and ate in local restaurant on second night. Staff were very friendly. We had a suite with beautiful views of the Atlantic ocean and the Kerry coast. If your a golfer or fisherman or just generally enjoy the outdoors this hotel is ideal as it has a drying's room for guests.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bendee23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    72
    16
    8
    2
See reviews for
56
91
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Show Low, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

From the confirmation call I made to our checkout, the Butler Arms did not disappoint. We had a party of eight and made several booking requests, all of which were honored. Our whole party was treated like royalty. In the heart of Waterville, the hotel is so conveniently located for walks along the beach or town. Free parking and wifi, as well.

I am amused at reviews which comment on the hotel needing a little TLC. Where do these people think they are? Maui at Kapalua? When the town pays homage to Charlie Chaplin, you know will be transformed to an earlier time in history. The hotel public areas are charming with lots of golf memorabilia. Furnishings are beautiful. Rooms, clean and comfortable and from what I could see most have water views? There is nothing like opening a window at night and hearing the surf pounding against the sea wall. This stay was wonderful and I haven't even mentioned the food! Wow what a treat. We celebrated my two daughter's birthdays and the waitstaff was so helpful. we arrived at our meal time to be seating at a table with tablecloths, overlays and lighted candles. And, these people have to have written the book on presentation. The Irish have it down pat! We
could not have selected a more perfect place to enjoy a bit of real elegance from the past.

Room Tip: Travel in late September up to October 1. Less crowded. Weather lovely. Make special requests at b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joantours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

we stayed at the Butler Arms Hotel in Waterville, Ireland for 2 nights. make sure you stay on the second floor in the new wing. rooms were very large and comfortable. we overlooked the water. it was conveniently located.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rivkak604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Stayed at Butler Arms on a recent golf trip. Great atmosphere with a genuinely friendly staff. Rooms are very clean and large. Food is very good. The pub atmosphere is one of the best. The pub is also a great place to meet and interact with the locals.

The hotel is in a very convenient location. Very scenic views.

Front desk is very helpful and the family that owns this historic hotel could not be nicer. In all a fantastic experience.

Two suggestions. It is time for new mattresses/bedding as well as air conditioning. Otherwise, it was perfect.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank volunteerstate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

The hotel is situated in the heart of Waterville with easy access to everything. Couldn't fault the staff or the service (especially as my partner left his jacket and they kindly posted it home) however with a hotel that has soo much history behind it, it seems like it needs a little TLC...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NikkiWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I didn't stay here … but I ate in the interior patio looking out to the Sea … we had a 'reservation' done by our hostess at Brookhaven B&B … we waited patiently in the Bar to be called to our seats for the meal … WOW … what a Bar … chockfull of patrons out for the Charlie Chaplin Ferstival … what a blast … I spoke with 3 groups of guests … each individuals who wanted to share 'the moment' … then it was time for our meal … Everyone enjoyed their choice … with the bread tray especially welcome …

Great ambience … good spirit … enjoy

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stan056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I haven't been fortunate enough to stay at this hotel yet. This is entirely due to its popularity, and I now know that booking well in advance is the order of the day. However, I have been fortunate enough to dine here. Believe me, this has to be one of the finest restaurants in Ireland in my opinion, and I think this place could give any restaurant in New York a run for its money. Do not take my word for it - just try it for yourself. I have reviewed this restaurant before but am compelled to do so again for its consistency

The staff are charming, attentive, hard working and very welcoming. The highlight of Waterville's year is the Annual Charlie Chaplin Comedy Festival. Charlie and his family fell in love with Waterville and this hotel in particular. Chaplin was no fool and given that he had the choice of any 5 star hotel in the world, speaks volumes about his taste. Great food, sincere hospitality and a stunning location is what you get here. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bacchus69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterville
0.3 mi away
Sea Lodge Hotel Waterville
Sea Lodge Hotel Waterville
#1 of 3 in Waterville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
8.4 mi away
Royal Valentia Hotel
Royal Valentia Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knightstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
12.8 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Sneem Hotel
Sneem Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sneem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Old Cable Historic House
The Old Cable Historic House
#10 of 11 in Waterville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brookhaven Guest House
Brookhaven Guest House
#2 of 11 in Waterville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butler Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butler Arms Hotel

Property: Butler Arms Hotel
Address: Waterville, Waterville, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Waterville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Waterville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Butler Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Butler Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butler Arms Waterville
Hotel Butler Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing