We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic wedding Venue.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ballymascanlon House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Dundalk
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Fantastic wedding Venue.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Just back from our honeymoon and couldn't let another week go
by without saying thanks a million for such a wonderful day on the 30th
May. We thought the Hotel did such a fantastic Job to make
our Wedding Day so special . We couldn't forget Eileen and Chris and all the Staff in
the ballroom , it all ran so smoothly under their careful eye's. Everyone
had a ball and it's a day we won't forget in a very long time for all
the right reasons !

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ashleigh y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    151
    35
    18
    11
See reviews for
159
196
12
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, N. Ireland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night to attend a conference. Set in rolling Irish countryside. A mix of a period building with new wings. Staff efficient. Room was very spacious and comfortable. Food good though not outstanding. Nice choice of freshly cooked options for breakfast.

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank John1965_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

Attended family wedding in this delightful hotel. Everything from attention to detail, service, food was first class and well worth the money. The grounds are wonderful for wedding photos. Nothing was too much trouble

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marge L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundrum, Ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

Was back in the Ballymac on the weekend of the 23rd June. We had visited earlier in the year but it had been snowing and very cold. This time it was overcast but very pleasant so we got to play the golf that we missed out on the last time.

In terms of vlaue for money, atmosphere, good food and friendly staff you will be hard pushed to beat the Ballymacsnlon House Hotel. The ONLY gripe we would have had was the same as the last time and that's the price of the set dinner in the Restuarant as they don't have an a la carte. BUt the food in the bar is first class and very reasonably priced.

So to the golf course. Gerry the man in charge of the pro shop was great and very accommodating. They don't have a stroke saver but they do have yellow stakes on the fairway and red ones to indicate yardage. He alos showed us a room that tye have for golfers. This is able to fit about 20 golf bags and, more importantly, has 20 plugs to recharge golf buggies. First time we have come across this and we thought it was a brilliant idea particularly for societies.

The course itself is not a huge test of skill but it has all the necesary ingerdients and is very well maintained. The bunkers in particular were super and no grass or weeds growing in them which is commentable in these days. The trees ensure that you don't have it all yourown way and the rough isn't too high. There is water and the second hole owes me two balls!! If you want extra courses to play in the local area you have good selection. From the links of Greenore, Seapoint and Baltray to the parkland of Dundalk and Ardee you will be able to test all levels of ability.

A trip up the road to the Ballymac is always relaxing. The steam room, swimming pool and outdoor hot tub round off a great facility. We look forward to being back here again and can highly recommend it.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fintan_Mac_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhuddlan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

The week we had Summer this year, we spent 5 days at The Ballymascanlon House Hotel in Dundalk. It was a Parish holiday of 30+ folk, mainly elderly. What a week, and what a great Hotel; the setting, flowers, greenery, parkland golf course alongside. That was before entering. The staff were always ready to help. I didn't hear a complaint all week, except perhaps, there was too much to eat. Help yourself to a hearty breakfast plus there was a very good choice of evening meal. The rooms were spacious with a balcony to view the beautiful tranquil setting.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor have access to joint balcony running outside. French windows allow access. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanGPRhuddlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

Arrived on a Tuesday , played golf and was well looked after by Gerry at the club house.We had the golf course to ourselves along with good weather it was a perfect way to spend the afternoon.
Afterwards we sat outside in the bar terrace and enjoyed a lovely smoked haddock dish with some cold drinks all served promptly with a smile.
Room was of a high standard and a large room overlooking a well maintained courtyard .
I have no faults to report so 10 out of 10.( unless you can count the fact that I lost 2 balls and the round of golf to the18th!!!)
Overall it was great value in a lovely setting and I plan on returning next week.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aidan65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

Great , Friendly Hotel , Perfect for familly ,business meetings
The staff are always welcoming, polite & attentive. smiling you feel you important and welcome there .
For sure I come back there
Food very good and for that prise very cheap

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Micheal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dundalk
4.8 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#2 of 8 in Dundalk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
3.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
2.7 mi away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#5 of 8 in Dundalk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Carlingford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
10.1 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
19.0 mi away
Cabra Castle Hotel
Cabra Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingscourt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballymascanlon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballymascanlon House Hotel

Property: Ballymascanlon House Hotel
Address: Ballymascanlan House Ballymascanlan House Ballymascanlan House 173) Carlingford Road (R, Dundalk, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Dundalk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Dundalk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballymascanlon House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ballymascanlon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballymascanlon Hotel Dundalk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing