We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable,old world charm.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eccles Hotel Glengarriff
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Glengarriff
Kerry
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Comfortable,old world charm.”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I stayed at this hotel recently when working in the area. Though alone, I upgraded to a double room and was given one of the best, if not the best,room in the house. The view was breathtaking and the room, though not very large was very tastefully furnished and the bed was really comfortable.It had a lovely airy bathroom which also had a nice view. The lobby is a lovely place to relax after dinner as it has the feel of a grand drawing room in a country manner,completely with antique furniture and great fires. I loved it.

I had booked B&B plus dinner and the one disappointment was dinner.There was very little choice,just two for each course and very lacking in imagination. Fortunately, by paying a supplement, I was able to get steak,however for that reason I would be reluctant to stay a second night as I consider good dining an important part of a hotel stay. The breakfast was good.

I was also very happy with the staff,everyone was pleasant and attentive.So, overall a good experience but I hope they will improve the evening meal as it's a hotel I'd like to return to.

Room Tip: A room at the front is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acequion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    104
    41
    25
    17
See reviews for
80
153
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Our room had the most wonderful sea view over Garnish island. We made the most of the excellent views by taking drinks outdoors on the verandah in the evening. There is plenty to do in the area and a visit to the bamboo park is a must. We decided to stay there as it broke up our journey nicely from Cork City to Mizen Head. We stayed in this hotel at the height of the warmest irish summer in decades, yet our rooms were cool and refreshing and a wonderful restful sleep was had. The staff were pleasant, and put us at ease. The bar had a good mix of locals and tourists who mingled well together. The hotel itself still retains vestiges of 1930 old world charm (i had been there on a few occasions in the past for family weddings) and their service and care and attention to guests is second to none. We were delighted with our stay and will definately be returning next July.

Room Tip: pick a sea view view to the front, you won't regret it. The views are something out of this worl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sile H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We made a reservation for The Eccles Hotel in Glengarriff quite some time ago and this was confirmed promptly by Sharon. We booked for four and then added our third son and this was accommodated without a problem. We had agreeed at that time to pay for breakfast for the extra son. We arrived on Friday 13th and Sharon was on duty and handled our reservation with the utmost of professionalism, and was very pleasant and chatty. We ate in the bar that evening and the food was excellent. The lady in the bar was very nice - a blonde haired lady - and nothing was a problem. Our room was perfectly made up and here was ample room for the camp-bed in the centre of the family room - which had a double and two single beds. The room overlooked Glengariff Bay which was spectacular. We were there for the "An Post Rebel Tour" and so as our room overlooked the car-park we were able to feel the atmosphere as we got prepared for our cycle. The manager/owner was floating around at all times ensuring everything was in order. He was even outside to watch and support the cyclists departing. Sharon was once again on hand to handle our check out and when we reminded her of the extra breakfast she said there is no charge. We would have loved another night but due to business committments we were unable to stay. This hotel has alot of old charachter about it, its not your ultra modern hotel but boy do they make you feel welcome and at home. We will definitely recommend this hotel and have already booked for next year and will organise a weekend stay next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tirnanogwaterford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Have been to this hotel on a number of occasions and is still very good. Best rooms are in the front as you get a great view of the bay. There are good deals for 2 and 3 night stays with breakfast and an evening meal. Nice walk from hotel into Glengarriff town centre and lots to do in the area. Restaurant and bar food available at the hotel. Also recommend going to Ballylickey to Mannings Food Emporium. This is a gem of a place. You can buy cheese and other local produce from here. You can also have a cheese plate with antipasti plus bread for €7. Delicious. Lovely wines from around €4.50 per glass. There is seating outside and on a lovely summers day no better place to be.

Room Tip: Double or twin rooms with sea view. Standard rooms in back are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeannette25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Stayed here with a coach party for 3 nights. Although slightly dated our room was big enough, the beds were very comfortable, and the view of the bay was to die for! Food was tasty and plentiful. Staff were friendly and helpful. One of our party with walking difficulties desperately wanted to visit a "proper Irish pub with Irish music", but the only one that night was a good 10 minute uphill walk. The Duty Manager (?) went out of his way to give four of us a lift to the pub, and we had a wonderful evening.

Room Tip: Always try for a room facing the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pashkaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUBLIN
Level Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed here for a couple of days in July. While the hotel is fairly dated the staff are extremely friendly and efficient. Our room was basic but sufficient - no great luxury but a fabulous view which made up for it. The setting of the hotel is magnificent. There is no spa or swimming pool but as a result there were very few children running about the place which is a plus in my book!
There is no restaurant or bistro but an old fashioned dining room with old fashioned staff and service which added to the overall charm of the place - excellent breakfast. The bar is not very inviting but on a sunny day sitting out on the front veranda this didn't really matter. Overall the hotel could do with a bit of updating but I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Try to book a room at the front of the hotel as the views are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gubnait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Last minute decision for overnight away before children went back to school. Eccles excellent location with stunning view of Garnish. Superb base for Beara peninsula and West cork. Real old world charm to hotel staff could not have been more helpful. Rooms spotless and beds so comfy. Food excellent crispy duck best ever. Would highly recommend

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jod17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glengarriff
0.4 mi away
Glengarriff Park Hotel
Glengarriff Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Glengarriff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casey's Hotel
Casey's Hotel
#2 of 3 in Glengarriff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
6.1 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Westlodge Hotel
Westlodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bantry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
17.3 mi away
Beara Coast Hotel
Beara Coast Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castletownbere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
9.3 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eccles Hotel Glengarriff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eccles Hotel Glengarriff

Property: Eccles Hotel Glengarriff
Address: Glengarriff Harbour, Glengarriff, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Glengarriff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Glengarriff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Eccles Hotel Glengarriff 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Magic of West Cork at ECCLES Hotel in Glengarriff Steeped in 250 years of history and situated in the quaint village of Glengarriff overlooking Bantry bay and Garnish island, ECCLES Hotel in West Cork offers the finest in charm, comfort and location. Our stunning location on the beautiful Beara Peninsula in West Cork makes ECCLES Hotel the perfect retreat for those looking to relax and unwind in fabulous natural surroundings and is the perfect base for a magical journey around West Cork's Wild Atlantic Way. From Gougane Barra and Garnish Island to the pretty quaint villages and towns of West Cork and West Kerry the richness of beauty and variety of things to do and places to explore is beyond compare. If you are looking for a Hotel in West Cork with something for everyone- ECCLES Hotel is the one for you. Golfing, walking, cycling, horse riding, fishing, sailing and sightseeing along West Cork's Wild Atlantic Way- this stunning part of Ireland and West Cork has it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eccles Hotel Glengarriff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing