We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Butler Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Butler Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Waterville
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
309 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed here for one night on our way around the Ring of Kerry. The staff were very pleasant and the the hotel very clean and comfortable. It was very quiet when we arrived but got busier as people returned from playing golf, mainly Americans. The hotel I am sure has seen busier days and this is beginning to to tell in the bedrooms which are a bit outdated and beginning to show wear and tear. The wifi in the bedrooms is very poor and hard to get a connection most of the time. The breakfast was very nice and an excellent selection to choose from.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grahamf3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    72
    16
    8
    2
See reviews for
56
91
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This is a lovely old hotel. Lots of 'Olde Worlde' carpets, curtains, ornaments, creaky floor boards etc. all combining to make a most cosy place to stay.
We stayed for 2 nights, had one restaurant meal, bar food another evening, a packed lunch for our included trip to Skelig Michael (put this trip on your bucket list of things to do!!) and breakfast each morning. All were excellent. Absolutely no complaints about this hotel and I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms 201, 202 were quiet rooms with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timty2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We enjoyed two lovely evenings in June at this hotel. Owners and staff very friendly. Though rooms were old (or "old world") they were of a good size, and kept very clean. Also we enjoyed a nice sea view from ours. Food and atmosphere in Fisherman's Bar very good. We enjoyed some great walks. Waterville Golf Club very near by. I would highly recommend this hotel and will return when I can.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pashita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed here for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. It was nice to stay somewhere that wasn't a sterile chain hotel. The rooms had great views and were very spacious. The breakfast was lovely and staff exceptionally friendly. Will definitely return but for longer next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gramalji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Just returned recently from the butler arms and had a very relaxing restful stay.
The beds are very comfortable and the room had a fabulous view of the sea.
Had a warm welcome on arrival and all the staff (especially at breakfast ) are very friendly
and accommodating.
The breakfast is very good as is the food at the Fisherman's Bar. Great peppercorn sauce..!
We ate at most places in Waterville but personally found that the Fisherman's Bar ,Sheilin Seafood restaurant and the beachcove cafe to be the best ones.
If you are passing through or having a break in Waterville The Butler arms hotel is definitely the best place to stay.
Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stopped in at the Fisherman's Bar at the Butler Arms on Sunday, while travelling around the Ring of Kerry. Even though the Bar was busy, the service and the food was to the usual very high standard. This customer will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timbuktu, Tombouctou, Mali
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

After a challenging day on the golf course there is nothing nicer than to receive the warm welcome and friendly service of the people in the Butlers Arms. Complement that with excellent food in the restaurant or the fisherman's bar and comfortable rooms ,in this character hotel, and you will remember your visit to Waterville.
We will definitely be back and are happy to highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: room 501 is large and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackUfixit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterville
0.3 mi away
Sea Lodge Hotel Waterville
Sea Lodge Hotel Waterville
#1 of 3 in Waterville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
8.4 mi away
Royal Valentia Hotel
Royal Valentia Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knightstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
12.8 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Sneem Hotel
Sneem Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sneem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Old Cable Historic House
The Old Cable Historic House
#10 of 11 in Waterville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brookhaven Guest House
Brookhaven Guest House
#2 of 11 in Waterville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butler Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butler Arms Hotel

Property: Butler Arms Hotel
Address: Waterville, Waterville, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Waterville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Waterville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Butler Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Butler Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butler Arms Waterville
Hotel Butler Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing