We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An awful place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waterville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bay View Budget Accommodation
Ranked #12 of 13 Waterville B&B and Inns
cork, ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An awful place”
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Where do I start with this review! Spent a night here recently and was glad to be leaving. This hotel was booked as part of a golf package so had no choice but to stay here. This hotel is old, dirty, lacks any redeeming feature. Conditions were so bad that we didn't eat breakfast here but went to a cafe nearby instead. If the level of cleanliness in the public areas is so bad we wondered what the behind the scenes looked like!
Arrived back to the hotel at 1.00am to find no staff in the hotel. Do not stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank corkref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    8
    5
    7
    16
See reviews for
13
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

I was very surprised by Trish's review. We had an excellent deal that included both dinner and breakfast. The seafood chowder was amazing and the portions were large. The breakfast was in the front atrium and was very pleasant (continental plus full Irish Breakfast). The staff was incredibly friendly and accommodating. We had a room on the 3rd floor facing the ocean. It was large and clean. Only strange thing was the water ran a bit yellow from the shower? Perhaps the room had not been used in a while and the pipes rusty.

Overall the hotel looks like it has not be updated in 30 years, but I thought that added to the charm. It reminded me of the hotel from The Shining, as it was large, quite, dark in places, and eerie. I enjoyed that aspect!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin, ireland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Had a lovely 2 day break in Waterville. Best value you can get for this location - facing the seaside, on the Ring of Kerry. Rooms were huge and very clean,comfy beds. Bathroom spotless and functional. Watching the sunset out of our window is one of my permanent memories from this holiday. Breakfast was ok, dinner was a main course in the pub downstairs, decent barfood, fresh and filling. The B+B + dinner rate was 39 EUR/pp , whoever expects trendy/luxury rooms for this price is not a realistic traveller. Staff friendly, very helpful.
Plenty of things to do: hiking, watersports, good information on outdoor activities in adventure sports shop next door. You can spend a day on leisurely strolls, checking out the crafts shop, enjoying the beach.Waterville has all you need - we arrived by car but did not use it much; there is a supermarket, restaurants, decent pubs (more genuine than some tourist traps in Killarney). 5 min from golf club and fishing place.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eateria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

This hotel is one that I personally would advise everyone to steer clear of!
I stayed there 1 night with my family and it was an absolute nightmare! We got the bed, breakfast and dinner deal, when we arrived the place looked old and smelt of pure dampness. We got our keys and went to the bed rooms to where the toilet paper was damp in the bathroom, there was 2 packets of coffee, no tea bags, UHT milk that had gone sour and was out of date since July 2011. The dinner my parents got had some tarter sauce on it and it was gone off also. The following morning we got breakfast. The cereal was stale, bread was stale, milk was sour, sugar was awful and the full Irish that was served was a complete disaster. Sausages, pudding and rashers were gone off and the eggs repeated on all of us all day long. We looked at the tables as we were walking out of the restaurant and there was even mildew on the sugar bowls and cups and there was a layer of dust on the tables to beat the band. The corridors in the hallways smelled of dampness and it was a strong smell that felt like it lodged in your nostrils. It was an absolute night of hell and they charged us a total of €149. I was so disgusted and will warn everyone off of the place. It is an extreme health hazard especially to those who have health problems and if you fancy food poison then I'd say go ahead. If you're the normal person who would do everything possible to avoid food poison then I'd say stay away at all costs! There is a wonderful BnB up the road called O' Dewyers and it's the place to go if you're looking for accomo.

Room Tip: Bay view rooms are the best. But the rooms are very basic. No bible, No hairdryer, Damp bedrooms and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trish K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Waterville hotels

San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Maybe it's not Caesar's Palace but the people who work here at the Bayview couldn't have been anymore helpful, friendly or welcoming. We did find the room very spacious, clean and had everything we needed including clean towels and sheets a nice tv and a view of the water. It was after the season (mid September) so there was only one other couple in the whole place the night (hurricane) we stayed. It was storming horribly but no leaks and the electricity stayed. Even the young man in the bar helped my friend with her rather large suitcase all the way to our room and we had to force him to accept a tip. We could've stayed up the street and even went in to check out their rooms, but decided on the Bayview, because the people who worked there made the difference!
I wish times were different right now,and someone could invest here.. this place wouldn't take much to be an awesome place right on the sea,

Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We stayed here in July and found everything we needed. The room was huge and the beds comfortable. Actually, the bathroom was equipped with a tub and this is half the battle after a rainy Irish day (it's raining from time to time in Ireland). Towells and sheets were clean and we had a room with sea view. The hotel is situated next to the beach right across the beach road. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty and the attached pub served non-sophisticated but good meals and Guinness until late night. We can only recommend this place with it's friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank schkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WICKLOW
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2010

I stayed that this so called hotel for a weekend in October and the best I could say is they should but a buldozer right through it, Rooms need updating, breakfast was like it was pre cooked and reheated, The reception area is terrible and the whole place badly needs a good cleaning, on a positive not I would have to say that the staff were helpful and very friendly. I would not stay here again ever.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank REDBOGLILLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterville hotels
0.2 mi away
Butler Arms Hotel
Butler Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Waterville
262 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Cable Historic House
The Old Cable Historic House
#10 of 13 in Waterville
185 reviews
1.0 mi away
Smuggler's Inn
Smuggler's Inn
#5 of 13 in Waterville
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brookhaven Guest House
Brookhaven Guest House
#2 of 13 in Waterville
144 reviews
0.1 mi away
O'Grady's Townhouse Bed & Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Golf Links View
Golf Links View
#7 of 13 in Waterville
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay View Budget Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay View Budget Accommodation

Property: Bay View Budget Accommodation
Address: Waterville, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Waterville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Waterville
Number of rooms: 60

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing