We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Eccles Hotel Glengarriff
Nearby Hotels
Casey's Hotel(Glengarriff)
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seaview House Hotel(Ballylickey)
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$500
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$485
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coachmans Townhouse Hotel(Kenmare)(Great Value!)
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (441)
Filter reviews
441 results
Traveller rating
193
137
55
32
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
193
137
55
32
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold world charmbantry baygarnish islandyeats suiteold stylebridal suitesea viewfabulous viewsbeautiful hotelwest corkfirst morningstaff were very friendlyfamily roomdouble roomevening mealbar foodbamboo park
Filter
Updating list...
241 - 246 of 441 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Stayed here with a coach party for 3 nights. Although slightly dated our room was big enough, the beds were very comfortable, and the view of the bay was to die for! Food was tasty and plentiful. Staff were friendly and helpful. One of our party with walking difficulties desperately wanted to visit a "proper Irish pub with Irish music", but the only one that night was a good 10 minute uphill walk. The Duty Manager (?) went out of his way to give four of us a lift to the pub, and we had a wonderful evening.

Room Tip: Always try for a room facing the bay
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pashkaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed here for a couple of days in July. While the hotel is fairly dated the staff are extremely friendly and efficient. Our room was basic but sufficient - no great luxury but a fabulous view which made up for it. The setting of the hotel is magnificent. There is no spa or swimming pool but as a result there were very few children running about the place which is a plus in my book!
There is no restaurant or bistro but an old fashioned dining room with old fashioned staff and service which added to the overall charm of the place - excellent breakfast. The bar is not very inviting but on a sunny day sitting out on the front veranda this didn't really matter. Overall the hotel could do with a bit of updating but I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Try to book a room at the front of the hotel as the views are spectacular
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gubnait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Last minute decision for overnight away before children went back to school. Eccles excellent location with stunning view of Garnish. Superb base for Beara peninsula and West cork. Real old world charm to hotel staff could not have been more helpful. Rooms spotless and beds so comfy. Food excellent crispy duck best ever. Would highly recommend

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jod17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We were lucky to get a room here last minute, as all others were booked up due to a wedding in town. It was only because of a last minute cancellation that they were able to accommodate us. The woman at the checkin desk was quite nice, and we were happy to have somewhere to stay.
The room was facing the bay and in the main part of the building. It was small and the furniture and tv were outdated. We really were just relieved to have a place to stay, but this place just couldn't get it right. When we tried to switch the overhead light on, all of the power went off. When we told the front desk, they said they would check it out, but didn't seem to believe us. I'm not sure if they tried to fix it when we were out, but the overhead light didn't come back on after that. The window was cracked open when we went in, and several spiders and a moth were resting on the ceiling. There was a small hole in the sheet, perhaps a cigarette burn. I think that perhaps this hotel is not capable of handling full capacity. The breakfast was dodgy, watery eggs and warm yogurt. We left the sign on the door knob, requesting cleaning. When we returned, we had been given one clean towel, and the rest were gone. No hand towels or wash cloths. This place desperately needs a makeover. Even purchasing ample towels and new linens would be quite an improvement. Also the dude at the front desk, possibly the manager, was way too quick to deny it when I asked if the place was haunted.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank losgruesometwosome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We passed this hotel numbers of times...and always wanted to stay. So this year I booked a twin room for my sister and I. We were very impressed with the website pictures and hoped that tge room would be similar. Unfortunately the room was not. We had to separate the beds ourselves as they were pushed together and once that was done there was little room to spare in the fourth floor room. Admittedly we had a seaview.....the ine saving grace. The bathroom had a musty smell and some bleach would have sorted the mould around the bath. Comfortable bed though and the full irish breakfast was great apart from having to search for a clean dry bowl for cereal.
Really wanted to love this hotel....

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alro7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews