We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Name says it all”
Review of Smuggler's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Smuggler's Inn
Ranked #5 of 13 Waterville B&B and Inns
Bodmin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Name says it all”
Reviewed 14 May 2010

Arrived on time Checked in and went to our room. The room looked run down but was spacious so we decided we would take a look outside the B&B, the scenery and landscape and the location of this B&B is fantastic. I walked around for a little bit and started to feel hungry so time to try the food, we went to the restaurant and on our way in we were confronted by a girl who worked there telling us that we were not allowed in unless we made a booking, i explained that we were quests at this B&B great!! with that sorted out we got our seats and waited and waited for what seemed like an eternity, we watched as 4 American guys came and got tip top first class service while we were completely ignored by the girl member of staff whom was also serving the Amercians table, they had finished their 3 courses while we were still having our starters, we were furious and let them know this as well. The food was way overpriced and not anything different to what i could make myself at home, my advice to anyone staying at this place is bring a large wallet an American friend and have the manners of a goat because staying here they make you feel like one.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank criticom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irelandchef, Owner at Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Apoligies for your unsatisfactory time with us. We have revamped the rooms since your stay. We have said to our staff about the situation you mentioned about not being served fairly compared to Americans. If the they were booked there table would of been reserved for them and ready so they could go straight in. When the restuarant is busy bookings are recommended for this reason. Our policy is to look after all our valued customers equally.
We source only of highest quality local and regional prooduce, our prices are competitive and even more so since your last visit in 2010. We are a gourmet restuarant b&b and bar. We serve seasonal fresh produce with simple ideas. If your a good cook yes you may be able to cook some of the dish's at home, but if you get somebody in to cook for you there will be a price too!
The Smugglers is proud of its food, beverage and service offering and will continue to develope its menues and ideas, for the future.
Kind Regards
Henry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    41
    16
    14
    9
See reviews for
26
71
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kerry
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2010

Great location. Rooms have been decorated and updated so much nicer now. Food and service in restaurant excellent as always. Look forward to returning again very soon.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCC1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irelandchef, Owner at Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Thank you for visiting the Smugglers and acknowledging the work done to the rooms and excellent service you received. Hope to see you soon again.
Regards
Henry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2010

Went to the Smuggler's Inn over the Easter weekend. Arrived down from Dublin, and were immediately greeted by warm and friendly staff. The inn and restaurant were full with people already, and the atmosphere was warm, and friendly. The bedrooms were clean, tidy, and the bed was soft and comfortable (the TV was small, but I wasn't there to watch TV!).

Dinner on the first night was fantastic. I had Chicken Liver Pate, and the steak. Both were cooked and presented to a very high standard. My partner had the Monkfish starter, and asked the chef for a Mushroom risotto (it was Good Friday, and she didn't fancy a fish main as well). Both came out looking excellent, and my partner is now converted to monkfish. The second night I had the Caesar salad, and chicken, while my partner had the monkfish and steak. They were both fantastic, being cooked and served to perfection. For desert, we both had the steam chocolate pudding on the first night, and on the second night, I had the cheese board (mostly Irish cheeses, but at least one English cheese), and my partner had the banana and almond tart. Both were very good. Breakfast on both days consisted of a large choice of foods, including cereals, full Irish breakfasts, and everything in-between.

The staff were very friendly, and full of chat. They gave of advise and directions on going what to see and do in the area, how to get there, and where not to go. The chef came out to see us on the Friday night, and to see us off on the Sunday morning.

The view from the room was spectacular, with the surf crashing rythmically 20 meters from the widow. The Inn is situated beside a gorgeous long beach (about 2km), what has fishing on it. The local golf club is next door, and the dining room offers views of both the course and the beach. On one of the nights we were there, a number of hares scampered across in lawns of the Inn, while the sunsets looking out of the dining room are fabulous.

Overall, the trip was excellent, and I would highly recommend the Smuggler's Inn to anybody staying in Waterville.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clauricaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irelandchef, Owner at Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Thank you for making the time to review the Smugglers Inn. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We have added a couple of continental cheeses to the cheese plate now as well.
Kind regards
Henry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amiens
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2009

for a francais everything was perfect.le chambre with a lovely view,dinner near perfection,excellent service(they tried to speak french:))))))! and the breakfast very well served on the table,not bufee,and rich.merci pour tout.try the ketaifi prawns,fillet and the sorbet.about the wine,they know what is perfect with your meal just ask.....

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mjoules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irelandchef, Owner at Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed your time in The Smugglers Inn. The Ketaifi Prawns, fillet steak and sorbets are still very popular. And the extensive wine list is still on offer.
Kind Regards
Henry Hunt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2009

What a disappointment in such a beautiful setting. The rooms were shoddy and not comfortable. The cleanliness was questionable.

When we checked in, the rmatre d for the restaurant was also the desk clerk for the inn. Because he was so busy all our request/ concerns were ignored. This was supposed to be a smoke free inn. There was obvious significant smoking coming fro the room across from us. When we complained the answer was " what can we do about something we can't see" and that " no one was booked in that room. We finally knoced on the door and asked the other guest to please stop smoking ( they admitted that they were). The next day at breakfast the smoking couple emerged to warm welcoms by staff who apparently knew them.
Also the water was brown even what was served at dinner. When we asked about this we were told "not to worry"!
With all the beauty in Ireland find another place to stay

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grahamcracker01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren2BC, Owner/manager/Chef at Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review, 28 February 2010
Firstly we appolagise for the dissapointing stay at The Smugglers Inn to the couple from Philadelphia.

We have good superior rooms and our standard rooms have now been redecorated and also have new linen and maitresses, so I hope that will resolve that issue.

The Smugglers Inn is a seasonal business, sometimes when it is quite one person may be on duty at the front of house. We have a receptionist who works from 9-5 and also normally there would be two personal in bar or restuarant but by chance some times in quiter times if it is after 5pm or 6pm there might only be one on duty. Usually another waitress would be in at 7pm. It is a small business so personal work in different departments.

It is a smoke free Inn and the customers shouldn't of been smoking.

We have many regular returning guest's year after year so this would be a reason that the waitress in the morning new the couple who were smoking, we have a very good relationship with our cliental.

On the water, we are sorry too for this but we had notices up to say about the water which was the councils falt, they were doing some works on the pipe lines and also when there is excess rain fall in our location it affects the water color it is an ongoing issue with our local council, but the waitress/ and Maitre de who knew this should of informed ye of the situation.

Finally the Smugglers Inn is a beautiful place to stay and holiday in as is the whole of Ireland. And we welcome all visitors to come stay with us. We have been in this familly business for 30 years now. We are the second generation and are still going strong and plan on staying in this business so quaility and competitiveness is of utmost importance.

Kind Regards
Henry Hunt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.S.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2009

Like other reviewers, we felt that this place was in desperate need of some upgrades. For this price, there should be newer beds, new (clean) linens, larger televisions, and some general spruce up to the rooms. A better wireless router would make internet available to the rooms. A little bit of money spent on these types of things would go a long way toward improving the inn. The staff and owner were warm and welcoming. It's right on a gorgeous beach and near the golf course. We felt that the restaurant was really, really, good. The portions were huge. The preparation of the food (we had the steak and the salmon/monk fish) was excellent. This was also a little overpriced, but we were happier paying for it since it was so good.

Overall, we'd recommend it for dinner for sure. As a place to stay? Well, it depends on how much you like to be right on the beach...

Room 17 bathroom was nice, but the bedding was horrible and the mattress was thin and warn out. We ended up using the duvet from both beds as an extra cushion, which helped protect our backs from the "pokey springs."

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zizU_s_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irelandchef, Owner at Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Thank you for visiting the Smugglers Inn.
Sorry you felt the rooms were not up to standard, we have redecorated all our rooms now, people have already recognized this from new trip advisor reviews.
Since 2009 there is a new wireless router and is giving a better signal strenth.
We are glad however you enjoyed our restaurant. Prices have actually been reduced on our menus since 2009(Vat reduction and suppliers prices have fallen a little), we have very keenly priced bar food menu early bird and a la carte menus available in The Smugglers Restaurant and bar so should have enough to satisfy most tastes and budgets!
Kind Regards
Henry Hunt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2009

We booked the Smugglers Inn as part of their “No hassle” dinner. This means you pay for the three course dinner (€29.95) each plus a complementary bottle of wine and you can stay over for free`!!. So far so good, and I must say that there was nothing (well almost) wrong with the food.

We arrived at the Inn around 3 O’clock and we were welcomed by the owner Ms. Hunt. Her words of welcome were “Well, you’re on the special so it’s the standard room – we can do the deluxe for €40” . Sure enough the “deluxe” room was better as it overlooked the bay and had a balcony – like the rest of the Smugglers Inn the room is in need of a total refurbishment but it was better than the standard. In total, for dinner, accommodation and drinks our bill came to €140.00 – which for the area is expensive enough (Note we stayed in an excellent hotel in Adare – The Dunraven Arms for about the same amount – dinner , room and a breakfast !!)

Like other contributors there is a smell about the place – we were told this was the sea weed – it smelled like sewage to me, paintwork was scruffy and dingy , and there are signs everywhere telling you what you can’t do (“don’t take photos it affects of the lobsters” , “Don’t bang this door late at night”)

We went down for out meal around 8:30. Ordering was interesting in that we were asked to choose our deserts as well as starters and mains. Both of us requested cheese – and were told that “Chef says no“, even though I pointed out that I was diabetic.

Starters were adequate – my seafood cocktail was too cold , my partner’s starter was excellent . Mains were OK, and low and behold the waitress managed to persuade chef to give us cheese!! – why the bother at the start of the meal was beyond me – perhaps it was because we ordered another bottle of wine at €35.

After the meal we were asked to pay for the meal, and the B&B as no one from management would be around in the morning. I mentioned that this was a rather unusual practice but I would comply I asked whether breakfast was included as we had paid the upgrade – the answer was of course No … but could be purchased for €15 extra each. I did not pay this . Please note all serving staff (especially waitresses and barman) were very pleasant


The following morning the owner was present which was unusual in that we were asked to pay the previous night because management would not be present. The owner did not speak to either myself or my partner on our departure.

All in all this was one of the worst B&B’s we have ever stayed in, the building needs refurbishing, the attitude is amateur – the food is Ok but that’s about it . It appears that everything is done to make life easy for the staff and the owner and not for the comfort of the client.

Do not stay here !!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joe90Glyncorrwg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren2BC, Owner/chef at Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review, 28 February 2010
We are sorry that this couple felt The Smugglers Inn was a bad experience. But the deal was specified.

But we feel we need to point out the deal they were getting was very good, we can honestly garantee they did not get such value else where, the No Hassle deal was so popular that it was printed in many papers around the country.

I will break down there bill, and tell me what is expensive for the area that also has the some of the best seafood in the "world". Is right next to the world championsip Waterville Golf Links is one mile outside the well renowned Waterville Village , and one of the most beautiful parts of Ireland. There are all types of activities in the village from adventure sports, fishing, diving scenic walking etc.

59.95+40+35+5.05(extra drinks) =140

2x29.95=59.95 ( 2 x 3 course evening meals including bottle of house wine and free night stay in a standard room excluding breakfast)

Superior room was not on the deal offer but if customers wanted to upgrade they could, for a charge of 20 euro per person making 40 euro, our standard room rate only is 45 euro and they were geting superior for 40 euro for 2 people.

They ordered a nice bottle of wine for 35 but we have an extensive wine list starting at 17.50 euro so that was in their own hands.
Also they had extra drinks on top of that, and got a Contiental cheese platter for free. Which anybody who orders cheese know's it does costs more than an average dessert.

The other place they reffered to did not include two bottles of wine or extra bits.

We are so close to the ocean and there is large deposits of sea weed mainly Kelp on the beach at certain timesof the year that give off a strong odour and this is due to the sodiom content in Kelp . What was said about sewage is "just not true".

Flash photoraphy kills shelfish its common knowledge in places with live shellfish.
The signs are for the guests so we can keep the house quiet while people are resting.

The rooms have now been redecorated. We hope that this shoud resolve that issue.

The Smuglers Inn is a small familly seasonal business in quiet times we ask guests to pay for the bill the night before as receptionist might not be in till 10am, normally would be in at 8am during busier times, we do apoligise for this inconvenience.

There is nothing easy about running a catering establishment and we try to live up to our clients expectations. In the Smugglers Inn everything is about the customer and their comfort.

We do apoligise again that you where left feeling this way on departure.

The Smugglers Inn is a great place to visit if you are on the ring or on a get away. We appreciate all our customers and always will.

Kind Regards

Henry Hunt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterville
1.1 mi away
Butler Arms Hotel
Butler Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Waterville
262 reviews
13.8 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
12.6 mi away
Sneem Hotel
Sneem Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sneem
1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Royal Valentia Hotel
Royal Valentia Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knightstown
249 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Old Cable Historic House
The Old Cable Historic House
#10 of 13 in Waterville
185 reviews
1.0 mi away
Brookhaven Guest House
Brookhaven Guest House
#2 of 13 in Waterville
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smuggler's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smuggler's Inn

Property: Smuggler's Inn
Address: Cliff Road, Waterville, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Waterville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Waterville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Smuggler's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Smuggler's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smuggler`s Hotel Waterville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing