We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Island View House B&B
Ranked #2 of 13 Glengarriff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

The b&b is located excellently just at the entrance to the town slightly up the hill across from the water and trees. Calm and tranquil. Picnic area just outside the b&b was great for chilling out in the evening. Imelda is a delight and offers good advice for things to do in the area. We did the Ring of Beara while there and it was spectacular.

Glengariff is a beautiful place. One of my favourite stops we made as we drove through the south-west. The waters appeared to be crystal clear with mirror images on the surfaces. Enjoyable place to run. Mass there was wonderful as well at 1130 am on Sundays. People are warm and welcoming. Great stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessi071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    22
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
29
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ardee, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We were in Glengarrif for two days for a family wedding and chose to book a family room at this B&B.

At a cost of €90 per night for the family room, there were four of us, we got a good sized room with two double beds and the promised island view.

There was a hand basin and mirror in the room itself, along with a kettle and tea making facilities, there was also a tv in the room.

The bathroom itself consisted of a wc and shower.

The room can be described as clean and as advertised.

On arrival were offered tea or coffee by the hosts which seemed a nice touch.

The breakfast was served up to 9:30 with no need to give a time in advance, the breakfast menu had cereals, yoghhurt etc and the traditional full Irish, which we ordered both mornings. This was very good with two bacon, two sausage black and white puddings, two fried eggs and a tomato, all cooked to order plus a round of toast and home made brown bread, coffee was served in a cafetiere.

The location is excellent and close to town but be warned it is up a very steep hill, there is parking for around four cars at the front.

This is a very good standard B&B that delivers exactly what you would expect, friendly, clean and well located.

Room Tip: We had the family room no 4 which had an excellent island view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eddie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwood, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This is a great place to stay... close to town, reasonable price, lovely breakfast, nice size room, and... Imelda. What a super lady. It is she making the stay at Island View so wonderful. She even hung out my under clothes to dry!!! I think I am in love!!!!
Thank you for a great stay.
p.s. You do have to stand on your tip toes to view the island. (Darn trees keep growing.)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sale, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights in while on a cycling tour of West Cork.

Good, clean accommodation and a friendly welcome. Welcoming tea on arrival and the breakfasts were tasty.

It is at the top of a steep little hill, so beware if walking, but the height does improve the views!

Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank puddock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmen, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The owner Imelda is a very nice lady. She's gives you lots of information about things to do. She gave us a very warm welcome. We had a lovely spacious bedroom. Almost perfect. Breakfast was terrific. We'd love to come back to Island View House.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DominiqueHenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Imelda gives you the feeling that , she is happy to be running a B & B ; there is a special energy in the place and , it rubs on the guests .Strangers are making conversation in the sitting room and , over breakfast; talking about their plans for the day .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Raymond C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Perfectly situated within walking distance of village. Ideally located for trip to Garinish island to see seals en route and beautiful garden and also for driving the Beara Peninsula and much spectacular local scenery. Warm welcome, nothing too much trouble. Clean comfortable room with facilities in room for making hot drinks. TV also in room. Shower and toilet ensuite. Great places to eat out locally. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Sue E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glengarriff
0.1 mi away
Eccles Hotel Glengarriff
Eccles Hotel Glengarriff
#3 of 3 in Glengarriff
365 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glengarriff Park Hotel
Glengarriff Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Glengarriff
501 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casey's Hotel
Casey's Hotel
#2 of 3 in Glengarriff
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
1,145 reviews
6.1 mi away
Westlodge Hotel
Westlodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bantry
618 reviews
9.4 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island View House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island View House B&B

Property: Island View House B&B
Address: Monteen Sudder, Glengarriff, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Glengarriff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Glengarriff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed & Breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Island View House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing