We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serious room for improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Dundalk
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Serious room for improvement”
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Let me first start off by saying that the Ballymac is a favouite of mine and always has been. The grounds and the hotel are beautiful. I cannot comment on the leisure facilities or the golf course as I have used neither however I have noticed a marked downward trend in the food and level of service.
I would go to the Ballymac for dinner (both dining room and bar lunch) perhaps once a month and have been to many weddings in it. However on recent visits (past year or so) I have found the food to be slipping, I suspect a move towards 'pre-prepared' vegtables and potatoes is to blame.
I had reason to complain on a recent visit (the first time I have ever had to in the Ballymac) and the Manager who was very polite did nt charge for the entire lunch for myself and partner which was a gesture you would expect in such circumstances. The hotel was extremely busy on the day in question but it took 25 minutes just to get someone’s attention, something which I found really frustrating and off-putting.
On another visit I had to wait 15 minutes (albeit during a busy Sunday) to have my table cleared of the previous guest’s plates and glasses, no apology for the delay was made. I have also noticed that the gents toilets are not clean (dirty toilets, mirrors, chipped tiles etc) something which you would expect from a 4 star hotel at the very least. The decor in the bar (sofas etc) are in dire need of a replacement. I feel sorry for the staff who are always friendly and polite but are under serious pressure and this I feel is at the crux of the problem, extra staff are needed to clear tables, serve and get your bill faster and ensure the place is kept clean. I won’t return to the Ballymac for the foreseeable future. I have recently stayed and eaten in Fota Island Hotel (5 Star) in Cork and the Shelbourne (5 star) in Dublin which in terms of food are comparable in terms of price but the difference in quality, service and the general standard of the hotels is stark. The Ballymac will always be a favourite of mine but won’t be recommending to someone until these issues are addressed. (On a side note I am aware of the implications of poor Tripadvisor reviews for hotels/restaurants and the potential impact for jobs etc however I feel it important to flag these issues, and feel that with more attention to detail and the customer that the Ballymac is somewhere I will be returning to again).

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B, General Manager at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear Ian C,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and for the obvious concern you have for the Hotel as a long standing customer. I apologize to you for the 2 lapses in standards that you describe in your review. Can I assure you that we have not changed our systems in the preparation of Vegetables with our meals. Can I also ask you to contact me directly at the Hotel at (042)9358200 to discuss the matters you raise in your review. I wish to clarify whether you you had Bar meals in our Terrace Bar or whether you were dining in our main Dining Room. The Bar meal business has grown considerably since we introduced our new bar menus and we have had to address service difficulties in this area which was not originally designed for Food Sales. This is not an excuse for a bad service experience but will give some background to the problems you described. I look forward to hearing from you.
Kind regards
Chris Brayden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    164
    37
    18
    13
See reviews for
169
212
13
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We arrived for a wedding and putting aside the cost of drinks, the hotel requires overhaul in both service and facilities. With the location and potential this hotel has I suppose it reflects the state if the Irish economy. With the grey prison coloured room doors, the large patches of damp on the walls and ceiling and the tired cheap furniture there is hundreds of other four star hotels that reflect four star correctly. This isn't one of them.
Servicewise poor attitudes, being sent to an occupied room on arrival, no apology, and cold room service I can only hope if you decide to stay here your expectations are low so not to be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheIrishTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Had a lovel few days in this hotel. Nice comfortable clean rooms + leisure centre / swimming pool. Well located for day trips + super wee pub called Fitzpatricks close by for lunch / dinner. Strongly recommend this hotel in all ways. The only small negative is that the pool hours for children is a little restrictive if away from hotel for the day.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the hotel which was nice & quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Declan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athlone, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012 via mobile

Lovely, old style hotel in a handsome setting. Tree lined avenue, lovely golf course, excellent landscape. Lovely airy rooms, most with small balconies. Staff courteous and friendly. Buffet breakfast with with a fine variety, and if there is something in particular you want, the staff are likely to get it from the kitchen for you. Lunch and dinner high quality with generous portions. Ideal location for relaxing and rambling, or use it as a base for visiting the lovely villages, coves and harbours within a short distance, north and south of the "border".
Festina Lente? Well that's the motto over the front door, and it so happens that it is excellent advice for this destination - make haste, but take it slowly!

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank denis_cunnigham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stopped off here on the way from Belfast to Dublin for a meal in the bar and were very impressed. The food was truly excellent as agreed by all 5 of our group. The staff were friendly, attentive and efficient. This is the way to do it! We'll be back for a longer stay soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KayKayTee2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed for two nights whilst attending a wedding reception held at the hotel on the second night. On the first night we had a meal in the terrrace bar which was very good and very informal.
The staff were polite and helpful.Our room was large with a full lengh window looking out on to the grounds and tennis courts.For a large hotel we found it very relaxed with plenty of private space in the public areas.
The wedding reception on the second day was, well amazing with nothing too much for trouble for the staff,
The grounds are great for a walk in any weather just the ticket after a good breakfast,
I would return again if in Ireland in the future.

Room Tip: I dont think there could be any bad rooms here,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank himandher22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Outer London
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Didn't stay here but visited to see the Dolmen which is in the grounds ~ a 10 minute walk across the golf course. Popped into reception to check that it was ok for me to go take a look .. was given directions & a very cheery welcome.. made me wish I had stayed!!! The dolmen is fabulous..

Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank singleparentfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dundalk
4.8 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#1 of 8 in Dundalk
690 reviews
3.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
2.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#5 of 8 in Dundalk
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
19.0 mi away
Cabra Castle Hotel
Cabra Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingscourt
1,324 reviews
21.7 mi away
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballymascanlon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballymascanlon House Hotel

Property: Ballymascanlon House Hotel
Address: Carlingford Road, Dundalk, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Dundalk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Dundalk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballymascanlon House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ballymascanlon House is set on 130 acres of beautiful parkland, this impressive Victorian House forms the heart of this Hotel. It is one of the most remarkable historical estates in Ireland dating back to 833 A.D. Steeped in history, Ballymascanlon estate is located in Ireland’s North East on the Cooley Peninsula in close proximity to the Irish Sea and Mourne Mountains. Less than 1 hour from Dublin and Belfast, and 20 minutes from the medieval town of Carlingford. Owned and run with pride and dedication by the Quinn Family, we are delighted to welcome you to our beautiful luxurious venue, ideal for both Business and Leisure ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ballymascanlon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballymascanlon Hotel Dundalk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing