We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb Location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cuckoo Tree House

Cuckoo Tree House!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cuckoo Tree House!
Homemade brown bread on arrival! One of the original stone building still being used.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Cuckoo Tree House!
Homemade brown bread on arrival!
One of the original stone building still being used.
Close up of the beautiful stone work that is over 150 years old.
Old machine for chopping sugar beet.
View from front door of house.
Kitchen with all modcons.
Beautiful comfortable sitting room.
View from landing window is amazing!
Hallway has a book case with a good selection of books to suit all ages!
A view of the actual tree that gave the house it's name!
Very spacious living room/dining room with solid fuel stove.
Patio area.
Another view of sitting room.
View of the hills from front door.
Floppy and Titch
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Glengarriff, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
smallfact...
Ca
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Superb Location”
Reviewed 7 August 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Quaint stone house with a sublime view. Enough room to sleep our 8 comfortably. Julie and her boys are lovely and available when problems arise, and the farm dogs are a mischievous bunch that kept us from missing our dogs back home too much. Our group of city dwellers was invariably amused when the cows were moved from pasture to pasture and loved it when they were in the front yard. Many happy memories here.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffrey b
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wedding/vacation”
Reviewed 6 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Just returned to the states after a 7 day stay at the Cuckoo tree house. THIS PLACE IS AMAZING. The view you seee upon pulling up to the house is enough to keep you content. But if that's not enough the house is perfect. We stayed the majority of the trip with 8 people and 1 young child. Julie the owner was accommodating from the get go. Making sure we had the proper necessities for the child in the house. The house layout is perfect with a big open kitchen and living room. It hardly felt like 8 people were there. The double sitting rooms, both with fireplaces offer extra space if needed. Each bedroom is perfectly sized and comfortable. It was great being able to walk up to see the cows and animals. The house is perfectly located close to several shops restaurants and pubs. And many activities to keep you busy. So if it's a big group or family traveling or a couple on a romantic retreat this house will meet your needs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2017
Thank you so much! Hope to see you all again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eileen R
Camross, Laois, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyable holiday”
Reviewed 1 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We are just after returning from our stay at this beautiful house and surroundings..one of the best family holidays we have had having 4 young kids with us and my parents,there is something to do for young and old. Waking up every morning going outside and having a spectacular view right on ur doorstep... Julie was just so helpful in every way could not ask for a better host and we will defo be returning to stay here.. what a beautiful place every day u would find some place new and was always like a big adventure..

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2017
Hi Eileen, thank you for the lovely review, so glad you all enjoyed yourselves.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agnieszka...
1 review
“A lovely place for a family holiday.”
Reviewed 26 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My family and I had a lovely time, the owner is very friendly. The house was clean and cosy when we arrived and very welcoming. Amazing views and many wonderful places to visit that will keep you busy. Would highly recommend it to everyone. Great place for a holiday.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2016
Thank you so much! I'm glad you enjoyed yourself!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann-marie...
County Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Fantastic Location with the most amazing views of Bantry Bay.”
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Just back from a weeks stay at Cuckoo Tree House. This house is in a fabulous location if you wish to escape the hustle and bustle of city life. Quiet and away from the street, but yet only ten minutes drive from Glengarrif, where you have pubs with music on most evenings and nice restaurants also. If you fancy a dip try "Zetland Pier" again only ten minutes from the house, beautiful clear water and also a small cove beach which is also great for a swim. Our kids wanted to be there morning, noon and night !! Julie and her boys will look after you, but we needed nothing, everything was provided in the house that you will need. Also, the working farm is a great distraction and the kids especially loved "Titch" & "Mitch" the family owned pony and donkey, who were never apart. If your thinking of West Cork for a holiday, go no further that CUCKOO TREE HOUSE, you won't be disappointed.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael11...
Belfast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spectactular scenery, better than expected and we will definitely be back!”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Waking up every morning to the spectacular scenery was amazing and the peace and quiet was great! The local town of Glengarriff is a 5 minute drive away and has lovely bars and restaurants to aquaint everyones taste buds and the bars usually have traditional live music being played. The house is not far from the sea if you want to go for a quick dip or to even try some fishing. The house itself is very modern and there is always someone nearby if you have and queries. An admirer of animals and a break from the city, it was nice to see the chickens, pigmy goats and donkeys on the nearby farm everyday. Hope this of help to anyone considering Cuckoo Tree House for their holidays.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing