We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay & the weather was a bonus!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eccles Hotel Glengarriff
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Glengarriff
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely stay & the weather was a bonus!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Cannot beat the location opposite the bay and just a ten minute walk into Glengarriff.
All staff was generally really friendly and helpful.
The breakfast was fine - cooked was especially generous and the black pudding was delicious!
Rooms were clean and spacious although the bathrooms were a little tired looking in our rooms. We did have a deal though, so perhaps we had older rooms.
Value for money - excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    114
    44
    25
    21
See reviews for
84
176
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Big thank you to all the staff at the Eccles Hotel for a wonderful weekend in Glengarriff. 12 of us stayed recently for a Hen Party, afternoon tea on the veranda was delicious and the accommodation was perfect, clean and reasonably priced. The staff were extremely helpful especially Tricia who helped me coordinate the whole weekend. Looking forward to a return trip!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed five nights at this hotel in the south west of Ireland. The weather was warm and dry - a most unexpected bonus. The staff all deserved praise for their helpful attitudes. The service was always over and above the standard expected.

I recommend the location and hotel for anyone visitng this part of Ireland.

Room Tip: Front of hotel overlooking Bantry Bay, a good view whatever the weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveC47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I can't add much to what has already been written. I brought a student fiddle group to perform here June 2014. The owner set up a concert in the hotel's entertainment area, advertised, brought other tour groups to listen, and invited locals to come. Very accommodating and friendly. Again, one can't beat the view over Bantry Bay, the scenic town of Glengarriff, or the history of this beautiful hotel. YOU WILL NOT REGRET STAYING HERE! Say "hello" to owner Gerard Hunratty, Trish at the front desk, and Adrian in the bar for me!

Room Tip: 4th floor, facing the Bay... beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grayj4789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Have just returned to England after 3 wonderful nights at this hotel. Weather was very good for us so it may have made the views all that more special. The staff could not have been more helpful, my niece had a phone interview for a job while we were there and the receptionist ensured that all phone calls were received and was very helpful. The breakfast was hearty and excellent value.The staff were so helpful they contacted a local friend for me when I had difficulties. This is a beautiful area of Ireland and I cannot speak highly enough of our stay at this lovely historical hotel.

Room Tip: Always ask for a room over looking the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosaleen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

this hotel is in a fabulous location the view is so calming and relaxing,so close to town,very pleasant walk.friendly staff,good food,only disappointment was our room it contained a double bed
which only just fit into the room,it was possible to walk down the left side but one had to crab down the right.we would still go again despite this,most enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bassyLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Coming to this hotel off-season clearly has its benefits. Not only is it beautifully situated in the scenic town of Glengarriff, it has history. The chandeliers and columns still stand and one can imagine W.B. Yeats arriving for a stay. His picture hangs over the lobby fireplace and the staff tells us that he stayed there.

Room Tip: If you can swing it (better in the off-season), absolutely stay in the Yeats suite. It has its own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dreamingbig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glengarriff
0.4 mi away
Glengarriff Park Hotel
Glengarriff Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Glengarriff
501 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casey's Hotel
Casey's Hotel
#2 of 3 in Glengarriff
164 reviews
6.1 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
17.3 mi away
Beara Coast Hotel
Beara Coast Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castletownbere
164 reviews
4.9 mi away
Seaview House Hotel
Seaview House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballylickey
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eccles Hotel Glengarriff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eccles Hotel Glengarriff

Property: Eccles Hotel Glengarriff
Address: Glengarriff Harbour, Glengarriff, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Glengarriff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Glengarriff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Eccles Hotel Glengarriff 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Magic of West Cork at ECCLES Hotel in Glengarriff Steeped in 250 years of history and situated in the quaint village of Glengarriff overlooking Bantry bay and Garnish island, ECCLES Hotel in West Cork offers the finest in charm, comfort and location. Our stunning location on the beautiful Beara Peninsula in West Cork makes ECCLES Hotel the perfect retreat for those looking to relax and unwind in fabulous natural surroundings and is the perfect base for a magical journey around West Cork's Wild Atlantic Way. From Gougane Barra and Garnish Island to the pretty quaint villages and towns of West Cork and West Kerry the richness of beauty and variety of things to do and places to explore is beyond compare. If you are looking for a Hotel in West Cork with something for everyone- ECCLES Hotel is the one for you. Golfing, walking, cycling, horse riding, fishing, sailing and sightseeing along West Cork's Wild Atlantic Way- this stunning part of Ireland and West Cork has it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Eccles Hotel Glengarriff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing